We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Only 4 left at
$237
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
travelup.com$285
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (285)
Room & Suite (231)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 68 hotels in Madison
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
The Hilton Madison Monona Terrace hotel is located in the heart of downtown Madison overlooking Lake Monona. The Hilton Madison hotel is connected via a climate controlled skywalk to the Frank Lloyd Wright inspired Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Madison just blocks from the WI State Capitol Building and the University of Wisconsin Madison campus. Local favorite attractions such as the Henry Vilas Zoo, Overture Theater District and State Street are just a few short blocks away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1423Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 724
  • 397
  • 180
  • 74
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kjlau292 wrote a review Jul 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota1 contribution
Your bartender Zeny, on July 3rd, Sunday 2022, was unfriendly and disrespectful toward me in front of my date but obviously treat other guest with respect and friendly. Even my date told me afterward “I don’t think she likes you” . I did not recall being rude or did anything bad to her. For example I asked for “local drinks”and I meant cocktail, she loudly corrected me in front of other guests in a lecturing and confrontational way saying “local drinks means wisconsin wine and beer. Cocktails are our specialty, that is not local”. She should have inquired what I meant nicely and correct my terminology (which again is just semantic) but no she has to argue loudly that other guests were all obviously looking and my date became uncomfortable. In addition when I ask for recommendations among 3 drinks she said “you know, these are strong, manly drinks” and refuse to give recommendations, implying that I am not manly enough?? Again in loud voice that other guests were uncomfortably watching. Made me so mad. Finally I saw when she brought other guest drinks she would greet and say enjoy your drink but she just coldly push drinks to me. Spoiled my 4th July date. I am a diamond member, I don’t expect kingly treatment but I cannot believe I am disrespected in such way. The only explanation I can think of is I am Asian. I hope you could address this issue and provide a comprehensive explanation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your experience. First I would like to apologize for this unfortunate situation. It looks like outside of this your stay went well. We did get a chance to pull her aside and speak to her. We reviewed how the perception she gave off and what would be better ways to explain items for future guests. She feels horrible and wants to extend her apology as well. She is really a phenomenal bartender, hailing from the Philippines and I assure you has nothing against you or anyone from an Asian ethnicity. She stated you had asked about local craft cocktails which we do not currently have, but are now currently exploring. She stated that you had requested something more sweet. She understands that a better adjective than "manly" would be to say simply "strong" as that is typically used more when describing something with a higher alcohol content and is less likely to insult anyone. Please except both of our apologies, I assure you she had no intentions of upsetting you. We know she can be direct by nature, and we will continue to work with her approach to ensure other guests do not feel she is being argumentative or rude. Warmest regards...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ahtram56 wrote a review May 2021
Dubuque, Iowa232 contributions83 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed at the Hilton for one night this week and we had an excellent experience. Although masks were required and some things eliminated due to covid, we still enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Right from the get-go the gentleman who checked us in was pleasant, courteous and accommodating. We arrived a little before checkin time and since our room wasn’t ready yet he kindly upgraded us to a bigger room with a lake and city view. We loved it. This Hilton is so beautiful and clean and comfortable we’ll try to go back soon. It’s in an excellent location right in the heart of Madison. The rate was reasonable. One of my favorite things was the big, fluffy white bath-towels. It was invigorating wiping your body with it. The bed was very comfortable and the room so new and pleasantly decorated.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Pollard, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Jun 2, 2021
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it, and hope to have you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PhyllisWisconsin wrote a review Mar 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin92 contributions45 helpful votes
Service was excellent. April, the manager at checkin was so friendly and accommodating. Loved our room overlooking Lake Monona. The restaurant knew we had a large group and the hotel would be full, so had buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It made our meals quick but good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded May 5, 2022
Well you must have been with Mary Kay! We have really enjoyed hosting your group each year and hope to have the opportunity in the next few years as well. Thank you for the comments. We really appreciate them and are happy that it worked out so well. We will certainly share your feedback with the team and recognize them for a job well done!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Albert S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Sleeping is not possible in the room we rented in Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. There is a large AC unit in the room and it turns on several times an hour. That un it air production is so loud that sleep is not possible while it is working. I turned AC off in the middle of the night, but it became very hot quickly and I had to turn it back on. If you plan to sleep at this hotel, I am afraid it will be very difficult to accomplish. Other than not being able to sleep, everything else was fine. Stuff was friendly and hotel is clean and hotel location is close to many attractions of Madison.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Mar 24, 2022
We are in the business of sleep and want to extend our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide you that during your recent stay. We do highly encourage all of our guests to notify us if any part of their stay is not going as planned. We have a team ready and willing to tackle concerns and opportunities. We will try to narrow down your guest room and have our maintenance team investigate and or perform preventative maintenance on that HVAC unit. We hope you consider giving us another opportunity to win you back over. I hope you have a great weekend, and thank you for the gift of feedback. Warmest regards...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob Strazinski wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I’ve stayed here multiple times for business. The location is fantastic, but I will sacrifice location for service and cleanliness. Here you won’t have to sacrifice any of those. My stays have consistently exceeded my expectations which makes being away from home so much more pleasant. Being comfortable is an extremely important aspect for me to be 100% effective for my clients. There is also a new GM and he is extremely professional. It was clear to me that he takes deep pride in making his customers feel valued along with his team. Hard to find these days!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Well, thank you very much for the compliments! We are happy to hear that we were able to provide all that you needed during your stay. We realize you have a choice in where you stay and are thrilled to hear that you keep coming back. Please feel free to ask for me on your next trip to the hotel. I would love to come down and introduce myself in person. Wishing you the best. Warmest regards...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jkelly2022 wrote a review Feb 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution
Hotel is overpriced rooms were called temperature not balanced during the middle of the winter. Fail to give food and beverage credit for Hilton Honors even when requested staff lacks any sensitivity to the needs of customer. It’s only advantage is it’s near the capital and and that is not enough to stay there
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Feb 22, 2022
Thank you taking the time to complete a review for us. First off, please let me apologize for a less than pleasant experience. We have a lot of new faces in the hotel, but that is no excuse for the failure to explain and deliver your Hilton Honors benefits. We will certainly use this as a coaching moment for those team members. I will also look further into what happened with your heat. I assure you this is not a common occurrence here and I will follow up with the team as to why we didn't offer other solutions if our maintenance team were unable to fix the unit. I know our Front Office Manager has already been in contact with you. As she said, we hope we gain the opportunity to have you back at our hotel to show you what levels of service you deserve and that I know our team can provide. I hope you have a great week, and we hope we see you again. Warmest regards...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nmontiel2 wrote a review Jan 2022
Ames, Iowa1 contribution
First time using this hotel. Went down to the bar with glasses and bartender called me out in front of other guests and told me drinks are not allowed there. Very inappropriate and rude for me as a member of Hilton.The cesar salad was not fresh.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Feb 8, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review. First I would like to apologize for the approach of our bartender. This is not acceptable nor how we train our staff to address concerns. Just like any restaurant or bar we do not allow guests to bring in their own food or beverages in, but this should have been conveyed in a much more professional manner. With regards to your Caesar Salad, I will follow up with our Chef to try and figure out what happened . This is not a concern I have ever heard before nor a concern I have ever encountered. We consistently get great comments from our guests on the quality of our food and beverage. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and if you are willing to consider staying with us again, please ask for me directly. I would love the opportunity to personally get involved and help ensure a much more pleasant experience. Thank you again for the gift of feedback. I hope you have a great remainder of the week. Warmest regards...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ckim2021 wrote a review Jan 2022
Decatur, Illinois3 contributions
We stayed at this hotel on our way to Minnesota and on our way back. Our room was clean both times, but even though we stayed in different rooms, both had the same problem with the bathroom doorknob (flange was loose and disconnected). The breakfast was tasty, but took a while to arrive. The pool is tiny: you won’t be able to swim in it. We liked the location of this hotel: we were able to walk to the State Capitol. Beds were comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Feb 8, 2022
Thank you very much for providing us feedback on your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your business and are happy to hear that overall we were able to provide a clean and friendly environment for you. We will take your feedback and ensure these opportunities are addressed. We hope that you consider us on your next visit to Madison. All the best...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karina D wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Stayed here when attending an engagement party. The hotel rooms and amenities are basic. We were double charged for parking, when I called to notify them they charged me a third time. I called again and only then was given documentation that they'd initiated a refund. Don't bother following the phone prompts either. Apparently no one works in the accounting department, I pressed zero and was placed immediately on an unnecessarily long hold (about 10 minutes). So when I had to call again because the third parking charge promptly posted and the refund didn't, I had another 10 minute hold to wait through. Customer service clearly isn't their best trait. I honestly wouldn't recommend staying here. If you must, be sure to check your bill closely. The refund did eventually post.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Dec 22, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. First and foremost, my sincerest apologies for the frustrations and inconveniences. I hope this has since been rectified. If not please feel free to call the hotel and ask for me directly. I will ensure it is addressed immediately. It sounds like our new team may have failed to inform you, not to pay upon checkout but to press the "call for assistance" button at the gate to help avoid this double charge. Again my sincerest apologies. We will certainly use your experience a training tool to get our new team up to the level of service you have grown accustom to with Hilton. Warmest regards & Happy Holidays...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gusspringer06 wrote a review Dec 2021
Appleton, Wisconsin1 contribution
I had a great night stay even if it was for one night, that price was good for having lake view and a great view of the capital from my room, I would more then gladly stay at this hotel again for my next visit!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Morrison, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Responded Dec 22, 2021
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good experience and that you would consider us on future trips to Madison. I hope you have a great holiday season. All the best to you and yours...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$172 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton madison monona terrace hotel madison, hilton hotel madison, hilton monona terrace hotel madison, madison hilton
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Nearby attractions include Wisconsin State Capitol (0.1 miles), Capitol Square (0.2 miles), and Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marigold Kitchen, Tornado Steak House, and L'Etoile Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hilton Madison Monona Terrace have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hilton Madison Monona Terrace offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hilton Madison Monona Terrace have airport transportation?
Yes, Hilton Madison Monona Terrace offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hilton Madison Monona Terrace located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Madison.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.