We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the fifth Indigo I have stayed at. It is very nice and has the eclectic decor, but more subdued than other Indigo hotels. Not quite as off-the-wall. Friendly staff. I was on the 5th floor and it took a couple minutes for the shower to heat up. Great location with bars and restaurants in every direction. If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Indigo and your loyalty to the Indigo Brand. Thank you. More 

Calistoga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I chose this hotel from the front seat of the car on the way north. I have always wanted to see Savannah and this was the closest I had ever been so off went. I chose this hotel, by the reviews on line and it was the right price and seemed to be right where the action was. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

We appreciate feedback such as yours as it provides us with the opportunity to make improvements in service. I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Indigo Savannah and hope to have you as our guests again in the future. More 

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location, clean, very good staff and pet friendly. The rooms and bathroom are a little bit smaller than other but very nice. It is a wonderful experience and close to everything you want to see.

Helpful?
Thank AlexisRodriguez
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is a neat combination of old and new. Staff was some of the best I have dealt with. Concierge was very helpful. Great location. All in all very pleased Rooms could have been cleaned better I feel. We seemed to have dog hair on quilt and stuff splattered on the wall. I told them about stuff and that I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ascautocenter
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us. Although we were pleased to hear that our staff made such a positive impression upon you, we sincerely apologize for the service shortfalls you experienced during your stay. All of our guest rooms are to be inspected daily to ensure our mutual cleanliness standards... More 

Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights on a getaway Stayed in a double room facing towards the river. Very nicely done. bathroom is pretty tight and no towel hooks (as another reviewer pointed out) but otherwise very nice. One suggestion: coffee in the lobby for guests. I think it's a nice gesture, since the hotel room does not include breakfast (unless... More 

Helpful?
Thank murphymurphy1985
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are thrilled to hear that we made such a positive impression during your stay in Savannah. We hope you will choose us when you travel to Savannah again. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is fairly new to the area... The common area is beautiful and its centrally located downtown savannah. I stayed here after a night of one too many drinks. The rooms were just average. The locks are high tech but didn't work :\ I'd probably stay again... In comparison to the other hotels, it's a little more affordable

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla W
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts concerning your stay with us. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a great addition to Savannah, combining modern amenities with the charm associated with the city. I was there for business but would come back for leisure in a heart beat. You are right in the middle of the action with plenty to do. I ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was good and at the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation of our hotel. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again. More 

Danville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was told by desk clerk that if we checked in before the room was ready, we would have to pay an extra day valet parking There was no place to hang wet towels in the bathroom The hot water had to run 10 to 15 minutes before it was warm enough to shower The toilet tissue was the cheapest possible... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wendov
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to correspond with us regarding your recent stay. It is unfortunate that your experience did not meet your expectations. At Hotel Indigo, we strive to create a positive and unique experience for each of our guests. I am sorry that we were not successful in providing that experience for you. I hope that you... More 

Chester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a bit disappointed overall. Friendly staff though. Room was small. $25/day to park. No complimentary coffee service, unless you want to use the in-room coffee pot that I never use. Check in took forever. Sorry, just not impressed but you may like it.

Helpful?
1 Thank menels78
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay. Although I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly, I apologize that you experienced a long wait during the check-in process. More 

Jupiter
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over the years, we had been staying at this location by another name. It was called Inn at Ellis Square. When we were told the Inn closed permanently, we researched and found the Hotel Indigo, then realized it was the same hotel. However, they did some major renovations with a modern touch. A bar is located off the lobby, serving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cyndy C
KRLinder, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Hotel Indigo while visiting Savannah. I am delighted that we held true to your experience of an 'old favorite' with our renovations and modern update. We are excited to have you as our guest again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#10 of 112 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,546 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Like our Spanish-moss-draped city herself, Hotel Indigo® Savannah Historic District is the perfect mix of old and new. Our building—known to locals as the "Grand Lady on the Bay" due to her sweeping size—was once 19th-century mega-merchant Simon Guckenheimer's dry goods storage house and shop, which was filled with everything the South made best, from tobacco to canned peaches. The 1940s and '50s brought a grocery store with the city's first true coffeehouse. Now, the Grand Lady stands as a charming boutique hotel with modern style in a vibrant Ellis Square setting that reflects the essence of Savannah's renowned historic district. After a delicious breakfast or cocktail at our lobby bar, immerse yourself in our neighborhood's rich culture at City Market, located right next door. Then embark on one of the many fascinating tours Savannah has to offer; at least five of the city's iconic squares are located within roughly five blocks of our front door. Learn about the city's storied past before making your way down original cobblestone paths to famous River Street, where you can watch ships enter and exit the harbor while savoring Southern comfort food in restaurants that were once historic warehouses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District

Address: 201 W Bay St, Historic District, Savannah, GA 31401-1110
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: $167 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay