We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 816: English reviews
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed June 1, 2015

I stayed at this hotel only because the group I was traveling with had booked a block of rooms. I'm not sure whether it was the toilet and mattress strewn in the back parking lot right next to where I parked, the 4 a.m. earth-rattling dumpster pick up right outside my door (4 nights in a row), the 5 a.m....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susie C
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We’re pleased to know you found our staff was exceptional. However, please accept our apologies for the issues that you were dealt with while staying with us. We do hope that these issues were addressed with the proper resort management team in order to better enhance your stay, as these concerns are not...

Bella Vista, Arkansas
Reviewed May 31, 2015

River Terrace is close to all activities and a short drive to Pigeon Forge. Rooms are comfortable but dated. Rating would be higher because although the rest room and counters are very clean and spacious, the carpet and some bedding appeared to need a more thorough cleaning or sanitizing...glad I had my own pillow. Was wearing white socks and upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NWATravelers1000
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our resort location close to Pigeon Forge. However, please accept our apologies for you room accommodation not meeting your expectations. Cleanliness is a priority, and this was not done to our standard. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room...

Moore, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewed May 31, 2015

After reading other reviews, I was a little worried, but this place really surprised us. The staff was very nice and we even got to check in early. The room, a standard King, was spacious and whats more, VERY clean. In fact, the bathroom was one of the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. The housekeeper was also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dtizsmith
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of our resort. We love that you were able to enjoy your vacation stay. We certainly aim to please and it is great to know that our housekeeping and front desk staff was helpful and friendly. It is extremely pleasing to know that your accommodations were clean and up to your expectations. We definitely...

Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed May 27, 2015

We got a river front room for two nights as a mini-getaway. The room was a little outdated, but the balcony really made it worth while. Not much room for dining in the room. Location is great, walkable to everything on the strip. Definitely a good value if you want to be in the center of things but still have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your input. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our greatly located resort near to Downtown Gatlinburg. It is also extremely pleasing to hear that your suite was clean and comfortable upon your arrival. We’re very glad you chose us and hope you will visit. Sincerely, Denise

Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights mid May. We loved the place. Views were great and room had a balcony. Place is basically on the side of a mountain. Walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants, and loads of attractions. We didn't use the car while there. Place was a little older and could use a little remodeling but all in all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brenway
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to see that you were able to enjoy your vacation stay with us. As you found, our resort is close to a variety of different attractions and Downtown Gatlinburg. It is also very pleasing to see that you suite was clean and comfortable upon you arrival, and that you...

Lima, Ohio
Reviewed May 27, 2015

We were put as far away from the lobby as possible, ostensibly to be near an area where we could walk our dog. The adjacent "hill" was nearly verticle and there was no way anyone could actually walk there pet in this area. We paid more than $40/day just to have our dog at this venue. The carpet in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1ran10
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We take all of our guests’ comments into consideration as we are always looking for areas to improve. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced throughout your stay. We love to see our guests’ pets coming along with our families to enjoy a great stay with us. We hope that your concerns...

Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

I don't know why this place gets bad reviews. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was also reasonably priced. Close to everything plus a heated pool! A few short steps to the aquarium and we ate at No Way Jose & it was delicious. Definitely will stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ally126615
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed our close location to Downtown Gatlinburg and that you suite was clean and comfortable upon your arrival. We’re very glad you chose us and hope you will visit again. Sincerely, Denise

Olive Branch, Mississippi
Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Terrible very run down and poorly maintained. It is close to everything downtown but that is the only positive. Linens were bad especially the sheets. Bathroom TINY. No continental breakfast only one ice machine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DannyJoe12
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Please accept our apologies that your suite was not clean. Our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each room is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We hope that your concerns were addressed to our resort staff in order to resolve your concerns and provide you with a better stay with...

Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we wanted to stay close to downtown and we had a great experience. The staff was friendly and got is anything we needed (towels, pillows). The bed was comfortable and the room was huge! Nice flat screen TV. Our room was situated on the hill so walking up the hill may be a challenge for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that your time spent at our resort was a comfortable one. It is also very pleasing to see that you were able to view the mountains from your room at a great value. We look forward to you and your family staying with us soon...

Union, South Carolina
Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

I will definitely be staying here again! It is right in the middle of everything so we didn't need to move the car at all. Our room was upgraded for free for some reason, which I didn't mind. The rooms were nice and clean. Bedding was new including the mattress and box spring. No bed bug or any bug problems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blsalter
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you have a great time at our Westgate River Terrace Resort & Convention Center. It’s very pleasant to hear that our guests enjoyed all aspects of their stay. We offer the perfect place to stay for visiting downtown Gatlinburg and any of the other fun attractions. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

339 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.8 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $97 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travelers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles bluedynaglide, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
“confirm parking before accepting room key.”
 of 5 bubbles 33kimt, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, Dec 2, 2016 | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question