We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Beacon Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Beacon Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beacon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The room was very dirty and noisy. Hotel staff took towels one morning without replacing any of them. I blew a fuse as soon as I turned on the provided hair dryer. Gross continental breakfast and advertised wifi was not functional. Room was so cold at night that I couldn't sleep and there was no thermostat available for temperature control.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Abby F
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had tickets to an event at Fenway Park in Boston on New Years Eve. Last minute I decided to get a hotel to avoid driving that night. The day before Nears Eve, I could not find anything under $200 (obviously). I stumbled across the Beacon Inn, located directly on the T, two stops from Boston and a 10 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaMae M
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We won't be back to the Beacon Inn (1087). In Nov 2013, my husband and I visited Boston and stayed three nights at this inn. It seemed cool at first to be staying in a real Boston brownstone. The character and quaintness quickly wore off starting our first night. Unfortunately, we did not go far enough in reviewing others' reviews... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank C L
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review

The Beacon Inn prides itself on being able to keep the charm and warmth associated to a private home or brownstone while away on travel. We are happy you appreciated the “character” and “quaintness” we strive to maintain. We however would like to directly address the other concerns identified in this review. There is a full time housekeeping staff onsite... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brookline hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed at the Beacon Inn for a week from 14th to 21st October and loved it! A long trip to Boston from Auckland New Zealand! After a slight hiccup re my room the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was fine. Exactly what it states on the website. Location was wonderful with a supermarket across the street &... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The first night we stayed in the Isabella Stewart Gardner Room and the second and third nights we stayed in the Symphony Room. I checked very thoroughly and did not find any bed bugs as I have read in previous comments. The rooms were semi-clean...not spotless but not grungy either. The staff was friendly and breakfast was fine. They don't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I reserved a parking space and was informed that i MUST park within the yellow lines or my car would be towed. My rental car didn't fit so I parked elsewhere. The parking fee was NOT refunded even though I was told it would be if the car didn't fit. I will not waste my hard earned money here again.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca g
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The building is very old and squeeky, almost haunted looking. The breakfast consists of cereal and toast. But Kenmore Square is a short walk away with restaurants and take-out places. But I booked a non-smoking room, and got a room reeking of old sigarettes. It was actually pretty disgusting. The only positive side of my stay was the helpful receptionist,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liillyy
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review

We were glad our front desk could be of service to this guest throughout her stay, however there are some serious misrepresentations in this review that we would like to clarify. The Beacon Inn is a historic Boston brownstone built in the late 1800s. Our building features beautiful original woodwork and period details such as wide-plank hardwood floors and ornamental... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the beacon inn this past week. Let me tell you my stay was amazing! First off the hostess Andrea was the nicest lady in the world, helped me with directions around town, my room and anything I needed. Best hostess I've ever dealt with!! The rooms were really nice, great location in town, very clean and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrobbins1
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to see you again! Our hosts are always happy to provide directions, restaurant recommendations, and more for our guests. More 

Bilbao, España
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place was good, the room was big and very comfortable, with a fridge where you could store some food or beverages. The staff was very nice and helpful. There're two locations for Beacon Inn, be sure to book the right one. The I choose, 1087 Beacon St is just in front of the Tube (T), so it's very easy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nebulus2k
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We hope you think of us again if you return to the area. As far as our parking, we do offer limited spaces at both locations and we simply ask that our guests call in advance to reserve a spot and we will always do our best to accommodate your needs! More 

Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On a whim we stayed at the Beacon Inn. Ali was very accommodating and helpful. I love the old character of the brownstone style and the Inn has that. Our room was spacious, comfy and clean:) one thing that upset me was the tenant in the next room was very loud coming in at 12:30-12:45AM. There are wood floors in... More 

Helpful?
Thank C H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#18 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,883 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Beacon Inn

Address: 1087 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-5610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Price Range: $144 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn Hotel Brookline
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay