We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2935 E Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2140
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (28)
View from Room (9)

About

#1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Marais
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.7
Value
4.8
Lakeview rooms and fully-equipped kitchenette suites with Lake Superior to the front and the Superior National Forest in back. Beach on Lake Superior. Hiking trails join the Superior Hiking Trail and the trails along the Kadunce River. Located eight miles northeast of Grand Marais, MN on Lake Superior's beautiful North Shore. Free WiFi. Great prices!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
2935 E Highway 61, Grand Marais, MN 55604-2140
Getting there
Sawyer Intl Airport164 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
104Reviews3Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 68
  • 28
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
gawildcats wrote a review Sep 2022
Cumming, Georgia463 contributions123 helpful votes
This is a basic, no frills, locally owned older motel. The room was spotless and the view was great, although we had a side view of the water. Unfortunately, the room itself is tiny. There is no microwave or refrigerator, and the TV screen is smaller than the screen on my laptop! But you can only get 6 channels, so not sure how much you would be viewing. There is no A/C, although we were there at a time when none was needed. You can open windows and turn on a ceiling fan for comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle and not on the side for better lake view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded 4 days ago
Oh, we are so disappointed you did not get what you were expecting when you booked here! Our non-kitchen rooms are smaller (just a bed, table and two chairs, dresser, corner shelf with coffee, etc.) with no refrigerator/microwave--but they also allow for one night stays (which you needed) and are comfortably priced. We are most struck by the rating in service. We were able to get you into your room early, and tried to make sure you had everything that you needed/wanted--even assisting with restaurant suggestions and hours as you were running late in getting to the National Monument and hadn't eaten.. Please let us know if there is anything in the service area that we could improve on. We strive to make every guest's stay here a wonderful experience, and are saddened that yours was not.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Howard R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Loved the owners. Holly was very personable and friendly. We were going to have a bottle of wine on the chairs overlooking the lake. Holly said “Have you got any wine glasses?” I said we just have plastic cups. She you can’t drink wine out of plastic cups. She brought us a couple of nice wine glasses. We thought we were very high class drinking our wine overlooking Lake Superior. Beautiful evening. Thanks Holly. We will stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Great view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Thank you. You are too kind. Of COURSE you can't drink wine out of plastic! We are not animals up here! We are thrilled you can take in the gorgeous view of the lake in our Adirondack chairs while enjoying a beverage. There is just nothing better, in my humble opinion. Looking forward to future visits!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Exploration312020 wrote a review Jul 2022
8 contributions
This was our first time staying at the motel, but I’m sure we’ll be back. One of the owners checked us in, and was very welcoming. The room had so many thoughtful, cute, and funny signs and paintings. Chairs were provided for guests in the front yard of the motel so we could look out at Lake Superior across the street. A really great place at a great price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Jul 9, 2022
Thank you for your kind review! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! That view of the lake is pretty amazing from the Adirondacks. We look forward to having you as our guest again, the next time you want to play along the North Shore.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark H wrote a review Jun 2022
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin2592 contributions254 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here one night while on a motorcycle trip with the boys around Lake Superior. This small locally owned motel is across the road from the lake and the cozy rooms have unobstructed views. The room are modest, but spotless. The owner is friendly and proud of his motel. He feeds the chipmunks peanuts and has named many of them. They’re tame. There is s small playground that would give small kids something to do after selling the beach adding to their stick and rock collections. They only downside is it’s about nine miles north of Grand Marais if you’re hungry. I’d stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the remainder of your trip was fantastic!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hiker1 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful location with access on site to Superior Hiking and other trails. Friendly, helpful owners. Excellent resource book in each room with local history & information. Basic accomodations are very clean and well maintained. One of the best value stays on the North Shore. This place has a "feel good,' positive vibe. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Jun 12, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back to see us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JWisniewski wrote a review Aug 2021
New Egypt, New Jersey12 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed at this motel on a recent road trip exploring the Great Lakes region. Lake Superior is appropriately named! The best place to explore Lake Superior from is The Outpost Motel. Not only is it the perfect jumping off point for a boat trip to Isle Royale National Park, but the motel is right across the street from Lake Superior's beautiful rocky beach. The guest rooms are very clean and very comfortable, but what truly makes this place so welcoming are its owners. Holly and Todd made us feel like old friends rather than complete strangers. Holly has a fantastic sense of humor and great attention to detail, while Todd is extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area and the wildlife that inhabit it. You get a tremendous feeling of "sense of place" while staying at The Outpost, and that serenity starts with the people who care for it and you. Treat yourself to that immersive experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I think they all had a good view. We stayed in an end unit.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Sep 29, 2021
What a wonderfully kind review! Thank you. We certainly hope that you feel not only like you are a friend when you are here, but a good friend as well. We are thrilled to be able to open up our "home" to folks who want to enjoy the North Shore.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis B wrote a review Aug 2021
Grove City, Minnesota, United States3 contributions5 helpful votes
We have been going to the Outpost every year for the past 5 years. The rooms are always well kept and well supplied with all the kitchen supplies we need. The beds are very comfortable. What more can you ask than have Lake Superior right across the highway from the motel. Sit by the lake or on the grass and read a book and listen to the waves roll up on shore. Then make a campfire on the shore in the evening, when it isn't so dry, and look at the stars and planets in the sky. Todd and Holly are great hosts and are there to make your stay comfortable. Grand Marais is only 6 miles away so you can go eat at their many restaurants and just stroll around town and go in the many shops. Always 5 stars when we stay at the Outpost.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you're there for an extended stay the 2 kitchenette rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Sep 29, 2021
We are so sorry for the tardy reply! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoy your time here. Can't wait to see you for year six!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew W wrote a review Jul 2021
Duluth, Minnesota8 contributions
+1
For my 40th birthday, my friends booked several rooms at the Outpost Motel, as we would be celebrating in Grand Marais for the weekend. We had an AMAZING TIME! Upon arrival, we noticed that there were many fun surprises waiting for us in the rooms. The excellent products in the bathrooms, the little moose figurines to include in pictures, the books in the bedside tables, and a hilarious flock of pink flamingos placed outside my bedroom window. The staff greeted us to get us settled and then allowed us to enjoy our weekend, appearing only when providing extra blankets or towels. As much as we enjoyed exploring the North Shore, we relished our time in the big lawn chairs facing Lake Superior at the Outpost. Fires on the beach were restorative and our time was full of laughter and serenity. We intend to make this trip a regular tradition and are grateful to the Outpost owners and staff for a very special weekend. Considering what a hard year we’ve had to navigate, I’m thankful for the magic and care of a small business like this one! Matthew W. Duluth, MN
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Sep 29, 2021
We are so sorry for the tardy reply! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so very happy you all had a good time here. Wishing more birthday celebrations in the future on the beach!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean S wrote a review Jul 2021
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States3 contributions
I've stayed in each one of their rooms over the past twenty plus years and each one of them is simple, warm, immaculate and looks out to an amazing expanse of the big lake. Out the back door is the Superior Hiking Trail; to the side is the Kadunce River; up the road is the High Falls of the Pigeon River; and just to the west is the Gunflint Trail into the BWCAW. The Outpost is a family owned, affordable home base for those wishing to visit any or all of these attractions! Guests tend to return year after year after year. It's a gem.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Sep 29, 2021
We are so sorry this response is so tardy! Thank you so much for your kind review. We LOVE the fact that our guests keep coming back year after year. We do have the BEST location (in our humble opinion!).
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
97randyp wrote a review Jul 2021
Wausau, Wisconsin84 contributions25 helpful votes
Outstanding quaint little gem of a motel. Owners are by far as friendly as they can be & very outgoing. They treat you like family; highly recommended if up in northern MN. Book early as they sell out fast in fall. Can’t beat the service or the views of Lake Superior
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book your rooms early; very well know motel & sell out quick.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Outpost Motel, Owner at The Outpost Motel
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaGrand Marais
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Outpost Motel
What are some of the property amenities at The Outpost Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Is parking available at The Outpost Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does The Outpost Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is The Outpost Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.