We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arugambay Roccos

Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (94)
Pool & Beach (16)
Videos (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
It’s paradise. Gazing onto the turquoise waters of Arugambay Roccos, is a comfortable boutique hotel minutes away from the world famous surf point. The unique view of the pool, beach and ocean can only be experienced at this beautiful property.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Water sport equipment rentals
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Parking
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
95Reviews
1Q+A
12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 27
  • 13
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A very interesting place! We were looking forward to a nice relaxing few days here but ended up cutting our stay short by 1 night. The hotel and facilities are ok but the rooms are unfortunately not worth the money. The positives: - great location (right in the Main Street near shops and step straight out of the front gate onto the beach) - nice grounds and pool (although pool not overly clean and not great that they advertise for outsiders to pay to use the pool, meaning pool lounges were harder to get). - spectacular and nighttime. - there is a lovely man there by the name of Raja who made our stay more pleasant. He was friendly, accommodating and always had a smile for us! We wanted to take him home, such a sweetie! The negatives: - room is the size of a shoe box with no safe, no fridge, no tv and nowhere to put your cases. Without a fridge we could not keep water cold enough. - bathrooms smell and have no natural light (on arrival one bathroom smelt of sewerage which took 2 attempts/days to fix). - wifi was hopeless - apart from Raja, staff were fairly inattentive and very casual. - breakfast is very basic with just the choice of continental or Sri Lankan. Ok for a day or 2 but gets a bit same same! - the rooms aren’t serviced! You have to ask for clean towels, toilet paper & soap and rooms end up with lots of sand; which then ends up in your bed! - too expensive! Paid around $200 per night which is way too much for what we got! I would expect rooms like this for $50 - $100 maximum. Bedding consisted of a bottom sheet and top sheet but you had to make up your own beds. They do not offer any kind of refund. Many people seemed shell shocked like us at the size of the room plus the lack of amenities/facilities. Unfortunately not worth the money!
Read more
We were drawn to this hotel by the interesting architectural concept of cubes and it's simple layout. However upon arriving there, we realised that it's just barely managed and run. We booked two nights but after the first day, we opted for a different hotel. No refund was made up to now. The air-conditioning was repaired while we were in the room. The two main hotel managers and kitchen staff tries very hard but we noticed a huge lack of support to them by any kind of senior management or cohesive supervision.
Read more
Let me start by saying that I booked this hotel before 21st April events in Sri Lanka. $200 AUD per night! Small hotel 22 rooms Right by the beach and a great looking pool. And there end the pluses. It s all downhill from there. This hotel was the only hotel out of all the hotels I booked that would not give me a refund. Not even 50%. All the other hotels gave me a full refund. We arrived on 6th July at 6 pm and were greeted by a group of noisy drunken people drinking and playing loud music in the pool area. It was quite confronting and disappointing as I was expecting something quite different. The air conditioning unit in my room was not working correctly despite several attempts to fix it. They ended up moving me to another room. The rooms are a characterless concrete cube. With no attempt to soften it with rugs, mats, wall hangings or pictures. There is no kettle fridge or safe .......but you have a Soft closing toilet seat. Pretty goddamn pointless if you ask me. The pool area apparently is for he exclusive use of hotel guests but to our dismay we discovered that there is signage on the street side as well as the beach side inviting outsiders to use the pool for a fee of 1500 LKR. For this they get a towel, a welcome drink and a hamburger!!!!!!!!!! Not happy. So I complained the next day, verbally and by email when we were invaded by at least 16 non hotel guests who commandeered the pool. Smoked Weed/Pot/Dope/Ganja drank played loud music and took over the resort for several hours And only 6 hotel guests were sitting by the pool. They soon put a stop to that practice! The wifi is beyond a joke at this property Basically IT DOES NOT WORK. No wifi in the room at all. There are two power outlets in the room so badly located that it is almost impossible to use because the cables just don't reach. The bathroom is a grey concrete cell with hardly any natural light ugh!!!!!! In summary............ Just don't do it to yourself. Don't stay at this hotel as you will be disappointed. It is definitely not worth $200 AUD a night. There are much nicer places like Hideaway and Spice Trail offering 1000 times better everything for a lot less Thank you to Rajah who took a special interest in us and went out of his way to make life a bit pleasanter. Kobe did his best as the Manager I cannot recommend this place and I will never stay here again.
Read more
Response from RoccosA1, GRO at Arugambay Roccos
Responded yesterday
Dear Tammy We are very surprised by your repeated attacks on our property, which indicates an ulterior motive. We have never had such comments from any of our guests. And, you stayed at the property for the entire duration of your reservation. Soon after the April incidents, we did not provide a refund but we offered the guests to use the reservation in the future, which you accepted. We are confident about the country and thus we work towards its revival than merely give-up. We provided everything that we have mentioned on our website and OTAs. Therefore you made the reservation knowing what we offer. Our rooms are simple yet provide all the necessary requirements for a comfortable stay. The room has multiple power points. Some of your claims are simply ridiculous. We want our guests to experience Arugambay and not to be confined indoors. Once you informed us of your displeasure regarding day guests, we immediately stopped that offer. Though you were the only guest ever to complain about this. We have clearly mentioned on all our sites and OTAs what is available in the rooms. We do provide WiFi, but it is password protected so that only our guests are able to use the facility. But, if the signal is low, please understand that Arugambay is a rural location and broadband facilities are not yet available. We have many guests staying at our hotel and they have been very appreciative of our staff and the facilities we provide. Best Regards Gopi
Read more
Arugambay Roccos has the perfect location to catch the best surf and centrally situated on the beach strip for a large variety of bars and funky restaurants. The 22 rooms are compact but has everything you need to enjoy your time in Arugam Bay .... definitely the best place in town. The staff were friendly and always on hand to help where ever possible - Highly recommended !!
Read more
Response from papermoon_admin, Guest Relations Manager at Arugambay Roccos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Martin Thank you 🙏 for your kind words. We're honored. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gopi
Read more
Loved our stay at Rocco’s, a beautiful little paradise on the beach. All the staff were friendly and rooms were comfortable! The pool is a lovely way to spend the day and they will even prepare you fresh coconuts and bring cold beers!
Read more
Response from papermoon_admin, Guest Relations Manager at Arugambay Roccos
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Caitlinemma Thank you 🙏 for your kind words. We're honored. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gopi
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rocco's Hotel
LOCATION
Sri LankaEastern ProvinceArugam BayPottuvil
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing