We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gunflint Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gunflint Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 205: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the most wonderful places on earth if you like the wilderness. There are not a lot of luxuries, but that isn't what you go for. The meals in the Lodge were great, large portions, great taste, good value. The service by some (John and Jodi) was exceptional. The housekeeping staff we talked with were so kind,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jared L
GunflintOwner, Owner at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Surrounded by the wilderness, we do offer wide variety of accommodation options, from bunk houses and rustic canoe cabins to lakeside homes and cabins, which come with one to four bedrooms (each with its own bathroom), a full kitchen and a beautiful stone fireplace. Most cabins also have a selection of hot tubs, saunas,... More 

iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here before and had a good experience. This time staff were lost. Nobody knew our name. Staff inappropriate...bad attitudes and talked bad about new owners and openly used profanity and crude language. Meal service had long delays. Weak service--had to request service more than once. Chairs lined up on the patio like an institution. Out of food/drink...asked us for... More 

Helpful?
Thank heartbreakersaltshkr
GunflintOwner, Owner at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that your experience didn’t live up to our high standards. Please understand that your visit came during a very busy summer stretch and some of our seasonal staff have not yet learned all our guests’ names. We regret that due to our high demand we were not able to offer you all the favorite dishes you... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I hadn't been to the Gunflint/BWCA since childhood (decades ago!) but our family was meeting there to say goodbye to my dad who passed away last year. There isn't a more pure and serene place left around. It's so quiet, friendly, and amazingly nice to be cut off from Internet (the Lodge itself has low broadband connection). The sunsets over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Lisa, We are so sorry for your loss. We are glad you were able enjoy the serene and peaceful environment we have to offer here! Thank you for the photos and rooms tips, they are an amazing bonus to your already great feedback. We hope to see you soon :) More 

Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, high demand jobs or need to spend some quality time with friends or better yet with your husband, wife or significant other - this is the place to go! No satellite so take your favorite DVDs - wifi only in the lodge - and plenty of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Kelly, We are so happy to hear of the memories you made on a trip with us. To us that is what vacations are all about, so thank you! Also, we are glad you enjoyed your fishing trip with Adam and had a chance to eat your fresh catch of the day. We hope you can get the whole family... More 

Coon Rapids
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

The charm of this place is worth the drive. We were there just for dinner and enjoyed pork chops and steak - lovely dinners. Service and willingness to accommodate special diets was great! There is outside seating on Gunflint Lake or seating inside that faces the lake as well. You have a view of the Canadian border from the Lodge.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn O
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Robin, We are happy you made the drive to see us and had a chance to enjoy the view. We understand eating out is hard for those with allergies and do our very best to accommodate everyone! Thank you for the recommendation and the amazing pictures. More 

Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We have been going to Gunflint for canoe trips, dinners, cabins, fishing with guide and EVERY experience we have had there since 1960 has been top notch and the most wonderful experience. I am not sure this person reviewing had a clue as to where they were going and what to expect in the 'north woods'. This is NOT New... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you doesn't even being to express our gratitude! We are so happy to welcome you back year after year. We are glad you had an another amazing visit and can't wait to see you back again, and believe us if we could control the weather it would be nothing but blue sky's out here. Take care Nancy and thank... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

Me and my Fiancé found an amazing deal online for a 5 night canoe/camp trip in the BWCA for an amazing price. The trip was through Gunflint who provided us with all the food - 3 meals a day, tent, equipment, sleep mats, utensils, and portable stove. Everything but fishing gear!!! The first night was a stay in their canoe... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank keisah F
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Keisah, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback! We are thrilled you had such an amazing trip exploring the BWCA with us. Congrats on the big catch of the day! We hope to see you again, maybe then you can explore the Lodge further and all we have to offer. Also, feel free to... More 

Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and was the best stay of our entire trip. We got a cabin overlooking the lake and the view was just awesome! The staff was very helpful and ready to help with anything. The cabins are a little dated and the tv didn't work. But you shouldn't be watching tv anyway with... More 

Helpful?
Thank barrywebb
MGR_Guest_Relations, Manager at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Barry, We are very happy to hear how wonderful your stay was with us! We are glad you and your wife enjoyed the view and had the privilege to meet some of our friends up here in the mountains. Thank you for sharing your photos and experience, we really appreciate it! More 

Saginaw
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Eight of us Ladies have been coming to Gunflint Lodge for many years and have been lucky to know the owners and the managers. We ALWAYS get a warm welcome and the best service you will find anywhere. The "Bistro" pub was wonderful from burgers to filet mignon the meals were prepared perfectly. Let me please say something about what... More 

Helpful?
Thank foodladySaginaw
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

What a pleasure it is to welcome this women's group back each year. We all have fun. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

I got married at Gunflint on April 17, 2016. Everything was amazing. The weather, the staff were terrific AND THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC!! Beautiful trails for hiking and just all around the best vacation I have been on. Honestly if you want a vacation to unplug and relax or go out for a nature adventure definitely give Gunflint a try... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
GunflintGuy, Owner at Gunflint Lodge, responded to this review

What a pleasure to share special moments with guests. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
2:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
30.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.2 mi away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#6 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
30.2 mi away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 11 in Grand Marais
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 11 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
11.2 mi away
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
Big Bear Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 31 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rustic family accommodations on the Canadian Border in northern Minnesota adjacent to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. Cabins accommodate 2-10 people. Activities include canoeing, hiking, guided naturalist activities, swimming, horse back riding, full meal service, and the new Towering Pines Canopy Tour. Special programs for "Becoming a Boundary Waters Family." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gunflint Lodge

Address: 143 S Gunflint Lk, Grand Marais, MN 55604-3009
Location: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Price Range: $279 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gunflint Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gunflint Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunflint Hotel Grand Marais
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay