We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah

Save
Share
5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!🍳 BREAKFAST, 🍷WINE & 📶 WIFI INCLUDED
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$259
Travelocity$259
Hotels.com$259
Priceline$259
Trip.com$315
Orbitz.com$259
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (699)
360
Panoramas (7)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 01/10/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Updated 01/10/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 128 in Savannah
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Adults only
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:🍳 BREAKFAST, 🍷WINE & 📶 WIFI INCLUDED
2284Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,852
  • 267
  • 98
  • 50
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
bbarry3669 wrote a review May 19
Cleveland, Ohio1 contribution
staff were excellent, breakfast extraodinany. the location could not have been any better. it was an easy walk to see just about any of the popular sights in savannah. the choices for dinner and drinks was endless. one was always better than the last.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your review, bbarry3669! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like we hit all the right stops to make your stay wonderful! We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Laurie B wrote a review Oct 2020
Oregon, Illinois23 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
My friend and I stayed at the Eliza Thompson House on our first visit to Savannah. We both wanted old, quaint, beautiful, and clean, and this place didn't disappoint. Our room was so nice and very roomy. The staff were extremely nice and very helpful. The food was great and the wine and snacks is such a nice touch and terrific for mingling with other guests. The courtyard where breakfast is was so pretty. It is in the historic district and the street was quiet. Would highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from concierge eliza thompson house, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded Oct 9, 2020
laurieB438: thank you for the wonderful review, we appreciate it when guests tell others of their stay. Sounds like you got to enjoy all things the Eliza Thompson House has to offer, and we are so happy that you did. We can't wait to see you again the next time you can get to Savannah. Our doors are always open. Take care and have a wonderful day.
Read more
malvar760336 wrote a review May 16
Tampa, Florida1 contribution
I wasn’t crazy about how old the room felt but beds were comfortable. The courtyard they serve breakfast was beautiful and staff super friendly. Parking stunk, we had to park a couple blocks away. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your review, malvar760336! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
hendersonak wrote a review May 16
Birmingham, Alabama1 contribution
This bed-and-breakfast is in a quiet part of town, but we were able to walk to everything in 10 minutes or less. The wine and dessert receptions were lovely (and saved us money), and the concierges were very helpful. I wish we had relied on them more.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your review, hendersonak! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We too love our quiet and beautiful location on Jones Street, there is truly nothing else like it! I'm so glad we were able to help you save some money and get full before you headed our for dinner with our wine and hors d'oeuvres! We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Mike H wrote a review May 15
2 contributions
We have stayed at ETH multiple times over the past 13 years and unlike today's hotels, after all that time the condition of physical facility seems unchanged. (In a good way.) They do an excellent job of maintaining the building property. I'm sure there have been improvements in wireless technology and air conditioning, but the rooms, lobby, and patio seem frozen in time - in a welcoming, comfortable Southern style. The staff is excellent, always helpful and smiling. The breakfasts are by order the night before, the wine and hors d'oeuvres from 5:30-7:00PM is a chance to visit with other travelers, and the Port wine and dessert from 8:00 to 9:00 might run a bit longer into the evening. The location is great, it's just north of Forsythe Park in the southern end of the Historic District. Park your car on the street for a $15.00/day fee and just walk, uber, tour trolley or bicycle rickshaw everywhere. It's a 15 minute walk north to the river and maybe 10 minutes east to west. The trolley has 15 different stops and you can get on or off all day at any of the stops, $40/day per person. For first time visitors, taking a guided round trip will help you get oriented to the city. You need to make dinner reservations the day before or more, as although there are many restaurants, by noon they are usually booked for the evening in season.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your review, Mike H! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It truly is such an honor to continue to welcome you back home time and time again in the past 13 years. Guests like you let us know that we are truly doing something right! Your review is also really helpful for potential guests in highlighting our food offerings, location, parking info, and more, so thank you for being so helpful! We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
abeck504 wrote a review May 11
Phoenix, Arizona4 contributions2 helpful votes
Location excellent. Easy to walk everywhere. Accommodations need a refresh. Bathroom really tiny and needs updating. Courtyard for dining is lovely. Breakfast average quality. The staff is friendly and helpful
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your review, abeck504! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working on getting those rooms and our courtyard updated in the near future to better serve our guests and to amplify the guest experience. We will certainly take your feedback into account when that happens. We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
KitchnQ wrote a review May 9
PA75 contributions63 helpful votes
Yes, location was terrific. Anticipated the creative, food & beverage we've received at similar historic inns. Disappointed here. Very slow breakfast service even though menu selections were submitted the night before. Dated bathroom and very small. Furnishings could be updated and "garden area" was unswept for quite some time, contributing to a dirty look. Would recommend cushions on all of the garden furniture all the time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review, KitchnQ. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. We thank you for staying with us, but apologize it wasn't up to your expectations. While we do ask you to fill out your breakfast menu the night before, we like to try our best to emphasize that it is a fresh-prepared breakfast and not previously made. Once you seat yourself for breakfast at the time you selected, our chef then starts cooking and preparing your order. I apologize that the service was slow, but I do sincerely hope that you still enjoyed the food. We are working on getting our rooms and our courtyard updated in the near future to better serve our guests and to amplify the guest experience. We will certainly take your feedback into account when that happens. We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
dmikowski57 wrote a review May 8
1 contribution
Lovely property in an amazing location!! Would be great if they could invest in some deep cleaning throughout the property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and their attention to detail. Little things to personalize our stay was awesome!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your review, dmikowski57! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Franciine17 wrote a review May 8
New York City, New York7 contributions1 helpful vote
The first time I visited I was delighted about everything, the room, the breakfast. ( A few years ago.) This last visit was unremarkable, and I felt it was over priced for the quality of the stay. I think the location of the room may make a difference. The first "delightful" time was in the Main house, my last visit was in the annex. Things looked a bit worn, and not as clean as I expected. The breakfast should have had a more freshness quality, and more quantity. However, there's a nice courtyard garden to eat in. The house is located perfectly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review, Franciine17. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. We thank you for returning, but apologize it wasn't up to your expectations. There is a difference between our main house rooms, as they are all unique and different, and were original rooms in the home. The rooms in the courtyard are more standard hotel rooms, and we are working on getting those rooms updated in the near future to better serve our guests and to amplify the guest experience. We will certainly take your feedback into account when that happens. We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
RobertO727 wrote a review May 4
Maineville, Ohio25 contributions5 helpful votes
very cozy, well located in historic district, great staff. Thw location was within walking distance of many attractions and sights. Staff very helpful in recommendations. Overall, a nice relaxing stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review, RobertO727! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for asking for some recommendations from our concierge staff! They are always so friendly and knowledgeable and love to share in the beauty of our gorgeous city. We certainly know how to make your time here worthwhile! We hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Kayleigh - Guest Services Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$258 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
eliza thompson house hotel savannah
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah
Which popular attractions are close to Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Nearby attractions include SCADstory (0.06 miles), Cathedral of St. John the Baptist (0.2 miles), and Historic Savannah Theatre (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room, Crystal Beer Parlor, and FraLi Gourmet.
Is Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Savannah.
Are there any historical sites close to Eliza Thompson House, Historic Inns of Savannah?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.4 miles), Sorrel Weed House (0.1 miles), and Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home (0.2 miles).