We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gowanus Inn and Yard

Save
Share
645-651 Union St., Brooklyn, NY 11215-1033
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
$98
$78
View deal
SAVE $20
Travelocity
eDreams
FindHotel$98
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (62)
Room & Suite (36)

About

#62 of 96 hotels in Brooklyn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience a boutique hotel in Brooklyn where modern amenities meet industrial chic. Gowanus Inn & Yard is within walking distance of Barclays Center, Atlantic Terminal, Park Slope, and some of the most popular bars and restaurants in all of Brooklyn. With 76 total rooms and suites, our hotel features custom toiletries by ECO by Green Culture, comfy beds, and lots of natural light for an energizing stay. All points of interest in Brooklyn and downtown Manhattan are only a few minutes away from our hotel. Easily access the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal, Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM), Borough Hall, Brooklyn Bridge, Red Hook, DUMBO, Brooklyn Heights Promenade, Brooklyn Museum, Pratt Institute, and so much more.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Gift shop
24-hour check-in
Internet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
127Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
14Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
70Reviews4Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 9
  • 17
  • 10
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yvette Ramirez wrote a review Apr 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Never, ever, ever stay here! The nastiness hotel and the rudest staff ever. Used to be nice. It is now a dump! An hourly hotel!!Nasty! Nasty! Nasty! Checked out early and was cussed by the staff when I asked for my money back. This is an FYI...if you're going to Brooklyn and this hotel comes up RUN!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gowanus Hotel, General Manager at Gowanus Inn and Yard
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Yvette. We are saddened to reach such a review. While we understand you did not want to stay overnight, our rates are nightly rates. Our team goes above and beyond to ensure all guests are happy and comfortable, service is a huge priority for us. If you wish to speak more in detail regarding your experience and what measures we can take to ensure your next stay is nothing short of amazing, please do not hesitate to reach out directly at gm@gowanusinnandyard.com.
Read more
Lauren W W wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. My first night I was put into a room which was not well cleaned. Betsy was the manager on duty that night and she did an excellent job of finding me a better room and making the rest of my stay comfortable. She and the cleaning staff were very helpful and nice. I found the towels and bedding to be low quality and detracted from the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Gowanus Hotel, General Manager at Gowanus Inn and Yard
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Hi Lauren! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we will be sure to address and consider all mentioned. Our housekeeping team take great measures to ensure our rooms are up to standard and we will look into where we may have fell short. So glad to hear Betsey was able to turn your stay around and that our team was attentive. We wish to welcome you back in the future, when you're ready, let us know and our management team will personally oversee your stay from start to finish.
Read more
Karina L wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
This was my first time staying at this hotel ,The front desk person Besty was very helpful and was also able to recommend to local restaurants to eat . I would definitely book again because of Besty services .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gowanus Hotel, General Manager at Gowanus Inn and Yard
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Thank you for your five star review! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us and that Betsey made it a memorable one. Our location is a favorite among guest with so many awesome restaurants and things to do nearby, we are glad you were able to take advantage of all Gowanus has to offer. We look forward to your return!
Read more
Bryan F wrote a review Mar 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
i need to make this known for anyone that wants to stay here. I used to typically go because it was very cheap and it was good for a night or two with my girlfriend. The hotel has FALLEN OFF SO BADLY. To my dismay at my last STAY EVER, me and my girlfriend have been debating if they are allowing homeless people to stay here as some type of shelter because there are always shady characters leaving the hotel. First things first, floor is always stick and dirty. Room always smells like smoke and the showers are so stupidly made, it just makes no sense. There is no shower or door to keep the water from going on the floor. Good luck getting an extra towel, we just bring our own. Now the meat and potatoes, there was a drunk homeless man in the room next to us. (We assume he's "homeless" if you saw him you'd think the same.) This white homeless dude me and my gf are laughing in the room - HE COMES TO OUR DOOR AND STARTS BANGING ON IT WITH A WEAPON! Me and my GF suited up, grabbed what we can and got ready to fight for just incase he was able to come through the door. I wrote an email to the GM as well about this and requested a refund for this terrible trip. I got no reply and I even complained to priceline. Please look at what they did to the door and what they did to the other door - This is what they're allowing in here and it's sad. If I were you, skip this hotel and go to the union OR skip over and go to the holiday inn express down the block. The damn TV never works either. We will never come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gowanus Hotel, General Manager at Gowanus Inn and Yard
Responded Mar 16, 2021
Hi Bryan, thank you for your continued patronage at Gowanus Inn & Yard. While I am saddened to reach such a review, I would like to address a few points. While we admire our neighboring hotels who are kindly housing those in need, we currently do not. During this pandemic we are not servicing stayover rooms, and it is made clear upon check in along with our housekeeping hours. Unfortunately, we cannot operate the same way as we did prior to covid, for the protection of our guest and staff. We do offer alternative and try to be as transparent as possible with the change in our service. While we cannot (and will not) discriminate against any guest, we do not allow nor condone bad behavior. On behalf of our entire team, we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you face due to a neighboring guest and we handled the situations immediately. I’ve called and sent follow up emails since your last stay, I look forward to your response and hope to get more details and welcome you back for a fantastic stay which I will personally oversee 😊
Read more
Sandy A wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I have stayed at many place but Gowanus Inn & Yard was such a good experience. Considering we’re in the middle of the pandemic house keeping definitely did a good job cleaning up all public spaces. The rooms are definitely spacious and vacuumed. The staff was very kind I actually had help by one of the front desk staff name Betsy she definitely recommended a couple places to eat around but I definitely liked the spot across from the hotel name Dino BBQ. If your looking to stay around Brooklyn this is definitely a good spot I’m looking forward to my next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Gowanus Hotel, General Manager at Gowanus Inn and Yard
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Sandya, thank you for your awesome feedback and rating. Your kind words and appreciation of our teams efforts during these times are touching. We especially love that Betsey made your stay a memorable one and cannot wait to share your review with her. We agree, Dino BBQ is so very delicious and convenient (right across the street!). We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBrooklynGowanus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gowanus Inn and Yard
Which popular attractions are close to Gowanus Inn and Yard?
Nearby attractions include Kick Axe Throwing (0.09 miles), Blueprint (0.2 miles), and Mission Dolores (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gowanus Inn and Yard?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a business center, and a banquet room.
Is parking available at Gowanus Inn and Yard?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gowanus Inn and Yard?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al Di La Trattoria, Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, and Bricolage.
Are pets allowed at Gowanus Inn and Yard?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Gowanus Inn and Yard offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gowanus Inn and Yard?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Gowanus Inn and Yard?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.8 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.8 miles), and Ellis Island (3.3 miles).
Is Gowanus Inn and Yard accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.