We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown

Save
Share
525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$130
$115
View deal
Priceline$115
Doubletree.com$115
Expedia.com$115
Hotels.com$115
FindHotel$128
Hurb$130
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (72)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (15)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 67 hotels in Madison
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located in the heart of Downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other Downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1439Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,069
  • 277
  • 61
  • 21
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rose F wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Wonderful staff. Maddie greeted me with grace and kindness, Aaron at the bar has been very helpful and shining star: security guard Nate Boyle found my credit card outside the hotel, put it in an envelope and slipped the envelope under my hotel room door. What a gem. We have a few more days here and I’m already thrilled at the service here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded yesterday
Thanks for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your stay with us! Our friendly staff strives to provide exceptional service and it's great to know Maddie, Aaron, and Nate were able to do just that. We hope the remainder of your time with us is just as outstanding and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Tbhatlanta wrote a review Jul 2021
Atlanta, Georgia22 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 4 years and they ALWAYS do a great job from check in to check out. The staff is always cheerful and helpful, the room is very nicely appointed (much better than the typical DoubleTree), clean and comfortable. But on my last stay, the night manager Mohammed went over, above and beyond! We found a small bunny with a broken leg laying outside on the street. Mohammed not only got us a box with a lid for the animal but paid out of his own pocket for the bunny to be transported by Union Cab Company to the University Vet School. Of course the bunny had to be euthanized but at least he didn’t die a slow death on the side of the street. Mohammed is truly a gem!!! I hope Mohammed's exemplary customer service will be recognized by your management. Such a wonderful human being! Thank you again for a wonderful stay in Madison!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your glowing recommendation and for sharing your outstanding experience with Mohammed with us! Our friendly staff strives to provide exceptional service and it sounds like Mohammed really went above and beyond. We are thrilled to have him as part of our team and are so happy you were able to experience his exemplary skills. Thanks again for your 5-star review - we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Amy S wrote a review Jul 2021
Palo Alto, California25 contributions12 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed for two nights last weekend. Although we paid extra for a top floor room with a view, the view was not of downtown. (The room faced the opposite direction.) The room was clean, BUT there seemed to be sewer gas or some source of terrible odor coming from the toilet consistently throughout the stay. There were 2 bottles of water in the room fridge when we arrived. However, we had to pay $2/bottle the next day. There is a little bistro/bar on the first floor where you can order starbucks coffee or breakfast in the morning, and a drink and light appetizers in the evening. Servers were okay, but not overly friendly. We didn't get daily cleaning service (apparently you must stay for 3-4 nights to get this), but someone from the front desk brought up clean towels and shampoo when we called. Best part of the hotel was the parking. The hotel has an attached parking lot on the 2nd floor. From the main lobby entrance, you drive up a ramp and use your key card to open the gate. There are several covered parking spaces, and plenty of uncovered spaces. You can come and go as you please (no limitations on number of trips, or time of use).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: If you get a top floor room, request a view of downtown
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 6 days ago
Dear asapptravels, We are terribly sorry to hear that your stay was not exceptional. We will definitely have our maintenance team check the restroom area to ensure there are no leaks, as what you experienced is very atypical for our property. As a Hilton Brand Standard for COVID precautions for guests and employees, rooms are only serviced upon request. Perhaps we could have done a better job of explaining this upon check-in, that daily housekeeping service is available, upon guest request. We will work with our Front Office team to ensure this is a key speaking point upon arrival. Thank you for your feedback and again, our sincerest apologies that your stay fell below expectations. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Drea S wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Mohammed went above and beyond for my colleagues and myself. He was so accommodating and deserves to be recognized for his hard work. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. It’s clean, in a great location, and the staff are wonderful!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for your glowing recommendation! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and the exceptional service team members like Mohammed provide - he truly is a shining star! Thanks again for your 5-star review, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Jess46809 wrote a review Jul 2021
Allen, Texas12 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel was a great spot for our one night stay in the capital of Wisconsin! Check-in was easy and fast. The room was clean and spacious! Another good amenity is the parking…which is free in a garage attached to the hotel. Easily walkable to the square where there are many restaurants and shops. The hotel also had a full-service restaurant/bar with friendly service. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your 5-star review, Jess! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our central location is perfect for visiting the State Capitol and University of Wisconsin campus. With complimentary, onsite parking, you can explore all Downtown Madison has to offer with ease. Thanks again for your glowing recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree madison, madison doubletree
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Chazen Museum of Art (0.3 miles), Kohl Center (0.2 miles), and Escape Chambers Madison (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dotty Dumpling's Dowry, Bassett Street Brunch Club, and Estrellon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown have an airport shuttle?
Yes, DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Madison.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.