We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Edgewater Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel packages
402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Edgewater Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Williamson, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Loves the rooms, loved the location, and loved the price. Only problems we had here was the sketchy parking garage that my full size pickup had a hard time maneuvering, and the congestion of the elevators and lobby area. The two elevators go from parking area up to floor 8. There was a long wait for elevators up to 15... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as a requirement of a Soccer Tournament this weekend. We had a few options and wish another hotel was chosen! The suite we booked was merely an adjoining hotel room-which was fine because space was what we needed. The rooms were dated and linens smelled like they had been in storage for months. The sliding... More 

Helpful?
Thank facyvee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The boyfriend and I went to Gatlinburg for his birthday. I found Edgewater on trip advisor and decided to try them out. We booked a room with a hot tub and fire place in it. We arrived on Sunday the 17th to find the hotel was over loaded with kids. It seems there was a convention going on. It would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brittney B
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate all of your comments and am glad your husband enjoyed his birthday. I apologize for the noisy youth groups. We do normally advise guests when making their reservations that we have a youth group in. I am sorry we fell short when speaking to you. Thank you again... More 

Calhoun, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was great! The staff, the room, the weekend was awesome! We had everything we needed. I would recommend Edgewater 100%! It is in the best location in downtown Gatlinburg. Within walking distance to all downtown store/shops/attractions. The view is also beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your post regarding your stay. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you and your husband when you are next in the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards, More 

Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here three night with our five year old daughter. At check-in I was informed by the desk attendant that I was lucky to get a River View room because I booked with "Trip Adviser" I am guessing that they feel booking thru second parties shouldn't get the premium rooms. However I did intentionally book (and paid for) a river... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for your negative experience during your stay due to our youth groups in house. They are good groups, but they can sometimes become noisy and they do fill our pool. We are please to be able to offer accommodations to guests who book through online services. Unfortunately,... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband stayed here 10 + years ago with his family and loved it so much that he wanted to take me back to it. We stayed 3 nights starting on NYE on the 8th floor in a mountain view suite with a balcony, fireplace and jacuzzi. The room was great and clean! Beds/pillows could use an upgrade, but weren't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. We are always happy when we have return visitors such as your husband and we're happy to have you as a new guest. I will pass on all of your positive remarks to our staff and we look forward to hosting you again when you are back in... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Could not get into room into after 4pm, housekeeper unpleasant bordering rude. The bed was so hard I could not sleep. The room even with a discount was expensive, not worth it at all. There were 10 of us, we rented 5 rooms. Wish it was as nice as I had envisioned. No wifi was noted or offered. tmmfreedom@yahoo.com

Helpful?
Thank Tmmfreedom
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Edgewater. Our normal check in time is 4pm and I apologize that you were unable to access your room at that time. When we have large check out situations, it can sometimes delay check ins. We strive for excellent customer service and again I apologize that your stay was not... More 

Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We chose to stay here because it was within walking distance to most sights. This was handy because this was a first time visit for my mother to Gatlinburg and she had to use her wheelchair during the trip. I guess if there was anything I would like to see changed would be that none of the handicap rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank medic1644
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater for your mom's first visit to Gatlinburg. I'm glad she enjoyed her trip to our city. I agree that it would be nice to have a handicap room on the riverside of the hotel. I will add to management discussions for 2016 upgrades to our property. We look forward to hosting you again when... More 

Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

I needed an escape... and my escape place is Gatlinburg, TN. However, this week is one of the busiest of the year (New Years) and I wasn't sure I could get a room for my wife and I. After confirming that our usual place (Zoder's Inn) was booked, we checked with Edgewater and amazingly was able to book a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank LocoTech
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Edgewater this week. You're right, this is the busiest time of the year for Gatlinburg, but it's also a great time to visit the area. There's lots of lights and activities. I'm glad you enjoyed your accommodations and apologize that you were not able to access the continental breakfast area. We look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

It appeared that they took care of the hotel by some of the renovations. CONS: The room was okay nothing special. The fiber office cubical ceiling tiles were falling in in the bathroom.The towels was stinky. The pillows were like sleeping on rocks. The outlets were so old I couldn't even get my charger cord to stay in the outlet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit at the Edgewater. We strive to offer excellent customer service to our guests and I apologize that we fell short during your stay. If you would contact me I would appreciate discussing your visit. You may reach me toll free at 800-423-9582. Sincerely, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (194)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#31 of 85 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#11 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 85 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay