We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
15 E Liberty St, Savannah, GA 31401-3920
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (275)
360
Panoramas (15)
Videos (2)

About

#36 of 124 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the Historic District, The DeSoto reigns as “Savannah’s hotel.” She is a beloved landmark that has played a gracious hostess to presidents, celebrities and visitors since 1890. Treasured period details, including original crystal chandeliers and terracotta tiles, mix seamlessly with contemporary art, creating a thoughtful juxtaposition between history and modern-day style. When you stay at The DeSoto, you're within walking distance of so many famous attractions including Forsyth Park, River Street and City Market. You'll love the view over beautiful Madison Square from our rooftop pool and patio. Dine in one of two on-site chef-driven restaurants (Proof & Provision or 1540 Room). With over 20,000 sq. feet, our meeting and event space features panoramic views of the city, perfect for any gathering, business event or wedding reception.
Read more
Room & Suite (308)308
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
831Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 473
  • 177
  • 97
  • 44
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SpeaksTruth wrote a review Yesterday
Naples, Florida6 contributions
From the moment we pulled up I should’ve known it was going to be bad. The valets/bellhops were standing around doing nothing and didn’t offer help. We went to our room to find it not ready at all; trash all over, bed Unmade, water on floor, etc. The next room was not much better; filthy bed with hair and dirt and only two towels. Paid extra for a city view with balcony that was covered in wet slimy mold. No hospitality and a big waste of money. Please for your sake look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Scott M wrote a review Oct 25
1 contribution
Very beautuful hotel and the staff is very professional. The pool is beautiful. Very well lit at night. The bar is cozy and the live music was exquisite. Definitely will return. Food was also very tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Other at The DeSoto
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review! We especially want to thank you for acknowledging our professional, friendly staff. Our goal is to make your stay as successful as possible and to assist you with whatever needs you have during your travels, so we are glad we accomplished that during your visit. We also appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our lovely pool, delicious food, and live music at the bar. Thank you once more for staying at The DeSoto Savannah, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards, Jay Wiendl Managing Director
Read more
Jillian wrote a review Oct 24
7 contributions6 helpful votes
I had an absolutely horrible experience at the DeSoto last night. My boyfriend and I were sleeping and all the sudden at 3am the top to the glass table in the room exploded. There was glass everywhere and my boyfriend cut his foot. I googled how this could possibly happen and it has to do with material that might be in the glass. The hotel was not helpful at all. They sent up someone to clean. He was super nice but it was clearly the middle of the night and the best solution would have been to give us a different room. They claimed they didn't have any and didn't offer any change in cost for the night. I do not recommend this place to anyone and will never be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Other at The DeSoto
Responded 2 days ago
Jillian S., First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. As you may imagine, I am extremely concerned by the table shattering on it’s own, and hope to learn more details so we may share with the manufacturer. Thank you for sharing that our team was quick to respond to clean up the glass, and please know, our first step would have been to move your room, but we were sold out for the evening. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. I am certain, given the chance, we can regain your confidence in The DeSoto. We hope to remain your destination of choice for all of your future visits to our beautiful city. Warm regards, Jay Wiendl Managing Director
Read more
honupatrol wrote a review Oct 19
Simi Valley, CA12 contributions4 helpful votes
The valets were awesome. That was the highlight. Was not aware when booking that only suites have a coffee maker. There is no fridge or microwave. They only gave us 1 washcloth and 1 hand towel for a double Queen room. Only two towels and no soap to wash your hands. We didn’t know this until 11pm when we went to our room. Tried calling for soap and towels and there was no answer to housekeeping and was put on hold at the front desk and no one came back on. We just wanted to go to bed at that point. Someone else’s hair on the pillows and under the sheet. When changing the toilet paper, someone’s medicine was behind the roll. If I had kids in that room, that could have been dangerous. And we couldn’t use the tub as the stopper was busted off. The wait going up to our room and downstairs too was a joke. The girls at the coffee place downstairs were nice and made a great cup of coffee. There was definitely maintenance that needs to be done, and if you aren’t going to remodel the bathrooms to match the rooms, at least make sure they’re clean.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Other at The DeSoto
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit. We sincerely apologize for any mistakes made when servicing your room and for our lack of responsiveness while you were here. We are continually striving to improve our services, and we appreciate your feedback. On a positive note, we are glad you found our valet attendants extremely courteous. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the outstanding stay you deserve the next time you are in the area. Warm regards, Jay Wiendl Managing Director
Read more
Caroline B wrote a review Oct 18
Aix-en-Provence, France74 contributions16 helpful votes
Really nice pool area. It's amazing to get such a nice pool area in a town. Don't miss it at least for a drink. The rooms have been refurbished with hardwood floor. Looked clean. But pillows are far too thick, bathrooms refurbishment were skipped. Elevator door frames are ready for retirement. Our room was adjacent the elevators cage. We were hearing them going up and down: Definitively not a good pick. The worse part of this hotel is the service. Employees have not been trained to understand Customer expectations. Not ready to listen to Customer requests . Nice hotel when other hotels don't have any availability. FYI parking in streets is free during WE and from 08:00PM to 05:00AM
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Pool view far from elevators
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Other at The DeSoto
Responded 1 week ago
Caroline, thank you for the kind comments regarding our pool area! We also appreciate knowing how much you enjoyed our modern and clean accommodations. However, we apologize for the problem you experienced with our staff. Exceptional service is our top priority; therefore, we genuinely regret the frustration this caused, and it will be addressed appropriately. We are also sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise. Should you stay with us again, please request a room away from the elevator, and we will do our best to honor your request. Furthermore, we thank you for your specific feedback regarding the bathroom. We value your business and hope you will stay with us again for a more gratifying experience. Warm regards, Jay Wiendl Managing Director
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton savannah desoto hotel savannah, hilton hotel savannah desoto, hilton desoto savannah, savannah hilton
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahHistoric District - North / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
246
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The DeSoto
Which popular attractions are close to The DeSoto?
Nearby attractions include SCADstory (0.1 miles), Cathedral of St. John the Baptist (0.1 miles), and Spooky Savannah Ghost Tours (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The DeSoto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The DeSoto?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The DeSoto?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The DeSoto?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The DeSoto?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe's At The Jepson, Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room, and Savannah Coffee Roasters.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The DeSoto?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The DeSoto located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Savannah.
Are any cleaning services offered at The DeSoto?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The DeSoto offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The DeSoto?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.4 miles), Sorrel Weed House (0.07 miles), and Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home (0.1 miles).