We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Advance Purchase Offer
Booking.com
$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Expedia.com
$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Traveluro
$135
View deal
Priceline$148
Hotels.com$148
travelup.com$151
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (268)
Room & Suite (259)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 105 hotels in Brooklyn
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Silver level
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Advance Purchase Offer

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
214Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
27Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1212Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 653
  • 371
  • 106
  • 50
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JeffNewHaven wrote a review Aug 9
Providence, Rhode Island5 contributions5 helpful votes
Great little place with decently large and comfortable rooms. Loved the location right on the cusp of Downtown Brooklyn and Cobble Hill. Could walk everywhere. Would definitely stay again. Didn't have the breakfast, but it looked good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Jeff, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Nu Hotel. It is great to know that we exceeded your every expectation, and you thoroughly enjoyed our friendly staff, fantastic accommodations, and great location. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to New York! Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
925nancye wrote a review Mar 2022
Newark, Delaware3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
Very clean, quiet, and convenient for our visit. Parking next door, breakfast included, luggage storage until room ready, and curtesy late check-out. Double room and bathroom good for the 3 of us. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gary DeSoiza, General Manager at NU Hotel
Responded Mar 23, 2022
Thanks for your recommendation 925nancye! We're really please that you enjoyed yourselves and found us to be clean, quiet and convenient
Read more
70wllbqcgi wrote a review Aug 1
1 contribution
The wine was a nice touch and it was a very good chardonnay. The bed was very low but the room was spacious for Brooklyn. The shower curtain was surprisingly dirty at the bottom. Hopefully they will get clean ones or convert to glass. Overall that was the only major complaint. The room was a bit pricey though for what you got.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing Nu Hotel and for the kind rating. We were disappointed to read our accommodations did not provide the value for which you were hoping, and we apologize for the issues you faced with the assigned accommodation. We will review your feedback to ensure a much better guest experience moving forward. However, we are happy that your overall time was pleasant besides the concern mentioned. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
lindsayd554 wrote a review Aug 1
Chicago, Illinois2 contributions
Room was dirty, smelly, housekeeping was walking the halls spraying Febreeze. Plasticy thin mattress. Poor temperature control. TV didn’t work. Definitely not a 3 star hotel. Police constantly parked out front. Loud. Skip it, stay somewhere else.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest and for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues you faced while you were here. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional and memorable stay; therefore, we truly regret that this was not your experience. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate individuals so we can ensure it is not repeated. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Thank you again for your feedback. Best Regards, Ari Grossman, General Manager
Read more
Kristen H wrote a review Jul 2022
Georgetown, Texas16 contributions11 helpful votes
The NU Hotel is great! It’s very trendy and comfortable, conveniently located. The staff is warm and welcoming. The coffee and breakfast are good, too. Everything was very clean. And the fitness center is excellent. We’ll be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
560kristenh, thank you for allowing us to host your visit to the Big Apple. We are thrilled to read that you loved our location, excellent service, and spotless property. We also appreciate your comments regarding the facilities and delicious breakfast. On behalf of all of us at Nu Hotel, the pleasure was ours, and we look forward to you joining us again soon. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
andersonfamshiloh wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This Hotel is for the younger generation ( couples, individuals) or very young at heart with or without older children not for families with small children…. Very friendly employees & always helpful….
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
andersonfamshiloh, it means so much to us that you enjoyed your time with us at Nu Hotel! We are committed to providing each guest with an exceptional experience; therefore, we appreciate knowing that the service from our hotel staff went beyond your expectations. We are honored you chose to stay with us during your visit to New York, and we can't wait to host you in the future for more great memories. Thank you again for the kind words, and until next time! Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
Piwen L wrote a review Jul 2022
Cupertino, California2 contributions
My son and I visited nyc to see my daughter who lives in Brooklynn. The hotel was located close to downtown- lots of stores and restaurants down the street. The staff at the hotel- every single person I met were super nice and helpful. I booked through JetBlue vacations. We weren’t sure about the double queen beds and were given a single bed but the staff member gave us two beds after seeing our confirmation email. The hotel has great A/C! And I lived the tv that allowed me to cast shows from my app. There was a continental breakfast with muffins, bagels, cream cheese, yogurt and cereals and oatmeals. They had a great spigot machine that gave fresh water, bubbly water and hot water too! My only negative comment is that there was quite a bit of noise construction coming from downstairs a couple of the days we weee there. Oh yeah, lots of police sirens as it is next door to a detention facility. But that also meant I felt safer coming home later at night. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Nu Hotel. My son used their gym twice- I personally did not but he said it was a decent gym.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Thank you for choosing Nu Hotel and for your perfect rating. We are delighted to learn that you and your son enjoyed our location which was perfect for your plans combined with the exceptional service provided by our devoted staff and the accommodations. We appreciate you for highlighting your breakfast experience. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are looking forward to your next stay. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
Troutwink wrote a review Jun 2022
Richmond, Virginia13 contributions2 helpful votes
For the price you can find a hotels in the area with a more welcoming staff and better quality rooms. I don't think I saw a smile the whole time I was there, of course I rarely saw staff presence at all. Location is good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Troutwink, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We were disappointed to read our accommodations and service delivered by our team did not provide the value for which you were hoping. As with most cities, certain times of the year are busier and command higher rates; however, we make every effort to be priced competitively. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to do so again soon. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
Christine P wrote a review Jun 2022
Brisbane, Australia136 contributions14 helpful votes
Selected this hotel based on location and personal recommendation. It’s clean, comfortable and welcoming to guests. Good room size. Efficient checking and checkout. Excellent central location with great access to restaurants, shops and beautiful neighbourhood streets
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded Jun 12, 2022
Christine, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Nu Hotel. It is excellent to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed our friendly staff, fantastic accommodations, and great location. Thank you for recommending us to future guests. It was our pleasure hosting your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
LeCharlesbourgeois wrote a review Jun 2022
Quebec, Canada578 contributions122 helpful votes
This hotel was not too far from subway stations, so it was easy to move in from Brooklyn to Manatthan. The bedroom was spacious, the bed comfortable, we slept well three of the four nights we stayed there, because on the last one, a fire alarm was triggered at midnight, probably by one of the guests, who wanted to smoke pot in his room... The breakfast was minimal (cereals, yogourt, juice, bagels, muffins), but it did the job. There where four bicycles we could borrow for the day and we enjoyed that very much (they offered helmets with them). They were not brand new, but they were comfortable, they even repaired a faulty kickstand when we mentioned the problem.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at NU Hotel
Responded Jun 6, 2022
LeCharlesbourgeois, thank you for choosing Nu Hotel and for the kind remarks. We are pleased to read you loved our convenient location, well-appointed rooms, and enjoyed the facilities we provide. However, we apologize that you had to experience the fire alarms sounding in the middle of the night, disturbing your evening. We value your patience in this matter. We look forward to you joining us again soon. Best Regards, Ari Grossman General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$210 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nu hotel brooklyn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBrooklynBoerum Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about NU Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to NU Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Brooklyn Tabernacle (0.2 miles), New York Transit Museum (0.1 miles), and Sahadi's (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at NU Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at NU Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at NU Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at NU Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to NU Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sottocasa Pizzeria, Queen Italian Restaurant, and Shake Shack Downtown Brooklyn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at NU Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is NU Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Brooklyn.
Are any cleaning services offered at NU Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at NU Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at NU Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.