We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Machan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Machan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 728: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We finally made the visit in June after 2 years of planning. I was stunned by the place. It is sprawling with privacy. We had a sunset machan. Looks outside to the main road with a bath tub on deck. Open bathrooms but many bugs & insects. My advice keep doors shut. No late checkout even on a weekday was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan J
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Rohan, It was a pleasure having you at The Machan and we do hope to have you with us again this winter! Greatly appreciate the kind words about us and in particular we're very pleased to hear you found the staff at The Machan to be amazing and attentive. You kind remarks have been passed along to the in... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice property, well managed, food is nice.. Can do better. Need some entertainment for kids, Room n stay is excellent. And some more lights on pathway. Overall a excellent property. Couples should definitely go.

Helpful?
Thank Abhishek S
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just last week, we stayed at Heritage Machan with my family and I must say that the stay was splendid. The machan in itself is designed so beautifully that as soon as u step in, you fall in love with the place. Wooden flooring, antique furniture, big glass french windows that give a a 360 degree view of 80 feet... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chhandasi
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Chhandasi, We are honoured that all of you took the time out to visit us at The Machan and its heartwarming to hear you enjoyed the beautiful tree houses and spectacular views at The Machan. Privacy is a key component of The Machan Experience and we're glad you enjoyed the utmost prvicary as well. So sorry to have messed... More 

Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The jungle Machan was just amazing . The Place is exotic and serene . Lovely Ambience . Good Service. The cleanliness around the place is great .. Nature is Protected completely . Good use of the Forest

Helpful?
1 Thank nainahirani
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Naina, Thank you very much for sharing your Machan Experience with us and the world. We thank you for supporting our endeavour to protect nature and prove that hospitality and nature can go hand in hand in India. Thank you once again for your kind words and we do hope we shall have the distinct pleasure of hosting you... More 

Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is evident that the claim of The Machan about not having disturbed the Flora to build is a 100% true. The Machans are beautifully spread out, giving privacy and serene solitude. The rooms are large and yet cozy and beautifully maintained even in the humid and rainy weather. The staff are very courteous,smiling and greeting warmly at every encounter..right... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank manojHirani
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Manoj, We cannot thank you enough for supporting an eco-sensitive project such as The Machan. It is through the good graces of nature loving patrons such as yourself that we are able to support project Machan. We are so glad that you appreciated not just The Machan Experience but, the effort that goes into realizing that in the midst... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided to go to Machan in the peak rains for a weekend. We reached much late in the evening after the sunset and rains were too bad for us to really appreciate the surroundings. But the view we saw in the morning of the valley and river from our Canopy Machan was breathtaking. The good part of the place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Meera J
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Meera, Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. The monsoons are a rather challenging time for service but, we absolutely take your observations seriously and are working to further improve the service we have on offer year round. So kind of you to take the time out and visit us. We do hope we shall have... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in Jungle Machan and guess had the best view of The Valley below. It was raining continuously and added to the charm of the stay. The view from the attic is just heavenly. Even the bathroom window opens to The Valley below and what a magical moment to just stare at the nature going past the portico windows.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Motherjane
Sikkim, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very unique place. Its got a wonderful peaceful location . The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The team is attentive and respond to your needs. But this place has really nothing to do except relax. There is no pool. The spa isn't much and the food is average. The rooms are spread out and everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank corinthus65
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was a must visit in our list for quite sometime and luckily we got bookings in this monsoon season. We had to book months in advance. The place is remote and hidden. So make sure you have all the directions printed out. Mobile networks dont work here, which is a boon for romantic couples who only want to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DDighe
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Dighe, It was a true pleasure hosting you folks. We are so glad that we were able to provide you a private romantic escape from the city. Thank you for your gracious words on our Home Style Food such a pleasure to serve guests who truly relish their food. We do hope that we shall have the honour... More 

Dahanu, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You might want to carry your own food since the food is awful and no place nearby to go for food. Spa is not worth it! Other than that it's a pretty good place. Visiting in winter would be more favourable.

Helpful?
Thank Nishanahar
VH03, Manager at The Machan, responded to this review

Dear Nishanahar, Thank you for taking the time out to review us. Glad you felt we were worth 4 out of 5. But we always strive for a 5* rating. We would be particularly interested in understanding why you were disappointed with your meal options. Would it be possible for you to write to us or share a no. with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

977 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (945)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (180)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (536)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
6.9 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#6 of 69 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
5.8 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#7 of 69 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#26 of 69 in Lonavala
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Price Range: $124 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lonavala
#3 Spa Hotel in Lonavala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay