We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Priceline
Destinia.com
Traveluro
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (16)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 69 in Madison
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
You'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown hotel in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, our hotel is in walking distance of the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and renovated guest rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1477Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,099
  • 281
  • 63
  • 23
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Destination687146 wrote a review May 8
1 contribution
Our stay was great, everything was clean, the parking was so convenient and the location was great- we loved being able to walk to restaurants and the lake. I recommend this hotel so highly this is the first review I’ve left for a hotel but I was just so impressed with how much the staff take care of their guests! While all the staff were incredible, caring and helpful Jean from the maintenance staff is our hero. We couldn’t unlock our rental car with the key fob or manual key, and the rental car place was closed, things weren’t looking good (especially since we and the rental car needed to get back to Chicago). When I told the front desk staff they gave some suggestions and they suggested Jean take a look. Jean tried to unlock the car but couldn’t get it either. About 30 minutes later he checked in on us again and tried something else and got it to work! I am so impressed by his resourcefulness and beyond grateful for his help. Thank you Jean!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your glowing recommendation! We appreciate you sharing your review with us and are so glad Jean was able to assist with the rental car. Our friendly staff strives to provide exceptional service and it's great to know all you encountered were able to do just that. Thanks again for your review - we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Tbhatlanta wrote a review Jul 2021
Atlanta, Georgia23 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 4 years and they ALWAYS do a great job from check in to check out. The staff is always cheerful and helpful, the room is very nicely appointed (much better than the typical DoubleTree), clean and comfortable. But on my last stay, the night manager Mohammed went over, above and beyond! We found a small bunny with a broken leg laying outside on the street. Mohammed not only got us a box with a lid for the animal but paid out of his own pocket for the bunny to be transported by Union Cab Company to the University Vet School. Of course the bunny had to be euthanized but at least he didn’t die a slow death on the side of the street. Mohammed is truly a gem!!! I hope Mohammed's exemplary customer service will be recognized by your management. Such a wonderful human being! Thank you again for a wonderful stay in Madison!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Jul 23, 2021
Thank you for your glowing recommendation and for sharing your outstanding experience with Mohammed with us! Our friendly staff strives to provide exceptional service and it sounds like Mohammed really went above and beyond. We are thrilled to have him as part of our team and are so happy you were able to experience his exemplary skills. Thanks again for your 5-star review - we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
sacgirl wrote a review May 6
Kolkata (Calcutta), India5 contributions
Pros- Staff behavior was good and hotel was cleaned very well Cons- The room view was side of another building. The walls were so thin any noise ( they were not too noisy, just regular conversation) could be heard from my room. Specially not nice to hear when somebody else flush their toilet. The bathroom had no ventilation, not even a switch to turn the air on. So, it is stuffy after a shower. There was no overhead shower, only a handheld one. Very difficult to wash your hair specially if you have long hair. BTW, visited for Epic XGM. Not a happy camper this time. Few years ago, Homewood Suites in Verona messed up my billing by adding an imaginary guest to my room bill. This time, the room was not comfortable for the price you pay. I will decide against booking any Hilton properties in future. Have been a Hilton Honors member for 10 years.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear our staff was able to provide excellent service. Our sincerest apologies for the view from your room and the "handheld" shower head. It appears you had an accessible room, where the showers and room setup are quite different from a traditional room with two queen beds. This is not the typical setup and we are so very sorry there weren't any upgrades available during the sold out Epic week. We would like to thank you for you loyalty to Hilton over the past 10 years and hope to be able to welcome you on a future visit to Downtown Madison.
Read more
Deb A. N wrote a review May 2
Naperville, Illinois129 contributions16 helpful votes
Amazing staff here at the Double Tree by Hilton. Friendly check in staff, and complimentary shuttle to our concert. We noticed all the staff helping other employees at our stay. Full bar & restaurant opened until 10pm. Great menu selections.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you had an outstanding weekend with us. Our friendly staff strives to provide exceptional service and it's great to know we were able to do just that. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Stacia K wrote a review Mar 2022
40 contributions43 helpful votes
Chose the Doubletree once again for WI Boys State Basketball tournament weekend, having stayed here many times in the past. What a huge disappointment this year was. 1) PARKING: it is understandable not every room can park multiple vehicles, but sometimes when traveling, people can not help but have 2 vehicles. We asked at check-in about parking a 2nd vehicle and were told to check back later that night or early the next morning. Each time we asked, they just pushed back the "ask later" time frame and had absolutely no regard for the fact we had a vehicle to park. On day 2, I had to run an errand and noticed when I left the parking ramp, the entrance was closed off with a sign stating "Lot Full". How can the lot be full when I just left a spot? There was no one monitoring this. When I returned 20 minutes later, the sign was in the same place and I counted 3 open spaces just on the first level. It wasn't that parking wasn't available, they were just too lazy to figure it out. It cost us an extra $50 for the weekend to park. 2) SECURITY: Additional family members also stayed at this hotel. They have a different last name and we did not book our rooms together. There was NO way for the hotel to know we were connected. They were given our room number AND their room was changed to be closer to us. This was all fine, but what if it wouldn't have been? This information should NOT have been given out without our consent! In addition, my husband arrived several hours later than I did and simply told the front desk "my wife is checked in", was not asked his name or for any form of ID, they just asked the room number and he was given a key. Again, NOT safe at all! What if he was not my husband?! 3) HOUSEKEEPING: There was a note on the bathroom mirror stating to call the front desk to schedule housekeeping services. I called around 9:30 AM to request housekeeping for the day and was told they "couldn't accommodate housekeeping requests today". 4) BREAKFAST: There is no continental breakfast. When paying over $250/night for a room, breakfast is a bit of an expectation given how many others offer it. 5) POOL: We were not aware the pool had been removed since our last stay. Kids were very disappointed! With the price paid for our room and the disappointments we encountered, there are 2 comparable hotels an equal distance away from the Kohl Center and a handful more just a bit further of a walk. We will be giving them our business in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Stacia, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and sincerely apologize for the experience you had this year. A number of the things you mentioned are not conducive with the way we operate our hotel. We will immediately speak with our team members and management staff. We strive to provide excellent service and again are so very sorry we were not able to do just that. If you are willing, please contact me directly to further discuss your stay and give us the opportunity to make it right, (608) 251-7832 or katie.genrich@hilton.com. Sincerely, Katie Genrich, Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
eblaz37 wrote a review Feb 2022
Orlando, Florida19 contributions26 helpful votes
A very nice hotel right downtown Madison. Great location to walk to almost anywhere in the city. The hotel is a little older but is very well upkept. The employees seemed to genuinely care and took their time to ensure guest satisfaction. My room was also spotlessly clean! I was staying here while there was a girl's volleyball tournament also staying here and was worried noise would be an issue, but it was actually the opposite. I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Mar 1, 2022
Thanks for your glowing recommendation! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our central location and friendly staff. Our team strives to provide exceptional service and it's great to know we were able to do just that. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
pasarris wrote a review Feb 2022
Detroit, Michigan1 contribution
Stayed here for first time visit to the area. Walking distance to everywhere. Great staff. Loved the hotel bar!! Very helpful staff. Loved the warm cookies you get when you arrive. Great value for the money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Feb 7, 2022
Thanks for your 5-star review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our central location is perfect for easily accessing all Downtown Madison has to explore. We strive to provide exceptional service and it's great to know our team was able to do just that. We look forward to welcoming you with more of our warm DoubleTree cookies again soon!
Read more
astriddmartz wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Staff is pretty friendly and the rooms were clean. I did not have any view or anything awesome but it works out for a quick trip. Bars and restaurants are somewhat close to the hotel, wish I t was more Central
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Feb 1, 2022
Thanks for sharing your review with us, Astrid! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Tracybre wrote a review Jan 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
The customer service is always spot on. The food and service is fantastic and they always have a room ready to check into when ever we arrive. Rooms are clean and any issues that come up they are quickly addressed
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Feb 1, 2022
Thanks for your glowing recommendation, Tracy! We are so happy to hear you continue to enjoy our friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
plw0043 wrote a review Jan 2022
Madison, Wisconsin1 contribution
Warm welcome and friendly professional staff. The restaurant is pricey but the food was acceptable. Everything one would need on a trip was available in the hotel lobby. Lots of ambiance too. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from DoubleTree Madison, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Thanks for your glowing recommendation! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and newly renovated hotel lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown Madison!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$169 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree madison, madison doubletree
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Chazen Museum of Art (0.3 miles), Kohl Center (0.2 miles), and Escape Chambers Madison (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dotty Dumpling's Dowry, Bassett Street Brunch Club, and Himal Chuli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown have airport transportation?
Yes, DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Madison.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.