We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais

Naniboujou Lodge

Save
Traveler (73)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (10)
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“dining room is”(18 reviews)
“state park”(23 reviews)
“rooms are small”(11 reviews)
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair access
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (151)Write a Review
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
96
30
14
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
96
30
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining room isstate parkrooms are smallsunday brunchdevil's kettlewild rice burgerlake superiorstopped for lunchthe french onion soupnorth shoreroad scholar programadirondack chairssun roomno alcohol allowedbeyond descriptionthe sleep number bedarchitectural gem
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 151 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We were on a special trip to Northern Minnesota and we had always wanted to stay at Naniboujou. It worked out that we were able to stay here before it closed in late October. The dining room will take your breath away because it is...More

Thank RMCincinnati513
Reviewed November 1, 2017

I have been coming to Naniboujou Lodge since I was four years old....58 years. My husband and I spend our anniversaries here. There is nowhere (besides our home) that we feel more at ease. Peace, quiet, relaxation, the surf of Lake Superior, wonderful staff that...More

Thank ReindeerMoonFarm
Reviewed November 1, 2017

My wife and I have stayed at the Naniboujou before several times dating back to the '80s. So our expectations were set accordingly. We come back because of the authentic charm, not the luxury. This time we had a 5 night stay during a Road...More

Thank olderguy47
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were up at the North Shore this weekend celebarating my birthday and it was a very rainy day. We decided to go to th Naniboujou and have afternoon tea. It was more than pleasant! You need reservations for 5 or more...More

Thank donih
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

What a great place to visit and dine. I had an amazing and interesting club sandwich! Service was great. It was also great to walk the shoreline of Lake Superior. Im hoping to get the chance to stay there sometime.

Thank JHeskin
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345631
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
$50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (73)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (10)
Room & Suite (9)
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Bathroom (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mollie B
September 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MollyAW1234 | Reviewed this property |
You can bring your own wine to the lodge. I can't imagine they wouldn't let you have your own wine at dinner.
1
Vote
karengodeen
June 21, 2016|
Answer
Response from OliverandLisa | Reviewed this property |
We saw a number of walk-ins the Sunday morning we were there, so, no, I do not think you need reservations.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Most of the rooms are a bit small by today's standards, but talk with the staff, they are very..."
Read review
"Stress the type of room and location!!"
Read review
"Definitely pay for the lake view!"
Read review
"We didn't stay at the lodge just enjoyed the restaurant."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite