We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp

Save
Kunene River, Namibia
Traveler (172)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (17)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“quad biking”(17 reviews)
“boat trip”(8 reviews)
“kunene river”(36 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast Available
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Suites
Bar/Lounge
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
83
13
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
83
13
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquad bikingboat tripkunene riverhimba tribewilderness safarisexcellent guideincredible locationthree nightsrustic luxurysouthern africaprivate dinnerthe staff were greatminute driveonce in a lifetimeland rovertravel agentdelicious food
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 99 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Serra Cafema is the perfect place to enjoy a couple of days with nature and nothing else. we arrived by plane from Etosha + half an hour by car. in the middle of the desert (fantastic fairy circles!) , thanx to the Kunene River, you...More

Thank Alida C
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema CampResponded September 22, 2017

Dear Alida, Undoubtedly one of the most remote camps in southern Africa, Serra Cafema is located in the extreme north-west of Namibia on the banks of the Kunene River in the Hartmann's Valley. Serra Cafema is an intimate, peaceful camp inspired by the area’s Himba...More

Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Serra Cafema on the Kunene River is in an isolated corner of Namibia. The houses are divine! Luxurious, spacious and very private. The staff, led by Morne, were very friendly, professional and ensured everything was perfect My favourite safari Camp, but not for wildlife. I...More

Thank Ann R
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema CampResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you Ann for your amazing review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and glad to see that Morne and all the staff in camp helped you have such a great stay with us. One of our highlights,...More

Reviewed August 31, 2017

After spending nights in the desert, it was great to see green and water! The camp is charming, but activities are limited to a very short boat ride, a trip to tribes (which was great) and carting (which we don't think fits in silent nature...More

Thank Alicia v
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema CampResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Alicia, Thank you for your kind words, it is often the case that the staff can make or break an experience although we are disappointed that the staff here were no as you had expected we are glad to see that it is only...More

Reviewed July 17, 2017

Our main reason for going was the River Trip after being in the desert for weeks. We were offered different stories; the boat was Broken; the river was too low. Yet the day we left the boat trip miraculously resumed! We were so disappointed. The...More

Thank Catherine18881
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema CampResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Catherine18881, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your trip out to visit the local Himba people. We are sorry you weren't able to enjoy a couple of outings on the river this was a maintenance...More

Reviewed July 11, 2017

We had four nights, which wasn't too long. It gave us a chance to rest on the riverside deck and to get to know the area better. The drive into the camp is through a landscape of magnificent landforms and colours. The units are large...More

Thank EHB186
Response from WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema CampResponded July 18, 2017

Dear EHB186, We are thrilled to see your journey out to our idyllic remote camp was all worth the time and effort it took to get to camp. One of our favourite activities is the outing to visit the nomadic Himbas when they are in...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kaokoland
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (172)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (17)
Dining (13)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mp6644
November 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Dear Mp6644, Thank you for your question, we are all very excited about the upcoming renovations and cant wait to share our new facilities with you and all our guests. If everything goes according to plan we hope to have... More
0
Votes
welwyntune
April 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from WildernessSafaris | Property representative |
Thank you … for your question. Game viewing in this area is limited to small herds of gemsbok, springbok and Hartmann's mountain zebra. The Kunene River has a large population of Nile crocodiles. Burchell's courser and... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"do not go there if you need to be always connected!!!"
Read review
"Try to get a room by the river as some of the rooms away from the river have sun all day and get very hot"
Read review
"All the rooms are the same layout, though not all are on the river. We had room 7 which was terrific"
Read review
"room 8 definitely, must face the river and Angola"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing