We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Heritance Tea Factory

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heritance Tea Factory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,901: English reviews
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is excellent, the hotel is on the top of a tea plantation and guest can wander the tea hills and explore The property stays true to its original design and history, many aspects of the original building are preserved or re-purposed to make you feel as if you in a real tea plantation but with a comforting/luxurious twist Breakfast,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harpreet M
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Getting the right room is key. All rooms are of a high standard but a front corner room at high level is superb. A first floor room over the dining area and large areas of corrugated iron roof is not. Fine dining in replica dining car not value but an experience that makes the cost worthwhile. Breakfast generally average..Some items... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyEngland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stopped for two nights. What an incredible place it's like stepping back into the 1930s. The hotel is beautifully restored with many working parts from the original factory. Rooms are old fashioned but well equipped. Lovely food, service some of the best we have experienced in Sri Lanka. Great packed breakfast for Horton Plains trip. We also did the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gail B
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is beautiful located in the tea estates of Nuwara Eliya and is a former tea factory. Inside the building you will find many features that give an impression how a tea factory works including a beautiful old steam engine. Besides the very nice rooms the main plus of this hotel is the excellent service and the very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel as our third stop on part of our Honeymoon to Sri Lanka. The hotel is an old Tea Factory but still used for tea leaf picking. I can echo the coments that rooms are small and a bit of a after thought. Very small and dated compared to previous places we stayed. Activities are run by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuberto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I visited this hotel this year and I visited it 10 years ago and nothing has changed .. unfortunately this hotel is plonked in the middle of a tea estate... hence the name but once you get there there is nothing to do ... It reminds me of an old haunted building ...very very old and creeky. The spread of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Heritance tea factory is one of the most amazing and beautiful hotels in Nuwara Eliya. From the check in to the rooms to the amenities, they did not put a single foot wrong throughout our stay. The hotel isn't in Nuwara Eliya proper, but a 45-minute or so drive from the main town along a very narrow and windy road.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melville G
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrival itself is a wonderful adventure to the Hotel. you have to go round and round to reach the hotel. enchanted surrounding and very courteous and friendly staff. they welcome us in unique and elegant manner. the hotel has been build by converting a traditional tea factory itself and they have done a wonderful job doing so. rooms, foods and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gihan85
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the personlaized and touching service as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is STUNNING. Who cares it is isn't in the town - there is nothing to do there any way therefore just stay here - there is loads to do. Not only is the place beautiful but there are fun things to do here as well as relaxing. Definitely go and pick tea! This is super fun and really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holiday_junkie1984
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. It saddened us to see that you have not happy with the bed linen; we have taken your constructive criticism very positively and will take measures from our end to enhance the facilities and product offerings.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After arriving by train from kandy which is an experience. We were greeted with tea. Lovely place going back to old England. Staff very attentive had a bath there which was a big bonus for me. We had dinner in the carriage well worth having we were the only couple in there very attentive the guard the food was heaven.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have had a special holiday at Heritance Tea Factory. It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the amazing service as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,059 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2042)
Viewed
Room/Suite (213)
Viewed
View from Room (175)
Viewed
Dining (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (655)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (782)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,296 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,731 reviews
5.2 mi away
MountView Cottage
MountView Cottage
#15 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
589 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $250 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the flower dew suite offers panoramic views the the whole property”
 of 5 bubbles 259harpreetm, yesterday | Read review
“Avoid room 103 and 105 unless you like the view of corrugated iron and don't mind being workn up by the dining staff preparing breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyEngland, yesterday | Read review
“upper floor rooms have a a great view”
 of 5 bubbles JoergS495, 2 days ago | Read review
“Try to get a room on the Executive (top) floor facing the valley”
 of 5 bubbles melvilleg2014, 3 days ago | Read review
“find a top floor room with mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles Gihan85, 6 days ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay