We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forsyth Park Inn

Save
Share
102 W Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5519
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$185
View Deal
Agoda.com$185
Hotels.com$185
FindHotel$185
CheapTickets$185
Priceline$185
Orbitz.com$185
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (503)
Room & Suite (97)
Dining (40)

About

#9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Forsyth Park Inn is an authentic bed and breakfast and one of the grandest mansions overlooking Savannah's premier park, Forsyth Park. The Forsyth Park Inn is famous for it's bountiful and delicious full breakfasts, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon and tasty sweets, fresh brewed coffee and refreshing tea each evening. Please come and relax in this circa 1893 historic inn and view the opulent park with the most majestic (and famous) fountain in all of historic Savannah. You will take with you memories of a truly magical stay. We are a non-smoking inn and our cottage welcomes pets.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
819Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 614
  • 148
  • 26
  • 18
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Macpam wrote a review Sep 14
9 contributions
Great room in a lovely mansion overlooking the loveliest park in Savannah. It’s just a short walk to downtown and since walking is what you want to do in this beautiful town, it’s just perfect. My only complaint is that it was probably, the worst breakfast I’ve ever had at a B&B. I’ve had way better free hotel breakfasts than what we were served here. However, the staff was friendly and helpful and the room was huge and lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Anne wrote a review Sep 10
16 contributions
+1
We booked 4 nights at the Forsyth Park Inn for our anniversary. I love Bed and Breakfasts and was excited to visit Savannah for the first time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and helped us navigate our way through the city. The breakfast each day was wonderful and one of the best B+B’s just for the food alone. They also serve nightly dessert and coffee, which is cool in itself. You have to schedule a breakfast time, which can be a little inconvenient at times, but not horrible. You essentially have 30 minutes to enjoy your breakfast and sip coffee on the porch before other couples come for their time. We stayed in a king suite. It was very roomy, but the bathroom was small and the claw tub/shower combo with no shelving or Shower walls did not make showering very comfortable. Although I appreciate the “old feel”, there were many things that could have used some TLC and maybe some extra cleaning (sofa, chair, floors, etc). Over all, we enjoyed it and being across from the park was a plus due to the quietness. We shortened our stay by 1 night and would only suggest staying 2-3 nights here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Angelina Noble wrote a review Sep 8
1 contribution
This is my honest review of the Forsyth Park Inn. I have to say I was so excited that I was able to secure the cottage for myself and my family for our stay in Savannah. I had another hotel booked but when this came open I jumped because I had friends who got married there and said how absolutely beautiful it was and while at first it does look beautiful, unfortunately they have let it go over the years and while it all may be an antique home......it's completely filthy which antique does not need to be dirty which was so disappointing!!!! I booked the cottage for myself, my husband and my two boys and while they provided a roll away bed my son would have been better off sleeping on the floor except there were a few tiny worms on the floor and the only reason I realized that they were there was because of the popping sounds they made when I walked around the front living room area near the door. I'm sure they will say " well it's an old house and your in the hot south where there is bound to be bugs " however if they truly cleaned up the cottage before our stay they would have been able to pick that up before we got there. There is absolutely no comfortable place to sit on or lay down as everything is older than dirt everything feels as hard as a rock. We decided to stay here because I wanted to give my kids the bed and breakfast experience that my husband and I had two years back at another B&B and the Forsyth Park Inn advised that they provided a nightly dessert hour and it was so awesome that they provided a dessert and tea/coffee but I was appalled at the quality of what they put out for the guests........it was called "cheesecake" but it was truly store bought graham cracker crust with what looked like cheesecake flavored whipped cream and such a let down and not the best hygienic wise.....I would have thought they would have done individual wrapped items due to COVID-19!!!!! After that we decided to head back to the cottage to sleep and I wanted my children to shower before they went to sleep and I checked the towels before they went in and the towels smelled of wet mold.....the smell you get from a moldy sponge!!!!!! At that point we were so tired we just tried to sleep however between the awful awful beds and the feeling like something was going to crawl on my face we got next to no sleep. From seeing what kind of food they put out the night before we decided to get up super early and mind you at the time we got up there should have been people in the house prepping for the first breakfast to make sure it was up to the standards they claim on their website however there was absolutely no one there so we pass on their breakfast because I just didn't trust it would be anything safe or edible. I'm truly disappointed with the Forsyth Park Inn because I had such high hopes!!!! I just hope they take this review and use it to remodel that filthy uncomfortable cottage.......I'm hoping the inside of the main house is at least better than what we experienced but at this point I doubt it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't EVER stay in the cottage!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from John Harrison, Owner at Forsyth Park Inn
Responded 1 week ago
I can guarantee that there were no worms on the floor of our Cottage. That is flagrantly inaccurate. We wash our towels and would have been happy to get you a new set if you felt there was a problem with the ones in the room. We provide an emergency number at night for this reason. I'm sorry you've had this experience, it's hard to tell what you're referring to due to the nature of this review. The Cottage has a mix of period pieces and modern furniture, so there's not all these terrible antiques you seem to refer to. We will review the times you've mentioned here to try to create a better stay for our future guests.
Read more
chevaf8b wrote a review Aug 2020
St. Petersburg, Florida176 contributions99 helpful votes
+1
This bed and breakfast is in a beautiful location set in an incredibly well appointed historical mansion. The potential for a 5 star stay is just within reach. However, I get the impression that either the owner/manager may not care, may not have the attention to detail it takes to run a B&B, or they have just run out of money too keep the place up to par as there seemed to be a lot of cut corners. Upon arrival, the first thing you notice is the lack of upkeep externally to the property. A new paint job or power washing could do this place some real good. This was quickly forgotten as we walked in to the lobby, the home was very impressive. Original wood floors, huge wooden doors, original stair case, along with nautical decor giving a nod to the previous owner who was an accomplished sailor. That’s when things took a turn for the worse. We were then escorted to our room... room 10. Buyer beware! Rooms 10 and 11 are advised as being “ground level” which we quickly learned in Savannah actually means, “the basement.” We were led down to the “basement” through a dirty hallway used for storage, down a small dark staircase which hadn’t been vacuumed in who knows how long, past the laundry room, maintenance room, and employee break room to room 10. The champagne had definitely lost its fizz... very quickly. The room was dark, the white doors were covered in black smudges, the a/c was dripping on the wood floors, there was broken glass on the bathroom floor, peeling paint on the ceiling, and the advertised “view of the park” was a dirty window with wood planks layered in front as a dump site for extra building materials including untrimmed bushes which made the view... less than appealing. The bathroom was very dirty in the corners and floor. We were given two paper thin bathroom towels and no bottled water... again, as advertised. As far as the food goes, we did not stay for wine and dessert hour but were told there was no wine anymore... just decaf coffee. The breakfast was disappointing to say the least. They had coffee, Juice, cereal and yogurt out but the serving table was disgusting.... very dirty. Don’t these people own cleaning supplies? I know they did because I had to walk by their dirty storage room every time I went to my room. Eating breakfast on the beautiful porch was probably my favorite part of the trip. It overlooks the park and makes for a very authentic, relaxing place to spend time. They served us three pancakes and some old disgusting looking fruit. No seconds... no substitutions, just three pancakes... far from other B&B experiences I’ve had. Oh, and the lady who served the food to us was NOT wearing a mask... very disappointing as we were warned there would be a $500 fine if we did not wear ours. Sleep quality was poor as the floors are very creaky. It has crossed the line from charming old floors to annoying when trying to sleep. Being in the basement means you get to hear EVERY step taken by other guests and employees. Street traffic is also very loud. The bed, I thought, was pretty comfortable overall. I noticed in reviews I had read before my stay, that some of the things I was unhappy about, were also noticed by other guests.... years and years ago. Obviously the owner/manager just does not take these comments/criticisms seriously to make the property better and guest experience more inviting. Overall, I would not return to this property unless huge changes were made. I would definitely not recommend staying in rooms 10 or 11 as these rooms were added just to make extra money, not for guest enjoyment or comfort. These rooms are equivalent to an Econo Lodge stay and not B&B worthy accommodations. They should be considerably less money than the other rooms and advertised correctly. I do believe this could be an amazing place if given the love and attention it deserves.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Russell Harrison, Owner at Forsyth Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. We are saddened to hear the comments about your experience. We are disappointed that you were not pleased with so many aspect s of your stay. We apologize for the state of the room and conditions of areas leading to your room. As I stated in a previous review response, we just received an order for all new linens and towels. We have discarded any items that were not up to snuff. Your room is located directly below one of our family guest rooms. If the guest above you were to loud, we do apologize for the inconvenience. The street noise is something that we can not control. We installed plexi-glass to the windows to cut down some of the street noise. The dirt in the window sill is dirt that is trapped between the window and the plexi-glass (can not get to it without tearing out the plexi-glass). All other items you have mentioned have been taken up with the staff. We thank you for bringing these shortcomings to our attention. We hope that will be willing to give us another chance in the future. Again, we deeply apologize.
Read more
Hannah B wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
We absolutely loved our stay at Forsyth Park Inn. We loved the location and the home itself. It has such charm. However, the best part of our stay was the service! Dwayne made us feel so welcome and went out of his way to help us find things to do in our quick stay. Finally, the cherry on top was the great evening dessert and scrumptious breakfast. Will be coming back for another visit soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Russell Harrison, Owner at Forsyth Park Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank You! Always refreshing to hear that guest not only enjoyed the house but the staff as well. Thank you again for your feedback
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
forsyth park hotel savannah
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Forsyth Park Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Forsyth Park Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mickve Israel Temple (0.2 miles), Forsyth Park (0.3 miles), and Ralph Mark Gilbert Civil Rights Museum Inc. (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Forsyth Park Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Forsyth Park Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Forsyth Park Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Forsyth Park Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room, Betty Bombers, and Sentient Bean.
Is Forsyth Park Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Savannah.
Are pets allowed at Forsyth Park Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Forsyth Park Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.5 miles), Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home (0.4 miles), and Sorrel Weed House (0.4 miles).
Does Forsyth Park Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.