We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1001 Wisconsin Pl, Madison, WI 53703-1302
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$229
Snaptravel$193
Expedia.com$189
Priceline$229
Tripadvisor$189
ZenHotels.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (406)
Room & Suite (132)
Dining (51)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 67 hotels in Madison
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, next door to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and within walking distance of the Capitol Square and downtown, The Edgewater Hotel in Madison, Wisconsin serves as an urban resort steps away from eclectic shops and Madison institutions that make the downtown scene so vibrant. We offer 202 rooms and the finest in luxury hotel services and amenities, and you’ll be mesmerized by our legendary and breathtaking location on the water’s edge of Lake Mendota, which is visible from a large variety of viewpoints and venues throughout the hotel, including most of the elegant guest rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Historic Hotel
1,143Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 783
  • 207
  • 73
  • 55
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
hmyer wrote a review Jan 19
Milwaukee, Wisconsin2 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I booked a last minute trip to Madison for one night. We are new to Wisconsin and had never been to Madison. We thought heard good things about edge water so we thought it would be perfect for a one night get away. We booked a Premium lakefront King. The Hotel was beautiful and the room was large, clean and very nice!! the View was amazing even in January. The package we booked came with a free bottle of wine (they e-mail you asking if you would like red or white before you arrive & Also verify white or red at check in) and free parking. At check in he went over everything and was great. He said the bottle of wine would be in the room shortly after 4 when that crew came in. We went for a walk after checking into out room and arrived back at the room around 6:30pm. No wine had been delivered, so i called to check on it. I spoke to someone who was not very nice and said they didnt know about the wine but said "fine what color red or white?". The wine arrived warm. We took advantage of the option to order dinner to the room. We ordered a Steak, Salad and soup. The food arrived to our door (safe and fast). We were given the cheapest plastic silverware that comes in a package and the only napkins were the one that came in the silverware packet. We had to saw away at our steak with this silverware. This kind of ruined the entire experience. We also had to use the one-ply tissues in the room for napkins. I understand Covid protocols but either don't have steak on your room service menu or warn us before spending $30 on a steak. The restaurant downstairs is open so are you giving those people plastic silverware? why cant you wash the silverware from room service the same way you wash the restaurant silverware? For the price of the room I felt like a motel 8 dining experience. As i saw in previous reviews I also noticed the toilet paper and tissues being 1 ply. This was very disappointing for such a nice hotel. Front desk staff were great. We also went ice skating and that was great!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Aimee wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We highly recommend staying at the Edgewater when visiting UW Madison. An excellent location, close to campus, and an incredible view. The staff, room, and restaurant were all outstanding. We can not wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Edgewater
Responded Nov 16, 2020
Aimeeba, We can't wait to have you back again soon! Thank you for your positive review. We're glad you were able to enjoy our location and the campus area. All the best, Amy Supple SVP & Chief Operating Officer The Edgewater
Read more
Kristin K wrote a review Jan 18
2 contributions
I worked with Myron on all our needs to ensure our Packer Party was a winner and our overnight stay was perfect. Myron was informative, happy, accommodating, fun and but best of all I have a new friend. A shout out to Josh at the front desk who was also very helpful with our stay. In the morning we ate breakfast in the Statehouse where Ruby and Pablo took care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: President suite was the bomb
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Miss V wrote a review Jan 2
Madison, Wisconsin1 contribution
The place is very pretty because it's on the water but that's about it. It is very expensive and they will charge you $25 for amenities that you may not use,and for $18 you can go in-and-out of their parking ramp as much as you like even though you just paid $300 for Room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Edgewater
Responded 2 weeks ago
Rissa_Vick, Thank you for your time on the phone. Again, our apologies that your stay didn't meet and exceed your expectations, but we do look forward to having you back at The Edgewater soon. All the best, Anselm Lwali Director of Operations The Edgewater
Read more
Teresa A wrote a review Dec 2020
Madison19 contributions3 helpful votes
This is our third stay at The Edgewater and it was absolutely phenomenal. We felt so cared for amidst the pandemic. Every staff member seemed to genuinely care about the safety, wellbeing and satisfaction of our family. It was truly a joy!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Edgewater
Responded 2 weeks ago
Teresa A, We're thrilled to see you were back again and we appreciate your business! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and share your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Amy Supple SVP & Chief Operating Officer The Edgewater
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$195 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
edgewater hotel madison
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinMadison
NUMBER OF ROOMS
202
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Edgewater
Which popular attractions are close to The Edgewater?
Nearby attractions include Concerts on the Square (0.2 miles), The Orpheum Theater (0.3 miles), and CTM Madison Family Theatre Company (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Edgewater?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Edgewater?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Edgewater?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Edgewater?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Edgewater?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Statehouse, Crandalls Restaurant Madison, and The Boathouse Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Edgewater?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Edgewater have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Edgewater offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Edgewater located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Madison.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Edgewater?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Edgewater?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.