We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn Madison

4830 Hayes Road, Exit 135a, Madison, WI 53704
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Madison
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

This property is very basic and very much budget friendly. We chose this property because of their pet friendly policy. The desk clerks were super super friendly, the property was very clean, and the convenience to shops & restaurants was fantastic!!! The room was extremely tiny {Unfortunately the 1-800 line messed our reservation so we did not get the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJC0602
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear CJC0602, Thank you for staying with us and your comments regarding your stay with us. We will share your comments with our staff as they do enjoy hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope to see you again when traveling in the Madison area. Again, thank you. Sincerely, Steve Marsceau General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Made reservation via Tripadvisor while driving to Montana for just a one-night stay, and as this was my first stay in a Red Roof Inn, I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it's a no-frills budget motel but it had exactly what we needed - a VERY clean room, SUPER comfortable bed, and a clean bathroom with great water pressure. Definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in Madison. We are pleased you found your room very clean and super comfortable. We will be sharing your comments with our staff as they enjoy hearing when a job is done well. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when... More 

Napa, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

No frills, no character, just a place to rest your head. Further to the campus than I thought, however, a simple drive. Clean, fairly comfortable bed...does the job if this is what you are looking for.

Helpful?
Thank NapaMommy
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in Madison, WI. We are about 12 miles from the campus area on the Northeast side of the city. And we are pleased you found it a simple drive. Thank you for your comments about being a clean and comfortable stay. We will share your comments with the staff as... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is one of those places you book if you're going to leave your room by 9 and return just in time to shower and fall into bed. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but no microwave nor refrigerator. I had a king sized bed room and there was barely enough room for me to walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank SDJ55
stevo608, Owner at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in Madison. I am sorry that there was odor in your guest room. We will share your comments with our Housekeeping staff so they understand the importance of reporting issues before our next guest arrives. I see you did have our Standard King room. This is a smaller room and... More 

Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Stayed September 2015, room 113. There was a problem with the door hardware. Doors did not close and/or sometimes open properly. No hairdryer, no microwave, no fridge, tv was nearly impossible to use. Acceptably clean room had been updated. 2 stories with no apparent elevator. Quiet location/Pet Friendly. NO BREAKFAST!

Helpful?
Thank Joe L
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am sorry you had an issue with the door lock. It was reported and repaired, and am sorry for the inconvenience. You mentioned you were in room with no hair dryer or micro-fridge. We do have rooms with these amenities. Our Superior King and Deluxe doubles have Micro-Fridges, coffee... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

We chose this because there were limited options in Madison since it was UW's move in weekend. Even though we were just there a couple of hours to sleep, I wouldn't recommend it at all. The hotel has signs all over saying it was non smoking but even the lobby smelled like smoke and it was separate from the rooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tatertot_3
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am sorry about the odor in the guest room. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping staff so that when a guest violates the smoking ban it is properly addressed. I am sorry about the grill in the parking lot. We did have a construction crew here during... More 

Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

For the price this hotel was excellent no frills, got to ask for a dryer, iron and ironing board,but it was readily available. If you want coffee in your room, bring a coffee pot, there was coffee in the lobby. The room was clean, neat and smelled fine, the staff was very cooperative. Other couples we went with stayed at... More 

Helpful?
Thank scoopabove
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Scoopabove, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you had a great stay, with a good room for a good price. Our staff will be pleased with your comments as they do like to hear when they do a good job. You mentioned to bring a coffee pot with you on your... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Room was dirty. The smoke detector was hanging on the wall by 2 wires. The HVAC unit was all broken. I opened the window to AIR out the place and the screen was ripped. The phone was disgustingly dirty. I lifted the phone to call for a wake up call and found a pipe of some sort. I assume for... More 

Helpful?
Thank sasmke
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear sasmke, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am sorry there were so many issues with your guest room. I would like to discuss with you the problems you had. Please feel free to contact me anytime at the hotel at 608.241.1787 or by email i0052@redroof.com. We have been working with our staff on the importance of... More 

Harrington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

We took away three stars. Two for the smoke smell in the non-smoking room, and one for the poor breakfast and small breakfast area. The room furniture, bed, and TV were nice enough. We noticed a smaller amount of soaps and shampoos, but that's expected in this price range. Also, the staff was professional, and even apologetic about the room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A S
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Jo A S, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in Madison. I am sorry about the odor in your guest room. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure they are following up with Maintenance to have them addressed when someone smokes in a room. I am pleased you found the room... More 

Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Check in was quick and efficient. When walking into our room it smelled like stale smoke and there were ashes on the desk. It was fairly late so we cleaned it our self and bought an air freshener for the room for the four days we were there. We had a room with a king size bed which was comfy... More 

Helpful?
Thank hexx17
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear hexx17, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am sorry there was some odor in the guest room and that housekeeping did not prepare your bed each day. As part of housekeeping we do remove trash, refresh terry and linens, and make your bed daily. I will be sharing your comments with our staff to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#45 of 62 in Madison
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#31 of 62 in Madison
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay