We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Main Street, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500 Sri Lanka
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$110
View Deal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (138)
Pool & Beach (16)
Videos (2)

About

#6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
It’s paradise. Gazing onto the turquoise waters of Arugambay Roccos, is a comfortable boutique hotel minutes away from the world famous surf point. The unique view of the pool, beach and ocean can only be experienced at this beautiful property.
Read more
Room & Suite (5)5
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Water sport equipment rentals
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Car hire
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
84Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.3 miles
116Reviews2Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 31
  • 16
  • 7
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pawani W wrote a review Sep 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka5 contributions
Please don't bother replying, telling me we are wrong! This hotel needs to own up to their mistakes, Open their eyes and read the comments! 90% of the comments are bad. This review is for other travellers! Not for the hotel to write back and give lame excuses! Roccos in Arugambay was a terrible choice. We booked it for our stay since the pictures on bookings.com looked really nice. Once we arrived there wasn't a reception. Two guys came out (that looked like they just woke up) and checked us in. The whole time we never saw them smile. I mean not even the next day. They were extremely rude. I dont think they have a clue about the word hospitality even though they are in that trade. Rooms were small. Pool looked dirty. And its nothing like whats on the pics! No tv. No phone. No minibar. No room service. No meal plans. No wifi. Not even a bottle of water. We have to climb down the stairs walk all the way back to the front and if we are lucky there will be someone to buy a bottle of water from. And the nightmare was just beginning. Our room was near the beach and there was a bieach hut . In there a group of guests were playing music on speakers. They were hooting and singing so loud. We were up all night. Thanks to some whisky we fell asleep around 3.30 even then it was going on and nobody did anything to control the noise. (I know I sound like an old lady complaining about young people partying. But after a 7 hour drive we really wanted to get some sleep) I felt insecure in that room, (just a gut feeling) and kept checking the door lock. Next morning we moved to Bayvista which is heaven compared to the hell hole we were in. And ofcourse they said no refunds (We made the full payment through bookings.com for four nights) Towels were like sandpaper with huge holes in them and the bedsheets had blood stains on them. bathroom was smelly and the shower was clogged. The impresion the staff gave us was that they were too good to be doing that job except for one elderly gentlemen who helped us with our bags. He was the only one who atleast apologized about not being able to control the noise. Thank god we moved to bay vista because later we saw those other guests stayed the whole weekend. If you read the google reviews you will get an idea about how bad this place is. Unfortunately we didn't bother to read reviews before booking this place. Lesson learned ! If you want a pleaseant stay in Arugambay don't stay at Roccos, even a smaller hotel with less amenities for a lesser price would be thousand times better and for the same price you are paying for roccos you can get a way better place with even breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Papermoon Kudils, Revenue Management at Arugambay Roccos
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear Pawaniw2019 Thank you for your feedback. We are very surprised by your comment and we cannot accept what you say. You stayed only one night, and you did not inform us that the noise from the hut was disturbing you, if so we we would have attended to it immediately. The rooms are secure and we have had many guests staying at hotel, who have appreciated our services and rooms. When you were checking out we asked you whether you wished to be transferred to our other hotel a short distance away so that you would feel comfortable. We are always hospitable to our guests and we do everything possible to ensure their stay is a good one. Water bottles are kept in all the rooms and replenished daily. The bathroom towels are of good quality and do not have holes and tears. The linen is washed daily and housekeeping is done daily as well. You did not mention any of this while you were at the hotel for us to assist you with the same. The photographs that are posted online depict the hotel accurately. You are the only guest to say otherwise. If fact you asked us to keep the room for you so that you could use the swimming pool at the hotel. We maintain the premises on a daily basis. Our attitude is to always to assist the guest and not what you have said. Kind Regards Sulfi
Read more
Lucky J wrote a review Sep 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka9 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed at the property with family for one night. Enjoyed the location, the services, property and the good food and drinks served. The man to meet at Roccos Arugambay is Rajah. He is full of energy and serves with a smile. He is a multi tasker and takes care of all the needs of the guests, however busy the Hotel is. Very accomodating and friendly. The food was good and the Sri Lankan breakfast was very welcoming. The room rate includes bed tea/coffee. They do not provide room service, as it is not required, as the rooms are well laid out, clean, compact and close to the Pool and Restaurant. Will definitely return to Roccos to enjoy Rajah's hospitality and the great food. This is a value for money property. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Gayani M wrote a review Aug 2020
Ella, Sri Lanka10 contributions
We loved our stay at Arugambay Roccos. The location is perfect, just a walk away to the restaurants and beach. The beach is just a few steps away from the property. The staff specially Sulfie, Raja were always helpful and with warm smiles. The food too was great even though the menu was quite limited. Overall this is an ideal property to visit if you are ever in Arugambay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
TTP wrote a review Aug 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka1,423 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
This was a perfect budget hotel with a high standard . Rooms were clean and pretty. Spacious bathrooms with hot water. Few meters away from the beach so you can enjoy the sound of the waves and the breez whole day. Has a nice swimming pool. Perfectly located on the main road. Can easily walk to all the surrounding pubs and bars. Easy access from.public transport too Food was simple and delicious . Very friendly staff helpfull too. So much value for money
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ryan J wrote a review Jun 2020
Kegalle, Sri Lanka50 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I spent 9 nights at roccos and it was lovely. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the pool clean and a nice size and the location was very central and in walking distance to other amenities. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and I had some nice chats with the uncle of the place. WiFi was good. I’d recommend this place if you are planning a trip to arugambay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$20 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rocco's Hotel
LOCATION
Sri LankaEastern ProvinceArugam BayPottuvil
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arugambay Roccos
Which popular attractions are close to Arugambay Roccos?
Nearby attractions include Arugam Bay (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arugambay Roccos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Arugambay Roccos?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Arugambay Roccos?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Arugambay Roccos?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arugambay Roccos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Regal Burgers, Better Taste, and Flo ! Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arugambay Roccos?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Arugambay Roccos have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Arugambay Roccos offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Arugambay Roccos have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.