We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

806 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 799: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is an older hotel but relaxing. After all, with everything right there on main street for shopping etc..It is a lot to see and do. Free music and a variety of restaurants of your choice. You will not be in your room much any way. There is a restaurant on the property, it's nice. You can walk or catch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Westgate River Terrace Resort. We appreciate your comments and are glad you found us to be a great value. Also, we are glad that you found our location convenient to all of what you wanted to do in the Pigeon Forge area. We really appreciate you and we certainly look forward to your next stay...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I gave myself some time to cool down before writing this. But I still feel the same almost 4 months later. We have had not only one bad experience with River Terrace Resort, but TWO! The first time (2016), my husband had made reservations for a queen room on the top floor that overlooked the river. He specifically chose that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica B
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our service standards. We are saddened to hear of any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will work diligently with our resort staff and our booking partners to ensure a smoother check in process. We hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hard to get in and out of parking lot because of traffic but is in a great location to walk around Gatlinburg. The staff is friendly and the rooms are great. There are no carts for your luggage and coolers and the ramps are steep to get to rooms. Because the rooms are non smoking the smokers smoke on walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williesmit
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback. We regret to hear that during your stay with us you experienced challenges with parking, smokers, and late night activities at the Westgate River Terrace. However, we were delighted to hear that you reported that our “staff is friendly and the rooms are great.” We would hope that you will return to our resort to allow...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was nice and clean. Furniture is king of old looking but don't really care about that. The terrace was nice. I wish the chairs were a little nicer. Would have loved to sit out longer, but plastic chairs are uncomfortable. The bathroom is nice. It's convenient to strip without the noise. Very nice customer service at front desk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your visit and appreciated “the nice and clean” at the Westgate River Terrace. As you mentioned, our resort is in a “convenient location to the strip without the noise.” We hope to have you visit us again in the near future! Nicole

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was clean and tidy. The balcony had wonderful views of the space needle and local shops. The staff was very helpful to us by suggesting dinner options and the hotel is right on the strip! Great for walking, shopping and sightseeing in old Town Gatlinburg.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MDG829
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from our guests and are pleased you found our staff to be friendly. It's also nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the great location with, “views of the space needle and local shops.” We appreciate you choosing Westgate River Terrace and we look forward to you visiting us again soon! Nicole

Glen Saint Mary, Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What this hotel has going for it is....yep, location, which is excellent. A 60 second walk and you are in the middle of everything. However, our room was actually....dilapidated! We couldn't use the dresser because the drawers were falling out. Everything was ancient. The exterior amenities were very nice and the price was low. but that was no excuse for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damon F
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our great location to be able to enjoy everything you wanted while in the area. We regret that you experienced issues with décor and condition of your room. We have taken note of this issue and will let the resorts maintenance...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you're wanting a courtyard by Marriott, then you will be disappointed, but if you want a nostalgic, older hotel with huge rooms and an excellent location, this is the place for you! We stayed in the building called "Duckwatch" and it sets right on the creek, with great views of the fish and ducks in the water below. Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrin V
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy of our large units and prime location during your visit. We can assure you that we are working hard to improve a number of features that we offer at our resort. Our staff is always happy to...

Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel was absolutely horrible, We had a room on the hill, and the only way to get up there once you have parked, is walking up and down very steep hills, or walk all the way to the other end and go down steps outside. Had to go all the way down to the bottom of the hill for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliaB4795CY
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Your honest feedback is appreciated. We are disappointed to see that you may have encountered some concerns with your recent stay. Please be advised that our staff is always willing to accept special requests, including those for a more accessible unit. We hope that all additional concerns were fully resolved by our resort management. It would be an honor if...

Athens, Tennessee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was very disappointed with this Hotel. We had to wait for our room and went to the Drafts Bar and Grill which is in their add for hotel amenities and realized that they say they offer an extensive draft beer and cocktails list to find they only serve beer. The room was on top of a massive hill and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reneeleamon
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us. We are saddened to learn that you may have been disappointed with your visit. We apologize for our current limited selection at our Drafts Sports Bar & Grill; we understand your frustrations however we can assure you that we will have a more extensive selection upon your...

NW Indiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Place needs touch up of normal wear and tear things that appear not to have been done for a while. Room is dated but clean.Staff at front desk are extremely friendly and helpful. They need to offer a room discount for the restaurant which is on the property. In walking distance to everything downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guardgrey51
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Your honest comments are appreciated. It brings us pleasure to learn that you found satisfaction in our friendly staff and convenient location. We are saddened to please be advised that cleanliness is of priority to us, and our housekeeping team is in place to ensure that each unit is up to par prior to the arrival of our guests. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

331 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 82 in Gatlinburg
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#22 of 82 in Gatlinburg
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.8 mi away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#34 of 82 in Gatlinburg
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Edge Motor Lodge
River Edge Motor Lodge
#52 of 82 in Gatlinburg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: $83 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travelers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, 1 week ago | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, 1 week ago | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“try to get a room in the high-rise part that has an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles juliaB4795CY, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Built on mountain side so if there are issues waling up hills ask for a room in one of the lower units.”
 of 5 bubbles guardgrey51, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay