We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (774)
360
Panoramas (81)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Park and Save
$267
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#21 of 102 hotels in Brooklyn
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
The William Vale is a contemporary luxury hotel in the heart of Williamsburg, featuring world-class hospitality, breathtaking views, elevated public green space, and the longest outdoor pool in NYC. All 183 rooms and suites at The William Vale feature floor-to-ceiling windows, open-air balconies, and spectacular views of New York City and its boroughs. Award-winning chef Andrew Carmellini directs The William Vale’s distinct culinary concepts: Leuca, a Southern Italian restaurant with wood-fired coastal cuisine in a casually elegant atmosphere; Westlight, a 22nd-floor rooftop bar, serving rare spirits, craft cocktails and small plates with panoramic skyline views. Located across the river from Manhattan, The William Vale is easily accessible from LGA (15 min) and JFK (25 min) airports by taxi, and a 10-minute walk to the Bedford L subway stop into Manhattan.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Park and Save
4.5
1,461 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The William Vale hotel offers a mixed bag of experiences in the heart of Williamsburg. Guests commend the hotel for its proximity to local attractions and the exceptional views it provides. However, reviewers frequently bring up concerns about the noise, ongoing construction, and additional charges for amenities like pool access. Opinions on the rooms and service vary greatly, with some finding the accommodations well-appointed and others disappointed by the room size and inconsistent service. Many visitors feel the hotel fails to provide value, citing high costs and hidden fees, while the vibrant atmosphere is occasionally marred by loud music from nearby nightclubs.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Rowdy
Rooms
Basic
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Mixed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1461Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 996
  • 212
  • 102
  • 80
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Fettucine wrote a review Feb 7
Reading, Pennsylvania165 contributions78 helpful votes
Our weekend getaway here was incredible. The room was beautiful, service from everyone efficient, sauna was fantastic, walking distance to much of Williamsburg's highlights, but the most incredible thing was the view of Manhattan from our balcony. Unbelievable! Thanks to the staff, especially our concierge Anggie who was an extreme pleasure to work with. If in Brooklyn, we will only be staying here from now on.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It is worth checking to see if street parking is available nearby. Much more likely than in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded 2 weeks ago
It's great to know that our beautiful rooms, amazing views, and exceptional service helped make your visit memorable. The next time you're in the city, please come back to see us. Sincerely, Peter Ybarra. Hotel Manager The William Vale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Britney G wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
My partner and I chose to do a bit of a staycation for the 4th this year. Instead of going to the hamptons we opted for The Vale. Crystal made us feel right at home with her inviting smile . She directed us to the huge umbrella covering the lounge chair that was as soft as a cloud and large enough to fit 3 people comfortably. The drinks came out fast and cold as alana and nate made sure we were taken care of during sweltering heat. As always the staff at the pool did a fantastic job of making sure we felt like royalty during out stay. Cant wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Brian B wrote a review Jan 2024
Phoenix, AZ179 contributions38 helpful votes
There are a number of reviews of the William Vale and I won’t add to them. This is an upscale hotel with high rates. I have stayed in both a queen with balcony and a king with balcony and I want to point out that there is no desk area of any kind in their rooms. If you have a laptop or if you need a writing surface it does not exist in those rooms. If I was on business I would have been really upset to find that. In addition there is also no chair. There is a chaise lounge, but no chair.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Brian, We appreciate your feedback, and we're happy to see aspects of your stay were pleasant. However, we apologize for any disappointment with the furniture setup, and we'll keep your comments in mind. If you're in the area again, please consider coming back to see us. Sincerely, Peter Ybarra. Hotel Manager The William Vale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Haley C wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
My stay at the William Vale was one i'll never forget. The staff was so incredibly accomodating (especially Richard Liesse) and made me feel so welcome for my birthday celebration. Can't recommend this place enough. Try the sauna!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Haley, Thank you so much for the high rating, and we're delighted to know that our amazing team members were the highlight of your stay with us. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to Richard, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Peter Ybarra. Hotel Manager The William Vale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KilburnPost wrote a review Jan 2024
New York City, New York304 contributions156 helpful votes
Solid hotel. Rooms and hallways are small, but well designed. They had issues with their elevators when we visited, so getting to and from our room took time. Gym is pretty sparse. Front deck felt like they didn’t like their jobs and rather impersonal. Good restaurant options around the hotel and good launching point for visiting Williamsburg. The Vital climbing gym is nearby, which is a great place to work out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It's great that you enjoyed the nearby restaurant options and found our location convenient for visiting Williamsburg. We're also glad you found the rooms and hallways well-designed. However, we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the elevator issues during your stay and understand how this could impact your experience. Your feedback on the gym facilities and the front desk service is also valued as we strive to enhance our guest experience. We appreciate your review and hope to provide a more seamless experience on your next visit. Sincerely, Peter Ybarra. Hotel Manager The William Vale
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Conny Wylie wrote a review Jan 2024
Ottawa, Canada832 contributions635 helpful votes
The stylish William Vale sits in one of Brooklyn's hippest neighborhood, Williamsburg. I relished my corner suite with floor-to ceiling windows, lots of natural lite and futuristic interior, with an abundance of geometric patterns and blood wood. It was attractively decorated with curated art and a raft of high-tech room appliances. The pinnacle suite amenity; however, was the balcony affording brilliant cityscape views. The principle eatery of the Vale is the Leuca, a southern Italy inspired restaurant serving flamboyant food such as homemade pasta , wood fired pizza and the like. I selected a trio of Grilled Octopus, Tonnarelli and Prosecco to wash everything down................ ...... extraordinarily flavorful. The Westlight is a 22nd floor, groovy rooftop bar with sweeping views, a rustic cocktail program as well as craft beer, wine and a menu of small plates. The adjacent Turf Club is a seasonal facility bringing the outdoors to the Westlight rooftop. A stellar 5000 sq. ft. outdoor pool deck provides one of the best water holes in the area and in the cooler months guests can enjoy an ice rink as well as a winter spa concept. This is cool....an urban 4th. floor outdoor oasis outfitted with panoramic views, barrel saunas and deep soaking cedar hot tubs........a groovy way to chill out. So, if you would feel at home, in a hip neighborhood where the hotel is part of the trendiness...........then try the...........William Vale...........a plum of a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded Jan 7, 2024
Our goal is to impress everyone who stays at The William Vale, so we're happy to hear we succeeded with you! It's great to know that our modern, high-tech suites and amazing city views helped make your visit memorable. Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed the onsite dining and amenities. We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam C wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Very rude and unaccommodating staff. Antithesis of hospitality. Poor quality rooms. Website says it has EV charging, but only has Tesla charging, a significant inconvenience and notably misleading. A terrible way to waste money. Zero stars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: There is ONLY Tesla charging, no other EV charging
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Santore, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded Jan 8, 2024
I am so sorry and you are 100% correct as our Non Tesla Charging was inoperable. We are addressing with our Valet Partners and Garage Team and rest assured we will have EV Charging for all cars within 30 days. I know we offered services at our partner garage next door and I hope we did not cause you too much inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Y2CLL wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom1059 contributions255 helpful votes
+1
Stayed for 3 nights before heading into Manhattan. Great area for restaurants and a different vibe to Manhattan. Iconic looking hotel but the rooms were very compact for the location, hardly any storage and if you have 2 suitcases you can’t put them on the floor without blocking the wardrobe! That said a lovely balcony albeit given its size id rather have moved the window back to have a bigger room. Nice bathroom but again limited storage to put anything. Staff were ok, not that warm but no issues. Lifts slow given the number of rooms and disappointing not to be able to get out to the pool out of season and thus get any views - tried to go to the bar during the morning for a view but wasn’t allowed to go up as it was closed and not owned by the hotel - thus bit of a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Santore, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded Jan 8, 2024
Thank you so much for your kind words about our neighborhood and the guest room. Yes New York City rooms are petite but The William Vale is one of only a few which offers every guest room a private balcony overlooking the famous Manhattan skyline. I am sorry our staff could not accommodate you but for a variety of safety and security reasons we are not able to allow guests to the roof while Westlight is closed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anne S wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions5 helpful votes
Super unpleasant front manager. Asked about late checkout and was told they couldn’t let me know until the morning of. Tried to explain why that was pretty useless and not standard-to no avail. Impossible to reach room service. The room itself is quite nice but given the other nearby friendly luxury hotels I will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: The Hoxton nearby is excellent-go there instead
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Santore, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded Dec 21, 2023
Dear Digitalbanjo7: Thank you so much for sharing your experience and I am sorry we let you down regarding our limited late checkout availability. I also see that our Room Service team did not deliver the outstanding experience we expect for you. Based on your feedback we have initiated new direct dial and mobile phones so our team is within easy reach. I do hope we can regain your trust and welcome you back to this spectacular Urban Resort located in the heart of historic Williamsburg.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ASMULREADY wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia60 contributions87 helpful votes
Major let down Vs expectation. Location is outstanding and reality is this is the best hotel in Williamsburg, yet it’s not a 5 star property. However facts are rooms are very basic, with almost zero storage; only a small cupboard in the bedroom and a single small shelf in the bathroom. My bathroom flooded every time I used the shower (poor design and impossible to avoid) so the bathroom floor had water on it all day. No desk so if you want to work you won’t be able to do that in the room. Left early on final day and the front of house dude had a horrendous attitude. Just didn’t want to print me a receipt or a summary or charges. Extraordinary. Oh and a daily resort fee for which you get nothing. Yup nothing. Front desk attitude dude explained that ‘all hotels do it so this is not an opportunity to complain’. What a disgrace. Again, wonderful location but really needs help with customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Stay in Manhattan and get a train to Williamsburg
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Santore, General Manager at The William Vale
Responded Dec 21, 2023
I am so sorry we let you down. The William Vale actually has some of the largest rooms and suites in Williamsburg and guests do love the private balcony. Apologies for the bathroom drain issue and the poor service you received about a printed bill. We will meet with and retrain our team to ensure the highest of Luxury Guest Service. I do hope you may reconsider when your travels take you back t our City from Australia. Until then wishing you and your family a Safe, Happy & Healthy 2024.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brooklyn area.
PRICE RANGE
$298 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBrooklynWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
183
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WILLIAM VALE - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Brooklyn, NY)

Frequently Asked Questions about The William Vale
Which popular attractions are close to The William Vale?
Nearby attractions include Williamsburg Smorgasburg (0.3 miles), Brooklyn Flea Market - Williamsburg (0.2 miles), and Brooklyn Bowl (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The William Vale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The William Vale?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The William Vale?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The William Vale?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The William Vale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oregano, Cafe Mogador Williamsburg, and The Meatball Shop - Williamsburg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The William Vale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The William Vale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The William Vale?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The William Vale offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The William Vale?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.