We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
14 E Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-3707
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$285
View deal
Booking.com$285
Travelocity$285
Hotels.com$285
Priceline$285
Agoda.com$285
Orbitz.com$285
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (375)
Room & Suite (88)
Dining (30)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#9 of 128 in Savannah
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Classical Italiante four stories of elegance. Build in 1838. Elevator to all floors! No stairs to climb. Escape to a romantic boutique hotel steps to everything in the center of the Historic District. Our Savannah GA hotel features self serve coffee and delectable bits with your morning coffee, cocktails beer and wine at the elegant antique bar. Our 4 Diamond Savannah hotel is dedicated to gracious southern service. . Romantic suites, a private elevator and 24-hour surveillance rival the offerings of other Savannah luxury hotels! Charming courtyard dining area for your evening glass of wine or cold beer. Best location in the city restaurants all walkable. Centrallly located to all shops and sites. Bull and Oglethorpe center of the Historic District.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Concierge
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English
1058Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 877
  • 86
  • 37
  • 31
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kamainatraveler wrote a review May 5
Florida182 contributions132 helpful votes
Have mixed feelings about this inn. It does not rank as one of our favorites but it does have some positives. For the prices charged, we expected more. We appreciated the courtesy of one of the parking places but $30 is quite a price to pay for the convenience. Lots of stairs here so if that is a problem, do not choose this inn. Yes, there is a small elevator, but even to reach that, there are several steps. The inn is decorated with a lot of interesting "antique" pieces, photos/paintings etc. There is a comfortable sitting room on the main floor. Room was spacious with good storage, comfortable bed (albeit very high requiring step stool), nice refurbished bath and bath amenities. TV was reasonable size with good channel selection. Inn is conveniently located in the historical district. However, it is on a busy thoroughfare with a fire/rescue station two blocks away. Sirens are very audible in the hotel many times throughout day and night which can be disturbing and traffic noise begins early. Not something inn management can do anything about but something to consider when deciding if you want to stay here. Breakfast is adequate only. It is advertised as "continental" and it is that but below that of many chain hotels. Same items every day; you get to make your own coffee and then carry your selections yourself to either your room, a table in the bar area o,r if you are adventurous, down a long flight of stairs to the patio. Certain of the items included in the on-line description did not match reality. ... "fresh fruit is available all day" We saw the same bruised oranges in the same bowl for 4 days. No other type fruit ever appeared. ... "room overlooks the courtyard" Operative word "OVER". Would have to hang out the window to see courtyard. View was through a tree to the neighboring building. ... "bar is open in the evening" Three of four nights, bar was not open at all after 5PM nor did we ever see any snacks. ... "concierge" is listed as available. Such service was non existent for us. Most times no one was even seated at the reception desk and to get service we had to look around to find a staff person. Three of four nights, no one was around after 5PM. When we asked simple questions such as "where is the best place to get the Savannah trolley tour" and "what is the schedule for the free dot bus", young woman said "I don't know" and instead of saying I will find out for you, she told us to go to the respective internet site without even giving us the site itself. Apparently she does not know what concierge service means. We did not even bother asking her to make any type dining or entertainment reservations. This type of service is far less expected for an inn with these prices. Either " concierge " service should be provided or do not advertise that it is available. Three items for consideration to make stays more comfortable: 1. In today's technologically centered environment, people carry multiple devices that need charging. Outlets in rooms are limited; most already have items plugged into them. Providing a multiple charging port would make it a lot easier for guests to charge devices. It could be separate placed near television or one that is part of the alarm clock. 2. Toilet seats need to fit the toilet properly. Loose ones like ours are uncomfortable and even hazardous. 3. Replace the peeling coasters! These are quite inexpensive and easily replaced. This may seem minor but who wants paper peels all over one's hands whenever one picks up the glass. We have tried to be fair in this evaluations citing both positive and negatives of our experience and constructive suggestions. We are well traveled in the USA and abroad so have a good basis for comparison and ratings.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to post your opinionated review of our lovely inn. It seems that you have taken issue with certain items at our establishment and upon reading this review, I can say that you have certainly elaborated quite a bit to get your opinion across. The specific amenities that you say we advertise are just not true at all and I personally spoke with you every night that you were here, aside from my days off and I personally served you at the bar. So there were staff members here to take care of guests and yes that includes you. Your complaints seem to stem from you not liking the answers or assistance that myself or the other staff members gave you. No answer was good enough and it seemed you were just content to keep trying to push the envelope outside the scope of our more than over the top abilities to please you. You say that you are a seasoned traveler. You should be so lucky that you can still travel after the last two years. Have some pride and be humble and enjoy life because you got to be here. Don't make up falsehoods because you couldn't get your way every waking minute. We go out of our way to please our guest to best of our abilities but you can not please someone who is looking to be displeased and in this case, that is you. Have a magical day and warm summer, Jim
Read more
Beth S wrote a review May 3
Grapevine, Texas156 contributions95 helpful votes
Great location in a historic home. It is beautifully furnished and I wished we had been able to stay more than 2 nights. The room was large and we left the AC fan set to on and didn't hear any noise from other rooms or the street. We were on the fourth floor and I walked up/down and enjoyed the seeing each floor with old funiture, rugs, and interesting items. The TV was small but we were not in the room much. The breakfast is adequate. I had yogurt and a nice granola to add in. My husband said pastries were ok. There was a different selection our two mornings. There is a nice outside area but it happened to be cool since we were getting an early start. We were able to get one of the 4 parking places in the back. The front steps are daunting with luggage. Go check in and ask to come in the back since there is only a small flight of stairs before the elevator. Wish we had known. Hotel personnel were friendly. I highly enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Beth, We are truly glad that you took the time to leave a review of our lovely inn. We strive to provide a fresh and lovely breakfast for our guests each morning to make your start in Savannah a well balanced one. As always, please come and stay with us again very soon as we can not wait to see you. All the best, Jim
Read more
Craig257 wrote a review Apr 2022
Canberra, Australia114 contributions75 helpful votes
An outstanding property in a perfect location . The hotel has huge rooms with a huge bed. Excellent facilities all round including the lounge room for guests Wonderful staff and a fantastic breakfast. Couldn’t ask for more in Savannah. Great advice too re eating. On-site parking
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Craig, Thank you for taking your time to review our lovely inn. We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations as your lodging location while visiting Savannah. Please feel free to come back and stay with us on your next trip. We want to see you soon. Thank you, Jim
Read more
Kremena T wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Don't book the Lower Country room. The "garden view" room is in the basement. Its small windows are facing the street and the only view is the street sidewalk. I would seriously doubt that it is even legal to rent out such a room, there is no egress window; such a room would not be rentable in DC! Moreover, the room was under the breakfast area and the responsible for breakfast personnel (actually also the morning receptionist) marched around on her high heel booths for about an hour, starting at 6:30am, apparently oblivious to the fact that people were sleeping in the "garden view“ room underneath… Staff and management were inconsiderate and totally unfriendly. They refused to move us to a different room the following morning (we had booked two nights). Given the misrepresentation on their website, they should have upgraded us to a master suite for free! At least we managed to get our money back for the second night, and moved to another B&B nearby, what an experience!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: noisy street
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Hello and thank you for taking your time to leave your personal opinions about your stay at our lovely inn. I remember checking you in the night of your arrival. What I remember is that you where happy with the inn and had no complaints to myself, even after I told you I was the General Manager. It seems like you waited until my front desk staff came in and decided to pick on a older lady who was here by herself. There is nowhere in the description of the Low Country Garden Room on our website does it say garden view. It does say that it is on the garden level. That is our lower level. Level with the garden. It is not a basement. It is also our best value room which means you booked our least expensive room and by reading your opinionated review, were just looking for a upgrade without having to pay because you believed you were special over any other guests in house. I know we were friendly towards you because as I stated, I myself checked you in your first night and also my staff is warm to all guests who reside here. I am not sure of why you are trying to compare Savannah and DC in this. They are two very different cities, each with their own charm. It sounds like a case of sour grapes. Please have a magical day and wonderful 2022. Warm regards, Jim
Read more
jimbo067 wrote a review Feb 2022
Oviedo, Florida4 contributions6 helpful votes
Just called the Hotel . Inquiring about a one night stay on April 2 . The girl that answered the phone was one of the rudest people I have ever talked to ! No help what do ever !! Wouldn’t want to stay there ! We stayed there about 10 years ago and wasn’t too impressed but on line it said you could stay for one night it did not indicate two night stay . I understand if it is not their policy but should change it on website . Also hire people that are at least polite on the phone . Think I just dodged a bullet
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Thank you for taking your time to review our lovely inn. This sounds like a case of sour grapes to me as my front desk staff member said that you were a bully and tried to push your way into making a one night stay against my policy. You were rude and dismissive but of course you did not mention that in this review did you. If you took the trouble to read our website you will see that it states that we reserve the right to make certain times of year minimum nights. That means two or more. Plus, my staff member explained politely to you our policies over the phone. Problem solved. You couldn't get your way being a bully so you said hey, I stayed there a decade ago and wasn't impressed, I'll show them. After reading this half cocked review I think it is us who dodged a bullet. Please have a magical day and a wonderful 2022. Warmest regards, Jim, General Manager
Read more
John B wrote a review Dec 2021
Mineola, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
My wife and I returned to Ballastone to enjoy the hospitality the inn is known for and what we have experienced in past visits . No disappointment. Jim and his team do a great job of making you feel welcomed. As mentioned we return to savannah each year at the same time to enjoy the way this town celebrates the Christmas season. The disappointment is that the Inn has new owners and their vision for holiday atmosphere is much more subtle than the previous owners. Missing were the decorations and embellishments that made this inn a special holiday destination. The inn remains beautiful and Jim is still the perfect host but for those that have stayed here before you will miss how understated the inn is this holiday. Hopefully the new owners will reconsider and decorate as in the past. I think all of Savannah is suffering from affects of COVID. Little decoration in parks, many closed up stores, homeless abound and very subdued town attitude. Shame as this was the picturesque town. Stay at the inn. It remains a beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Feb 15, 2022
Thank you for leaving a pleasant review and please excuse the late response. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your December trip at The Ballastone. Hospitality is something we try to give every guest that comes in our doors and we were happy to have you return. The Christmas decorations for 2021 were my planning and idea. I went with a more early to mid 1800's look and it was well received. We just like to keep things fresh and do new ideas from time to time. We hope that a decorations change will not keep you from coming back for your next holiday travels to Savannah. All the best, Jim, General Manager
Read more
Alexandra P wrote a review Dec 2021
Boston, Massachusetts29 contributions22 helpful votes
Excellent stay at the Ballastone Inn! I want to preface this review by saying I typically do not stay at quaint B&B style accommodations. I was planning to stay at the Perry Lane but at the last minute changed my mind based on a number of positive reviews I read about the Ballastone. I am very happy I made this choice. The Ballastone embodies southern charm and hospitality. Not only is the inn beautifully decorated but they nail the small things. For example, we arrived prior to our check in and went on a private tour. When we returned our bags were in our room, our bedroom fire place had been turned on to create a nice ambiance, and my fiancé had ordered a bottle champagne which was awaiting us with a kind welcome note from the inn. Shortly after, we came down to head out to dinner and Jim was at the bar making a delicious rotation of cocktails. We stayed for one and chatted with Jim who was very friendly. The next morning we slept through breakfast. However, I came down to make coffees as those are available 24/7. Christine was in the kitchen and immediately brought me a delicious assortment of pastries to bring upstairs to share with my fiancé. Christine is from Paris originally, and has lived in a number of European countries before relocating to Savannah. Chatting with her that morning was enjoyable and not an experience I would have had with a staff member at a larger resort/hotel. The Ballastone is also in a great location- walking distance to everything (but a prettier part of the city than the river-walk). In summation, if you want 10/10 service and a quintessential southern experience stay at the Ballastone!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Good afternoon, Hello and thank you for the kind review. We are so happy to hear that we met or exceeded your expectations here at The Ballastone. We are not a large inn and we love to accommodate our guests to the fullest during their stay. Also happy to hear that Christine made a impression on you. She is a delight and well traveled and just a great asset to have here. I expect to see both you and your fiancé back here very soon. I have a whole new batch of drinks waiting for you at the bar! Do not be strangers. Thank you, Jim
Read more
Shelly L wrote a review Dec 2021
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma161 contributions71 helpful votes
On our tour of the South we wanted to make sure we visited Savannah. And of course we wanted to stay someplace with a bit of local flavor. As we were booking on the fly we felt lucky to find a room here. It was one of 2 places we booked directly and paid up for. This is a charming old place right in the middle of every thing. On a main street. Old building. If you can't climb stair, DO NOT come here. There is an elevator in the hotel, but one must climb stairs to get up to the landing. We had a lovely room, very roomy, very comfy, with all the charm. Breakfast, coffee, fruit and muffins, is served in the morning. (No earlier than 8:00 though) Jim, the man that greeted us was very nice. But here is where the loss of a 5 star comes in. We had the purchase a parking permit to park on the street. We also had to make sure we did not park on the side where the street sweeper came. We were told that there MAY be a Veterans Day parade, but they had heard nothing about the parking. THEN at 7 AM we get a frantic rap at our door. We are told our car was going to be towed if we did not move it ASAP. And not just ours, but other guests too. One guest lost their shoe running after their car. By the time we got to our car, it was on a truck. It cost us almost $275 to get it off. We told Jim, he apologized, said he thought he had done all he could to tell us. (I disagree) They did refund our parking pass, and some drinks we had at the bar. Great place, just watch where you park.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Watch where you park
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Shelly, Thank you for taking time to leave a pleasant review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the inn and your stay during your southern trip. We thrive to give our guest southern hospitality the minute they enter the house and make sure that it is a comfortable stay with all the amenities. Again we are truly sorry for any inconvenience that the City of Savannah and the tow truck company caused. We had a sign posted on the front door warning guests of the potential the the City would route a parade on our block. We always advise guests to be vigilant of the parking signs when on the street since that is out of our control. The tow company was a little out of line charging that much to take your car off the flatbed but again that is someone else's company and we can not control their practices no matter how much we do not agree with them. We want you to come back this way again soon and give us another stay and let us take care of you the southern hospitality way. Thank you, Jim and The Ballastone
Read more
jillian05165 wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York2 contributions
We stayed at the Ballastone for our “mini-moon” in October. It’s is such a beautiful and charming Inn that I feel rivals the “tourist popular” inns in the city. Great location. Jim was very friendly, professional, and hospitable. Plus he makes delicious drinks!! The decor is so beautiful. Very “old south” romantic vibes. Would highly highly recommend. Hope to visit again soon with some friends this time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Nov 13, 2021
Jillian, Thank you so much for your warm words. We thrive to be a little different from the other inns and hotels in Savannah and we are happy to hear that made a connection with you. We hope top see you back soon with some friends. I have those drinks waiting on you. All the best, Jim
Read more
BDG wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
My wife and I spent four nights at the Ballastone—it’s a wonderful hotel! The interior and the rooms are very beautiful and nicely appointed. The staff—Jim, Derek, Christine(?)—are gracious and helpful. The breakfast is delicious, too, especially the granola and pastries made by Miss Ruby. The location is near most attractions and many fine restaurants. It’s the place to stay in Savannah!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Spend the money to park behind the hotel, if a space is available.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Raddatz, General Manager at Ballastone Inn
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Hello! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Savannah and at The Ballastone. Ruby was delighted to hear that you loved her granola and pastries. We do try to keep some local talent for breakfast and we feel that Ruby does an excellent job. Please come back and stay soon and come see what we have added on for our breakfast. Thank you, Jim
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$291 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ballastone hotel savannah
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ballastone Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Ballastone Inn?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.1 miles), SCADstory (0.3 miles), and Webb Military Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ballastone Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Ballastone Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Ballastone Inn?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Ballastone Inn?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ballastone Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Joe's At The Jepson, Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, and Jazz'd Tapas Bar.
Is Ballastone Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Savannah.
Are there any historical sites close to Ballastone Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (0.5 miles), Sorrel Weed House (0.2 miles), and Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home (0.3 miles).