We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tea Bush Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tea Bush Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was a disappointment. We booked what was advertised in Agoda as "Super Delux Room with Breakfast". When we arrived at the hotel the staff told us that we should pay extra for the breakfast. An unpleasent discussion was required until the staff agreed to waive the costs for the breakfast. In addition the bathroom was not particular clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank 652jeka
Shiranthi, Co-ordination Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, First of all thank you so much for posting you comments on Trip Advisor and we are sorry for the misunderstanding you had with your reservation. But i must tell you, Even the room you have booked mentioned Super Deluxe Room with Breakfast the breakfast option you have selected no and you have booked Room only. That's why... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room for 1 night as we already pre booked a 4-5 star hotel months ago, but had this night free so we decided to stay at the tea bush hotel. For the price that we paid (about 80usd) for three people, the room and beds were fine and the wifi and television were fantastic. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank talven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

We reached late on 18th July around 5 pm . We had booked in advance Full board. As we are vegetarian they happily served us delicious lunch. Mr. Prasad the Maneger was very helpful and extremely polite. For dinner my wife welcomed by Mr Bhanda the cook for additional recipe. We were given a large room with heater. Mr. Kishore... More 

Helpful?
Thank drgopalsharma
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dr. Sharma, Thank you so much for the kind review, it was a great pleasure looking after you and your wife over the weekend. And i will pass your kind words rendered towards our staff and they will be happy to hear. Hope to see you again in the future. Shiranthi More 

Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Tea Bush Hotel Nuwera Eliya in July 2016. The location of the hotel is good for those who are looking for a secluded peaceful place to stay. The view from the hotel garden & restaurant is amazing but it is now being ruined by a new construction happening right in front of it. You can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sana Z
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Pros: Wifi looks weak, but actually very strong. I was able to stream my favorite TV show with no problem. Good food. Nice, helpful people. Cons: I travelled here alone and Skyped my husband while I was there. I showed him my room and he said, "It looks like you're in prison." Well, not quite, but for sure the rooms... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank namaste859
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

Lovely little hotel. Value for money. Great staff. Highly recommend it to anyone looking for a calm stay in the city. It's the highest hotel on Haddon hill so it's not busy yet it's only a 10 minute walk away from the town. The staff is wonderful. They may lack training but make up for it in helpfulness.

Helpful?
1 Thank melinavon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

We stayed for a night. Our room was a superior deluxe newly built and higher than the property , so had beautiful view in the morning. We watched sunrise from our bedroom. The staff were friendly and the hotel had an ambiance of an old colonial cottage. We enjoyed our stay here.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mehnaz A
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016

Had my vacation in sri lanka and we booked some hotels, one of my unforgettable stayed was in tea bush hotel, they have nice dining with amazing views and the excellent service of staff especially chamara he make us feel that were not far away from home. Absolutely will recommend this hotel and definitely number one in my list on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mhileny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited in March while on vacation. We had originally planned for 3 nights, but checked out after 2. The hotel is an older colonial style, located up a steep road on a hillside. The views from the front lawn and restaurant are beautiful. Unfortunately there is construction of a new hotel in front. It's not terribly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie F
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

Booked into this hotel for one night in March. It's situated high in the the hills so in theory great views. There is a monster of a building site in front of hotel. Rooms were not clean, bedding dirty and massive moths were flapping around in the room. Staff didn't know what they were doing, took ages to get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony F

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
8.0 mi away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.6 mi away
MountView Cottage
MountView Cottage
#15 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#20 of 191 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#49 of 191 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotels Jojos
Hotels Jojos
#51 of 191 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tea Bush Hotel is a boutique type hotel of 10 comfortable rooms, situated in Nuwara-eliya, the little England of Sri Lanka. The original planter’s granite bungalow, “Shelborne”, as it was then known built in the 1800’s, where most of the hotel rooms are housed adding to the old world charm of the hotel, was the residence of the superintendent of Haddon Hill Tea Estate.All rooms are provided with hot and cold water and room heaters are optional. Ample parking space coupled with drivers’ quarters is a boon for the tour operators. The large well appointed restaurant serves delicious food for both in-house guests as well as walk-in guests. Room service is also available on request. The limited number of rooms makes every guest a special one for the hotel. The high elevation of the hotel above the town makes the view from the rooms and the restaurant of the surrounding hills, Nuwara-eliya town and the Lake Gregory to be quite breathtaking. Mt. Pedro or Pidurutalagala, the highest peak in the Island is close at hand. One could get a grand view of Adams Peak or Sri Pada, the famed holy mountain by climbing the Single Tree Hill just behind the hotel.Guests on their own may visit the Victoria Park and the Lake Gregory which are just walking distance from the hotel, while hiking trips may be arranged by the hotel to the surrounding hills. Guided day tours may be arranged on request to the Hakgala Botanical Gardens with its famed rose beds or to the Horton Plains, the National Park among the clouds at an elevation of 7000 feet, and perhaps a peep down the Worlds End, the 3000 feet sheer precipice.All this would make your stay at the Tea Bush Hotel linger in your memories for long years to come. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tea Bush Hotel

Address: 29 Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $64 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Bush Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Tea Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay