We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kool Kampot

Traveler (53)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)

About

#4 of 20 hotels in Kampot
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Kool Kampot is located along the private banks of Kampot River, providing comfortable and affordable accommodation with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The property is a short walk along the river to the main restaurants and bars. Our private superior and standard rooms are all fitted with both air-conditioning and ceiling fans. Our private basic double room (share bathroom) comes with ceiling fan only. All private rooms include bed linen, bath towels, complimentary toiletries, in-room safe, complimentary in-room instant coffee/tea and bottled water. En-suite bathrooms are fitted with hot and cold shower facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available in all rooms. Our six-bed mixed dorm is air-conditioned from 7pm – 7am. The dorm includes lockers, bed linen, bath towels and complimentary toiletries and free in-dorm water refills. The en-suite bathroom is fitted with hot and cold shower facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available in the dorm. The property houses a rooftop area where guests can enjoy their choice of drinks while watching the sunset over the river and mountains. Guests can play pool/billiards, or seek assistance with tour and travel arrangements, motorbike hire and luggage storage. Free parking is available on-site. The relaxed and peaceful atmosphere combined with our friendly and helpful staff makes Kool Kampot the ideal place to stay while exploring the town and its surroundings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
River View

Location

Full view
Contact
Riverside Road From town travel south along the riverside just past the outdoor gym and the dolphin roundabout, Kampot 07000 Cambodia
Getting there
Duong Dong Airport29 mi
Sihanoukville Airport46 mi
See all nearby hotels
190Reviews
0Q+A
14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 147
  • 33
  • 5
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed here for three nights and the location was good! The place was very quiet but the staff were really helpful and I had a chilled time here! The location is just off the river and a short walk to the centre of kampot! Mad monkey is round the corner where you can socialise
Read more
Response from Simon U, Owner at Kool Kampot
Responded 1 week ago
Hiya Dafne, thank you kindly for your review of our guesthouse. We’re glad you enjoyed the quiet and chilled out atmosphere here. We like to provide a calm and relaxing environment for our guests so that they can rest properly and enjoy the many attractions that Kampot has to offer. There are plenty of party places a short walk from us here at Kool Kampot, and many more scattered around town. We wish you all the best for your future travels and we hope to host you again should you pass through Kampot in the future. Kind regards, Simon & Alan, and the Kool Kampot Team
Read more
The staff at Kool Kampot are amazing, knowledgable and overall friendly. The dorm room was cleaned daily and each bed had a personal fan on top of the air con. The chill out area was very nice! Even a pool table. I really enjoyed my stay here !
Read more
Response from Simon U, Owner at Kool Kampot
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hiya Shane, thank you for your lovely review of our guesthouse. We really enjoyed hosting you here and you made a great impression on your fellow guests and the staff here. Best wishes for your future travels and we hope to see you again if you pass through Kampot. Kind regards, Simon & Alan, and the Kool Kampot Team
Read more
We stayed at Kool Kampot for two nights, i am disappointed by this hostel for the following reasons; The mattress in the room are really thin and over used, it felt like we were sleeping straight on wood. The shared bathroom In our dorm was dirty and had a strong pee smell,
Read more
Response from Simon U, Owner at Kool Kampot
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hiya Catherine, thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We are also very sorry that your friend had money go missing during the night. The dorm is a public area, and several guests stayed there during your stay. We provide lockers and have padlocks available for guests should they not have their own. We advise all guests to keep valuables locked away - especially in the dorm. Theft among backpackers is unfortunately rife, and as the money went missing during the night we can only assume that it was due to another guest in the dorm. Had you or your friend spoken about the theft to one of the owners before your midday departure we could have addressed the situation and involved the police. The other guest that you refer to in your review did not speak to any member of staff about an alleged theft. When the other guest was approached by a member of staff regarding this incident they said that everything was fine and they had not been the victim of any theft. New mattresses have been ordered to replace our current mattresses. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is the first time a guest has complained about the dorm mattresses, and we appreciate your and your friend’s feedback. It would’ve been better had you both actually communicated your dissatisfaction in person rather than posting on a public forum. The dorm was deep-cleaned personally by management on the day of your check-in. As with all shared bathrooms, guests need to be considerate to other guests. If we are not made aware that a bathroom is messy again after it has been cleaned (or used by a guest) then we cannot remedy the complaint. We would’ve have addressed any cleanliness (or other) issues immediately had you informed us in person. We maintain a staff presence 24/7 even though officially our reception is only open from 07:00 to 22:00 daily. I hope that should you experience further dissatisfaction during your travels, you will communicate directly with the business concerned so that they have the opportunity to fix things before you complain publicly on a forum. Guesthouses and hotels will always immediately address guest complaints and observations, as they are important feedback for businesses. We appreciate the compliment about the foreign owners, thank you. We care deeply about our wonderful Khmer staff and they are an important and vital part of the Kool Kampot family. Best wishes for your future travels and thank you for the review and feedback on our guesthouse. Kind regards, Simon & Alan, and the Kool Kampot Team
Read more
I didn’t enjoy my stay in Kool Kampot. First of all, the beds were not comfortable and the bathroom were not clean. They advertise an happy hour on the roof top, which didn’t happen during our two days stay. We ended up changing hostel after all. I got stolen for 80$ US in the
Read more
Response from Simon U, Owner at Kool Kampot
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hiya Roxanne, thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We are also sorry that you had money go missing during the night. The dorm is a public area, and several guests stayed there during your stay. We provide lockers and have padlocks available for guests should they not have their own. We advise all guests to keep valuables locked away - especially in the dorm. Theft among backpackers is unfortunately rife, and as the money went missing during the night we can only assume that it was due to another guest in the dorm. Had you spoken about the theft to one of the owners before your midday departure we could have addressed the situation and involved the police. New mattresses have been ordered to replace our current mattresses. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is the first time a guest has complained about the dorm mattresses, we appreciate your feedback. It would’ve been better had you actually communicated your dissatisfaction in person rather than posting on a public forum. The dorm was deep-cleaned personally by management on the day of your check in. We would’ve have addressed your complaints immediately had you informed us in person. Regarding your complaint about the rooftop bar happy hour: We run the happy hour daily from 5pm until 7pm. The happy hour did not happen on one of the days of your stay because of the King’s birthday week - an important public holiday for local people. Our bartender had a wedding to attend that day, and as a result we decided to not open the bar one night due to staff shortages over the festivities. Bottled and canned drinks are always available from reception on the rare occasions that our bar is closed. Access to the rooftop bar area is available 24/7 to guests and we provide high-speed WiFi for international guests to Skype friends and family at antisocial hours rather than disturbing other guests in the building. We are again very sorry for your disappointment. I hope that should you experience further dissatisfaction during your travels, you will communicate directly with the business concerned so that they have the opportunity to fix things before you complain publicly on a forum. Guesthouses and hotels will always immediately address guest complaints and observations, as they are important feedback for businesses. Best wishes for your future travels and thank you for the review and feedback on our guesthouse. Kind regards, Simon & Alan, and the Kool Kampot Team
Read more
Because of Khmer New Year they raised the prices by 70% overnight and told us better to stay, because nowhere else we will get a room or even not for a nice price. Well, that was just not true! But i realized afterwards that they just had problems to rent their rooms and need us
Read more
Response from Simon U, Owner at Kool Kampot
Responded Apr 18, 2019
Hiya Erdmann, thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. As a walk-in customer during the busy holiday period we were able to let you have our last available room at our standard rate. Because of Khmer New Year we were fully booked, but we were able to host you in our spare dorm beds. Dorm prices were raised by $2 for the holiday period - a 30% increase on our standard rate. Because we were fully booked we only had the top bunks available, we were able to move you to preferred lower bunks as they became available during your stay. You extended your stay daily for a total of 4 nights, and were cheerful, chatty and friendly during that time. Regarding the alleged theft, we provide safes in all our private rooms and individual lockers in the dorm. Padlocks are available for purchase from reception. All guests are warned to keep valuables locked up for security and reminder signs are posted in rooms. You were asked if you would like to proceed further with police involvement to which you declined. We cannot interrogate guests over alleged theft so we provide the best security options that we can. We are sorry for this incident that was beyond our control. Scooter rental is from an external business and the rates are charged for a 24 hour period. If a bike is used beyond that period without prior arrangement we are forced to charge because the bikes are unavailable for other rentals. Usually short extensions to bike rental can be accommodated without extra cost. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards, Simon & Alan, and the Kool Kampot Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$13 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CambodiaKampot ProvinceKampot
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing