We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Winter Sale - Save up to 25%
Booking.com
$156
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$156
Destinia.com
$150
Free cancellation until 02/16/23
Hotels.com$156
Priceline$156
Vio.com$168
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (268)
Room & Suite (259)
Videos (1)

About

#16 of 112 hotels in Brooklyn
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Silver level
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Winter Sale - Save up to 25%

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
169Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
28Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1224Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 661
  • 371
  • 106
  • 51
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sharon D wrote a review Feb 5
A great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. A special compliment to the manager, Steandly Eko, for helping us secure a ride to the airport. He went above and beyond to help us out. This will be our go to hotel when traveling in NY.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear sharondQ9753WV, Thank you for allowing us to host your recent visit to the Big Apple. Your kind words are most appreciated, particularly those noting the warm hospitality provided by our associates, especially Steandly. We are thrilled to read that you felt so at home with us and that our fantastic location was perfect for all that you wanted to do in our exciting city! On behalf of all of us at Nu Hotel, the pleasure was ours, and we look forward to you joining us again soon. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
925nancye wrote a review Mar 2022
Newark, Delaware3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Very clean, quiet, and convenient for our visit. Parking next door, breakfast included, luggage storage until room ready, and curtesy late check-out. Double room and bathroom good for the 3 of us. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary DeSoiza, General Manager at NU Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2022
Thanks for your recommendation 925nancye! We're really please that you enjoyed yourselves and found us to be clean, quiet and convenient
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
monmd wrote a review Jan 2023
Woodstock, New York17 contributions12 helpful votes
Nu Hotel was comfortable and clean. Staff were pleasant and welcoming and went out of their way to make my stay wonderful. Evening snacks and beverages were a treat, especially the chocolate chip cookies. Fitness room was well equipped and well maintained. A gem of a place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Nu Hotel. It is great to know that we exceeded your every expectation, and you thoroughly enjoyed our friendly staff, fantastic accommodations, and great amenities. We hope you will come back whenever your travels bring you to New York! Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wkristal wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Great hotel, great price, great location, great amenities. They need better mattresses, but that would be my only complaint. The staff was friendly. The hotel was fairly close to the subway. The breakfast was basic but good for a hotel breakfast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear wkristal, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Nu Hotel and mentioning what a great value we offer our guests. We are delighted to know you were pleased with our ideal location, attentive hospitality, and thoughtful amenities. However, we regret not meeting your expectations with the mattress in your assigned room. It was a pleasure having you here, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MidgieTich wrote a review Jan 2023
Sydney78 contributions63 helpful votes
We chose a corner room, so larger, with a desk, hammock, sofa and chairs. Beautiful floorboards, large bathroom with double sinks and quality products, plenty of room for luggage storage and a safe. Loved the double glazed windows, floorboards and lots of natural light. Watching streetlife was interesting and we loved the small restaurants, laundromat and shops in the area - great local feel. The continental breakfast was great (toast, pastries, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice) and staff helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was every 2nd day and varied on completeness a bit, but oevrall was great. Bed a bit firm, but honestly, a great hotel and excellent value for money. Cannot recommend this enough and hope to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: corner room and higher floor - worth paying a little more
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MidgieTich, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Nu Hotel. It is great to know that we exceeded your expectation and that you thoroughly enjoyed our friendly associates, fantastic accommodations, and great location. Thank you for recommending us to the future guest, and we love knowing you plan to return. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tripalyzer wrote a review Dec 2022
California8 contributions17 helpful votes
The room was not giant but was definitely plenty big enough. The bathroom was nice (including a big walk-in rain shower) and water closet for the toilet. The mattress was not in great shape and needs to be replaced. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lobby is a great place to hang out and have a free coffee/tea, cookie,and piece of fruit. The windows are not in great shape...they let in too much wind noise and cold air in the winter. There was a lot of street noise because of police vehicles coming and going all times of day and night at the jail building directly across the street. Three different subway stations are a short walk away. Smith Street is one of the nicest walking streets in Brooklyn - lots of restaurants and interesting shops (also check out the similarly nice parallel Court Street. Despite some negatives, the NU Hotel is on balance a nice place to stay and we would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2023
Dear M. Tripalyzer, Thank you for reviewing your visit to Nu Hotel. We are glad to know that, overall, your experience was pleasant. However, we regret not meeting your every expectation and are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We appreciate all your feedback and will utilize it to improve going forward. We love knowing you will return soon; we wish you and everyone around you a Very Happy New Year! Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lexilind wrote a review Dec 2022
Columbia, Maryland1 contribution1 helpful vote
A small, comfortable hotel with an eclectic vibe. If you are driving and don't want to take your car in and out definitely take advantage of the Park and Stay option. The garage is colocated with the hotel (although it is a separate management company) and you can pull in, unload and check in. Everyone was friendly and efficient. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable with an easy chair and a good desk chair. There was plenty of space and convenient plugs for laptop/work. Breakfast had a variety of typical cold breakfast foods and a toaster for the bagels. The coffee was better than the usual hotel coffee. Elevators were quick. I would stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded Dec 18, 2022
Dear lexilind, Thank you for the heartwarming review of Nu Hotel. It is great to know that we exceeded your expectation and you enjoyed our friendly associates, fantastic accommodations, and great location. Thank you again for being our guest, and we love knowing you will return soon. We wish you a wonderful holiday season. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toure88 wrote a review Dec 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia98 contributions12 helpful votes
This was my second stay at the NU Hotel. This was one of the worst experiences I’ve had at a hotel. We checked in Friday evening and the front desk told us there was only one room available. The room was handicapped accessible and not what we asked for. The room was unkept. The wall pendent lights flickered on and off. The shower curtain’s bathroom walls were stained. The heater fan made an extremely loud noise that woke us up every time the heat kicked in. Today 17 December we asked the front desk for different room and she proceeded to speak over us as we desperately tried to ask for another room. She then threaten to call the police because I raised my voice to het her attention to stop talking over me. We asked for her manager and she said she is the supervisor and we have to leave the hotel. She did not wear a name tag so I don’t know her name. This property is in dire need of a deep cleaning, maintenance and staff training. Hotels charge outrages prices and fees and I was treated like she was doing me a favor. We spend a lot of time in Brooklyn and wanted a nice place to stay downtown. The NU Hotel is not that place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded Dec 20, 2022
Dear Toure88, Thank you for visiting us once again and for the feedback. We are so sorry for the multiple issues you encountered in your room and for the inconvenience they caused. Your comments have been shared with the housekeeping and maintenance teams so we can ensure corrective actions are taken. We especially apologize for the negative experience you had with one of our associates. What you described is totally unacceptable, and we will review this incident with the appropriate individuals. Your feedback, and also your patience in this matter, are much appreciated. We will share your message appropriately as we are committed to enhancing our services on all levels. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenn wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our first time staying in Brooklyn and we were looking for somewhere enough to get to different areas of Manhattan and Brooklyn via Subway/Ubers/walking quickly. This location is great! You can get most anywhere with a reasonable amount of time. It's in a good neighborhood and has a lot of cool shops and great restaurants within walking distance. We stayed in the queen room with bunk beds since we a teen and a preteen and it was the best decision ever! This room was the largest room we have ever had in the city! We even had a small dining table to rest and eat snacks. The bath room was quite large and had a separate room for the toilet and coat closet. We were in a corner room with multiple windows. Beds and furniture were comfortable and the decor of the hotel is very artsy modern. You will hear street noise, but in my experience you hear that almost anywhere in NYC. It is across the street from a detention center but we didn't experience any issues during our stay and since there is a heavy police presence it's not like criminals are going to be doing bad things in front of the building where the cops are. Breakfast was included with our stay which was extremely helpful and saves money in an expensive city for a family of 4. There is a small fridge and coffee maker in the room and the lobby has free coffee/tea/water and snacks in the lobby through out the day. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was very clean and everything was always in order. We had a great stay and I'm so glad we tried out Brooklyn this time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded Dec 9, 2022
Dear jenn205h, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Nu Hotel. It is great to know that we exceeded your expectation and you thoroughly enjoyed our friendly staff, fantastic accommodations, and great location. We hope you will come back whenever your travels bring you to New York! Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
funkybanana126 wrote a review Dec 2022
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
The beds were incredibly uncomfortable. The TV didn't work consistently. There was no overhead light in the room. Wifi was very slow (couldn't take a zoom call). Someone was playing incredibly loud music next to me and staff laughed it off. I had high hopes, but will not stay here again—especially for the high price. There are many wonderful hotels in this neighborhood you could try!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at NU Hotel
Responded Dec 8, 2022
Dear funkybanana126, Thank you for being our guest and for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered with your room and the unsatisfactory service you received during your visit. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional and memorable stay; therefore, we truly regret that this was not your experience. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate individuals so we can ensure it is not repeated. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the stay you deserve. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nu hotel brooklyn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBrooklynBoerum Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NU HOTEL $110 ($̶1̶4̶0̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Brooklyn, NY

Frequently Asked Questions about NU Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to NU Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Brooklyn Tabernacle (0.2 miles), New York Transit Museum (0.1 miles), and Sahadi's (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at NU Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at NU Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at NU Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at NU Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to NU Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sottocasa Pizzeria, Shake Shack Downtown Brooklyn, and French Louie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at NU Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is NU Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Brooklyn.
Are any cleaning services offered at NU Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at NU Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at NU Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.