We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
124 E Bay St at Factor's Walk across from Bay Street / Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$269
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$305
View deal
Expedia.com$269
Official Hotel$298
Traveluro$385
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (366)
360
Panoramas (13)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 128 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on world famous River Street. Many rooms are decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just blocks from downtown Broughton Street shopping district & City Market, cars aren't needed, as all is within walking distance; Valet Parking is available. With four restaurants on property (guest are offered a discount) located within the building are many shops, guests don't have to venture far! Sight seeing trolleys pick up / drop off in front of our hotel and the Savannah River boat is docked across from our property.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Evening entertainment
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
24-hour security
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
768Reviews26Q+A73Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 598
  • 88
  • 34
  • 32
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary Ellen K wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
Staying at the River Street Inn. Fantastic service for Valet for the car and bringing our bags to the room and giving us info on the local area by Ricky Ricardo. He was fabulous and hope everyone is greeted by him. Such an asset to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Cindy C wrote a review Sep 2020
Jacksonville, Florida, United States25 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
First, let me say that we are Marriott people. We have stayed at just a few boutique hotels but never one that we enjoyed as much as this one. We had originally booked two rooms at the Marriott on the riverfront and after reading the reviews quickly cancelled! They apparently have really let that place go down. We were looking for a nice place to meet our son and new daughter-in-law for a weekend visit while they were on their honeymoon. The River Street Inn did not disappoint! The rooms (we stayed on the riverfront) were beautiful, the bedding was top of the line and the location was great. What made the stay five stars though was the people who work at this outstanding small hotel. Wally checked us in at the front desk and was so polite. Ashley who I had spoken with before our visit acknowledged our phone call and caught Wally up to speed on exactly what we needed. She went out of her way both days that we were there to be sure we were all taken care of. Then there was Val who worked the wine room in the evenings...she was fabulous. She put out a nice spread, kept our cups full and provided the best entertainment! If you are looking for an experience, rather than just a stay, definitely give River Street a try!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Rosa, General Manager at River Street Inn
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We truly appreciate the accolades fir Wally, Ashley and Val. We will pass along your compliments to them. We look forward to your next visit to the Savannah area.
Read more
Scott Z wrote a review Oct 24
1 contribution
We got to experience Ms Val on her Birthday. She is a firecracker with quick wit and great props as she plays dj and karaoke 🎤 host. Can't wait to come back to Savanah and stay here again. River street is amazing
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Rosa, General Manager at River Street Inn
Responded 3 days ago
We appreciate you taking a moment to provide us with your feedback. We will pass along to Ms. Val your compliments on a job well done. She is certainly a great asset to the property and we look forward to your future stay.
Read more
Annette0968 wrote a review Oct 23
Green Bay, Wisconsin1 contribution
We had a room overlooking the river. View was beautiful. Room smelled very musty - but the hotel is over 200 years old. The price to stay was very expensive. Be prepared to pay destination fees and a 6% hotel tax on top of their 7% sales tax. No daily room service. Have to make an appt to get your room cleaned. Then they only replaced towels. They did not clean. Disappointed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Rosa, General Manager at River Street Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your feedback and your concerns regarding stayover service. At this time we are not providing daily service to rooms, however if requested by guests we will do a light service, which would include changing out towels, amenities, empty trash, and making beds, no linen change. If this was missed I certainly do apologize and will follow up with my Housekeeping team to ensure that this service is being done properly. We do hope that in light of this situation you allow us another opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Read more
Pam M-Q wrote a review Oct 22
2 contributions
This is a beautiful historic hotel in the heart of Savannah. Everything within walking distance. I wouldn’t stay any place else. Savannah is a beautiful city and River Street Inn is a special place to stay. We will recommend to all our friends. We especially enjoyed bartender Val!! She was so friendly; treated us like family. She made recommendations about drinks and what to see around town. Love her ❤️. We would come back just to have her take care of us. She is a hidden gem and River Street Inn is lucky to have her.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you select a good location, it is best to park your car and walk everywhere.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Rosa, General Manager at River Street Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting the Savannah area. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was above and beyond all expectations. We look forward to your return visit.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
river street savannah, river street hotel savannah, river street inn savannah ga
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannah
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about River Street Inn
Which popular attractions are close to River Street Inn?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.2 miles), Savannah Supernatural Tours (0.2 miles), and Savannah Bee Company (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at River Street Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and a business center.
Which room amenities are available at River Street Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at River Street Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at River Street Inn?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to River Street Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, Leopold's Ice Cream, and Jazz'd Tapas Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at River Street Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is River Street Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Savannah.
Does River Street Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at River Street Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to River Street Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.7 miles), Sorrel Weed House (0.5 miles), and Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home (0.6 miles).