We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Glacier House Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glacier House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 6: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2016

A group of friends amd I stayed here for one night and could not deal with the smell of cat urine. We were scheduled for 2 nights. When we tried to cancel our second evening, the manager asked why and he was told because of the smell. He accused us of bringing the smell into the place and would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bradley B
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, although we were not surprised to see this as it had been threatened if we did not refund their money. Shortly after their late evening arrival my manager let me know that at least one of this group of 10 smelled horribly, from several feet away, and considered asking him to... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

It was basic but comfortable. I stayed for the summer. I'd recommend for fellow travelers looking for a safe place to stay. It was my home for a while and I loved it (I'm not used to sharing living quarters but it was great)

Helpful?
Thank MariaJM1980
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Maria! Alex and I certainly enjoyed your company and you were definitely respectful of the house, if there were a place to review guests we would give you five stars back! GE More 

Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2015

It advertised a room for $17, but when we got there he charged us $30. The $17 rate was for a tent in the back yard. It was very dirty - I have been to about 15 hostels and it is by far the dirtiest for comparable prices. It was also way out of town. If you are walking, it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, I assume you accidentally booked the tent space, as it sounds as though you were taken by surprise; I hope you appreciated the discount we offered you and your brother as a compromise. I have double checked all the booking sites we use to be sure they accurately state the type of reservation and pricing. The price of $30... More 

Fargo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Best sleep I had my entire trip. Host graciously was up late waiting on my post midnight arrival. Being a hostel bath and kitchen are shared but things were clean. May not be the best place for a woman traveling alone if she is not comfortable being surrounded by men in a shared environment.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review! I hope you will stay with us again one day, please let us know, we have a special offer for returning guests! We have expanded since your first visit and I think you would enjoy some of the upgrades we have made, especially the addition of another kitchen and bathroom, both larger and... More 

Ellison Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I've stayed in hostels before so I know better than to expect frills. I booked 2 nights at Glacier House Hostel in Fairbanks, AK on Bookings.com which described it as having a desk that was open 24 hours. The room was called the "Tree House Room" and it said there was a shared bathroom and kitchen. It said the room... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Denise F
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

It does sound like you had a rough night! Our very popular Tree House ordinarily is quite coveted by our guests, so much so that we had to limit the number of consecutive nights to five. My husband and I shared it on our wedding night fifteen years ago, and it is still my favorite place to be on a... More 

Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
759 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I booked a night on airbnb and didn't realize it was a hostel first, but I was not disappointed. The place is very well managed. I was greeted by a very nice host who lives in the building next door, he checked me in and answered all my questions. The place has 2 bedrooms with 2 bunk beds each, a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank heckfy
GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice descriptive review! We have expanded since your first visit, and now have a total of five available sleeping rooms, enabling us to offer a private room option. We also added another kitchen and bath/shower room, both larger and nicer than the originals; the originals do indeed still function well but we are of course... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
5.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
919 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
1.3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Glacier House Hostel

Address: 535 Glacier Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3724
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Price Range: $18 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Glacier House Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glacier House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't go here - go to 9th ave. Hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles E7567NOdans, Sep 16, 2015 | Read review
“Don't book the "Tree House Room"!”
 of 5 bubbles 730denisef, Aug 11, 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question