We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
9/3/2017 9/4/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Glacier House Hostel

    535 Glacier Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-3724
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    9/3/2017 9/4/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    $36
    View Deal
    Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
    451 reviews
    #6 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Bridgewater Hotel
    211 reviews
    #12 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    River's Edge Resort
    334 reviews
    #8 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
    795 reviews
    #10 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
    451 reviews
    #6 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Bridgewater Hotel
    211 reviews
    #12 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    River's Edge Resort
    334 reviews
    #8 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
    795 reviews
    #10 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (6)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 6 reviews

    Reviewed October 22, 2016

    A group of friends amd I stayed here for one night and could not deal with the smell of cat urine. We were scheduled for 2 nights. When we tried to cancel our second evening, the manager asked why and he was told because of...More

    2  Thank Bradley B
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded October 26, 2016

    It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, although we were not surprised to see this as it had been threatened if we did not refund their money. Shortly after their late evening arrival my manager let me know that at least one of...More

    Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

    It was basic but comfortable. I stayed for the summer. I'd recommend for fellow travelers looking for a safe place to stay. It was my home for a while and I loved it (I'm not used to sharing living quarters but it was great)

    Thank MariaJM1980
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded October 23, 2016

    Thank you Maria! Alex and I certainly enjoyed your company and you were definitely respectful of the house, if there were a place to review guests we would give you five stars back! GE

    Reviewed September 16, 2015

    It advertised a room for $17, but when we got there he charged us $30. The $17 rate was for a tent in the back yard. It was very dirty - I have been to about 15 hostels and it is by far the dirtiest...More

    2  Thank Dan S
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded March 21, 2016

    Hello, I assume you accidentally booked the tent space, as it sounds as though you were taken by surprise; I hope you appreciated the discount we offered you and your brother as a compromise. I have double checked all the booking sites we use to...More

    Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

    Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Best sleep I had my entire trip. Host graciously was up late waiting on my post midnight arrival. Being a hostel bath and kitchen are shared but things were clean. May not be the best place for a woman...More

    1  Thank Anna B
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded March 21, 2016

    Thank you for your very nice review! I hope you will stay with us again one day, please let us know, we have a special offer for returning guests! We have expanded since your first visit and I think you would enjoy some of the...More

    Reviewed August 11, 2014

    I've stayed in hostels before so I know better than to expect frills. I booked 2 nights at Glacier House Hostel in Fairbanks, AK on Bookings.com which described it as having a desk that was open 24 hours. The room was called the "Tree House...More

    4  Thank Denise F
    Response from GayEllen, Owner at Glacier House HostelResponded March 21, 2016

    It does sound like you had a rough night! Our very popular Tree House ordinarily is quite coveted by our guests, so much so that we had to limit the number of consecutive nights to five. My husband and I shared it on our wedding...More

    Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
    451 reviews
    #6 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Bridgewater Hotel
    211 reviews
    #12 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    River's Edge Resort
    334 reviews
    #8 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
    795 reviews
    #10 of 23 hotels in Fairbanks
     
    About
    Details
    • Price range
    • $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Glacier House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Alaska >
    • Fairbanks
    • Also Known As
    • Glacier House Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
    795 reviews
    1.28 miles away
     
    Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
    451 reviews
    2.95 miles away
     
    Bridgewater Hotel
    211 reviews
    1.63 miles away
     
    River's Edge Resort
    334 reviews
    5.00 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Food Court
    8 reviews
    .48 miles away
    Ajimi
    67 reviews
    .78 miles away
    Chowder House
    158 reviews
    .88 miles away
    Blue Roof Bistro
    19 reviews
    .98 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Lavelle's Taphouse
    30 reviews
    1.37 miles away
    Morris Thompson Cultural & Visitors Center
    1,127 reviews
    1.27 miles away
    Fairbanks Ice Museum
    213 reviews
    1.42 miles away
    Angel Rocks Trail
    75 reviews
    .51 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Glacier House Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Don't go here - go to 9th ave. Hostel."
    Read review
    "Don't book the "Tree House Room"!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing