We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$107
Travelocity$107
Agoda.com$107
Hotels.com$107
Priceline$107
Orbitz.com$107
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (120)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (253)

About

#25 of 73 in Baltimore
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Stay safe, stay Jurny! No human interaction is needed during your stay. Our units are fully automated & guests are in control. THE SPACE Located in the arts and cultural district of Mt. Vernon, this historical urban castle was lovingly restored to its original grandeur of 1881. Experience history, culture, and diversity in your next Baltimore getaway! THE AREA We are more than happy to offer our recommendations about the local area and answer any questions you have about the unit or the complex itself. You can reach us through the Airbnb conversation thread, or you can speak to our 24/7 Guest Experience Department. THINGS TO NOTE GATHERINGS We know you are coming to have a good time, but out of respect to the other tenants and neighbors, this property has a strict “No Party” policy. PARKING There are eight parking spaces available on a first-come, first-serve basis. There are six parking spots in front of the hotel and two spots on the south side alley. Additionally, paid parking is available across the street. QUIET HOURS Quiet hours are from 10pm to 8am. Guests are responsible for the conduct of all persons in their unit. SMOKING Smoking of any kind is not allowed in the unit. There will be a minimum $250 penalty fee if it is determined that there was smoking in your apartment during your reservation period. CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT Check-in time is at or after 4pm and check-out time is prior to or at 11am. Early check-ins and late checkouts are based on availability and can be requested one day before. Additional fees may apply. SECURITY For security reasons, there are audio/video recording cameras in the common areas of the building and outside of the building. There are no recording devices inside the unit.
Read more
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
495Reviews11Q+A98Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 290
  • 119
  • 40
  • 19
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Navigator572013 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Front door code doesn’t work—other guests had to let us in (lucky but sketchy). Room stinks of cigarettes. No one answers the phone—you just get “we’re re-thinking all aspects of your stay…from check in to check out…never be in hold again” = “no one works here, our call center in wherever never answers, good luck if there’s a fire because you’re on your own.” An entirely absent customer service experience. Welcome to Squid Game without the charm or robots.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kathy H wrote a review Sep 2018
24 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
As soon as you walk in the lobby, you feel as if you're transported back in time. This historic hotel is simply beautiful! The rooms have quaint antique furniture, but the bathrooms are very large and modern. They are in the middle of renovating some of the rooms & creating a new restaurant on the lower level. Although there are many restaurants within walking distance, having one on-site will be convenient. I really hope they keep some of the exposed brick & alcoves since they date back to the late 1800's, & looked really cool. Another cool feature is the spiral staircase. Standing at the top looking down was amazing! I can't wait to go back when the renovations are completed & write another review. I'm confident it will be a 5+ star rating😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded Sep 30, 2018
Kathy, Thank you for your magical and wonderful review of Hotel Brexton! I'm so happy to hear your visit was similar to a trip back in the day of when the hotel was built in 1881. We appreciate the character and unique charm we have to work with and I am so glad you appreciated it as well. Looking forward to your return and your 5 star review, I know you won't be disappointed. Safe travels, thank you again! John O. Hollis Acting General Manager Historic Hotel Brexton
Read more
Gwmorgan63 wrote a review Aug 2018
Algonquin, Illinois12 contributions3 helpful votes
Beautiful architecture friendly staff great location. Not suitable for those with mobility issues. Would not stay again only be cause of difficulty with negotiating the property. But located in a lovely neighborhood within walking distance of many fine restaurants and other Historic sites.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded Sep 3, 2018
Gwmorgan63, Thank you for your review of Hotel Brexton, I am glad you found the location of the hotel and the staff to be enjoyable and accommodating. If you can, please reach out to me via the email link below and help me with addressing the mobility issues you experienced in an attempt to correct them for the future. Overall, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the Mt. Vernon neighborhood and our historic charm. Thank you again. John O. Hollis Asst. General Manager Historic Hotel Brexton john@hotelbrexton.com
Read more
Carol F wrote a review Jun 2018
Richmond, Virginia19 contributions51 helpful votes
First - location: within walking distance of Baltimore Penn Station, one of the Charm City Connector stops (free service that loops through downtown to Art Museum and back toward Inner Harbor), several restaurants Second - hotel - lovely historic building in a slightly raffish area (but felt totally safe walking) Third - room - tons of light (3 windows in bedroom), quirky off-kilter room dimensions which charmed us - a killer bathroom with a wall of windows (shutters in place on lower sections) and everything you needed available including WiFi/TV/even a mini-fridge if you ask/good AC/excellent bed They do have a continental breakfast - which was only so-so - really minimal and felt like not a lot of attention paid to it but you could grab a yogurt to get the day started... Staff was fine - low-key and got the job done. I had e-mailed before visit with some requests/questions and Mr. Naing was so prompt and helpful. So, would I stay again? - absolutely. We like to try something other than the standard cookie-cutter room/hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded Jun 26, 2018
Lorac1965, I extend my thanks for your positive review of Hotel Brexton. I'm happy to know you found our location and unique room layout to be benefits during your stay, being aware that you were comfortable, is music to my ears. Happy to know you would stay again! We've been around since 1881, so give us a call should you be returning to Charm City! Safe travels and thank you again! John O. Hollis Asst. General Manager Hotel Brexton
Read more
brendabdmd wrote a review Jun 2018
Salem, New Hampshire13 contributions3 helpful votes
Very cool building. My room was large, comfortable, and stylishly decorated. I did not use the wall mounted fireplace, as it was not needed in May. I'm sure it would be cozy and wonderful in the winter. The neighborhood has not yet gentrified as much as I might have liked. Be alert as you walk especially at night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded Jun 20, 2018
Brendabdmd, Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Brexton. I appreciate your kind words regarding our rooms and am very glad to hear you were comfortable and enjoyed yourself overall. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you be in Baltimore again. Thanks! Safe travels! John O. Hollis Asst. General Manager Hotel Brexton
Read more
Lucia O wrote a review Jun 2018
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We will be contacting the hotel to make a formal complaint. We made our choice based on the trip advisor rating. We have to question how this hotel received such a high rating. We will think twice about using trip advisor as a source in the future. 1. AC not working in the lobby, hallway, and breakfast area. 2. Safety concerns - Our key did not work and when the clerk rekeyed it, the front desk attendant said that she had forgotten but our room (#602) needed to be keyed as room 601 in order for the key to work. When asked if room 601 could access our room, she said "yes, but I'm sure they won't try." There was no additional safety latch on the door to assure nobody entered the room. 3. The worst part was that our room smelled like human urine. The chair in the room had what looked like bodily fluid stains on it. 4. Our a/c unit which was installed above the bed was dripping on the pillows and mattress. When we called the front desk, the attendant said she was sorry but she didn't know what she could do about that. She said she only had one room that was available but the TV was not working. She shared that she herself had stayed in our room and if she remembered correctly it didn't drip for long. We ended up having to empty the AC drip pan and put a spare blanket from the closet across the head of the bed because the mattress was completely wet in the area where our heads would be. 5. We had to use our towels to absorb the AC water and when we called the front desk for more, could not get someone to answer the phone. Tried housekeeping no answer. Tried maintenance no answer. We ended up sharing a bath towel in the morning. 6. There was a Keurig in the room but no coffee, cups or supplies. 7. There was human hair (not our own) all over the bathroom floor. The room was not well maintained or very clean. 8. The breakfast room was a couple of tables and chairs in the basement. The continental breakfast had minimal selection. They had an elaborate coffee station machine that offered many different selections but of the three different selections we tried, the machine was not working. 9. When checking out the next morning, the front desk clerk (a young man) was reading as we walked up and then proceeded to continue reading as we were standing there. He didn't even acknowledge us until we said something although there was no way for him not to have seen us approach the counter. 10. Not in the best of areas. 11. Parking was minimal. We would never stay here again and I would not recommend anyone staying here. Looks are deceiving.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Noisy room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ellen R wrote a review May 2018
Scarsdale, New York22 contributions13 helpful votes
I thought long and hard about whether to review this "hotel" as they did give me a full refund. However, as this is probably the worst experience I've had with a hotel since 1979, I simply had to help other traveler's decide their own fate. I've stayed at many hotels in Baltimore, and finally decided to try the Brexton because we were attending a function nearby. Arriving at around 3:00 p.m., couldn't get into the hotel and there was a sign on the door NOT to pull the handle. I struggled for a minute, when the woman who had been sitting on the front stoop smoking a cigarette and chatting on her phone got up and swiped a card for me. Apparently, this was the front desk clerk! We stepped inside and, after about 15 minutes, she informed me that, despite making a reservation 3-4 weeks prior, there wasn't a room for us! She went to get the manager and, after another 20 minutes, the manager agreed, there was no room available UNLESS we would agree to stay in a room in the basement. I asked the manager if there was anything wrong with this room and he replied, "It's not our most desirable room." Because we had an event to attend in ONE HOUR at this point, we headed for the basement. The room was an abomination, one bed directly in front of us with a TV that wasn't working and a chest of drawers that looked like it was 100 years old. One nightstand, one tiny table lamp, no pens, no paper, no coffe pot, no refrigerator, none of the typical extras. The floor was hardwood and not clean (my husbands socks were black after walking around for 10 minutes!), I didn't want to take my shoes off. The bathroom was very large, because it was a handicapped accessible room and needed to fit a wheelchair, but that also mean the shower was a drive-thru! The AC wasn't working either (I later found out that the ENTIRE HOTEL had no air conditioning AND no working televisions when we arrived), at least they managed to fix the AC by the time we returned from our event later that evening. When we did return, we found the same desk clerk outside, smoking a cigarette and chatting on her phone (it was around 10:30-11:00 p.m.). I inquired if there had been any change in room availability so we could get out of the basement, as the manager had stated earlier that the only rooms which were not occupied had to be cleaned, so we couldn't have one. The desk clerk informed me the housekeeper went home (note I said "housekeeper" not "housekeeping" as there isn't a staff of more than one per shift, apparently), and there wasn't a room available. We called it a day, went to our room, couldn't watch broken TV so we entertained ourselves on our phones then went to bed. Unfortunately, the AC unit was SO LOUD and the bed SO UNCOMFORTABLE it was a challenge. The next morning, we were ready for the free continental breakfast. Don't expect too much, it's a small room down the hall from our basement accommodations. The selection of cereal, bagels, fruit, yogurt, nutrigrain bars, etc. was less than impressive, unlike other hotels which offer pancakes, waffles, omelets, chafing dishes full of sausages and bacon, etc.. This isn't the case at the Brexton. BUT WAIT! THERE"S MORE!! We were having our coffee, didn't want to go back to our room, and a woman came in and opened a cabinet right next to our table. It was a washing machine with a dryer beside it! She began emptying the washer into the dryer about a foot away from us! Apparently, the Brexton has the laundry facilities in the breakfast room, and chooses to keep the bleach and laundry detergent right next to the refrigerator with the OJ and milk! We couldn't believe it, so much for our peaceful breakfast. We decided it was time to check-out and go to Shirley's for some real breakfast. Look, if you don't mind an old, stuffy, understaffed, unprofessional, over priced hotel with no frills, no working TV, touch and go AC and antiquated computer system, this place is definitely for you. Or maybe the Brexton improves the higher up you go in the building, we never made it higher than the lobby!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Barbara1065 wrote a review May 2018
Washington DC, District of Columbia2 contributions
I stayed at the Hotel Brexton last Thursday night (room 401). I was a little worried by the negative reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. With an initial glitch in my reservation, I booked online at the hotel site, and they didn't have my reservation, the gentleman at the desk was very helpful in trying to get a room for me (I wish I got his name). I had requested a king room, and because of the glitch, they didn't have any king rooms, so I settled on a queen. The room was fantastic! Clean, spacious, and comfortable. I heard the reports of the remote not working, mine wasn't either, but I manually turned the tv on, and the remote worked to change channels, and adjust the volume. I had also heard reports of the noise levels, both inside the hotel and outside. We didn't hear anything all night. It was heaven! We opted to sleep in over trying the breakfast, so I can't comment on that. People also commented on not feeling safe. We walked to our dinner, the concert and back, and never felt uncomfortable. I have stayed in many 4-star hotels that weren't any better in terms of room, and service than the Hotel Brexton. I would definitely go back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded May 11, 2018
Barbara1065, Thank you so very much for your shining review of Hotel Brexton! We have lots of character and charm and I'm so glad to hear you experienced just that and so much more. I am also happy to hear you loved Mt. Vernon and overall had an enjoyable time. Should you back in Baltimore, feel free to give us a ring and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again. Thank you, thank you! John O. Hollis Asst. General Manager Hotel Brexton
Read more
Paul wrote a review May 2018
Tillamook, Oregon63 contributions18 helpful votes
Nice location, great motel! Large comfortable room, Sleep quality 7! Friendly helpful staff! Highly recommend! Good breakfast included! Great dinning options within walking distance Wished we had longer to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded May 5, 2018
Paul P, You enthusiasm regarding Hotel Brexton is much appreciated! Thank you for your shining review of us. Providing a unique and memorable experience is certainly a goal for us and I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself. Thank you again, please feel free to give us a call should you be coming back to Charm City! Safe travels! John O. Hollis Asst. General Manager Historic Hotel Brexton
Read more
John L wrote a review Apr 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yes it's really nice. Yes it's historic and quaint. But historic also means old and noisy. You hear everything in the halls and plumbing. Also the room had some bad outlets. Some of the lamps wouldn't work. But overall I can't complain for the price. Staff was friendly. Neighborhood was very quiet. Not sure if it's busier on a weekday but for a Saturday/Sunday it was pretty dead. It's in a city but felt like I was in the burbs. Breakfast could have a few more selections but it was included so can't complain too much.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from John H, Manager at Hotel Brexton
Responded Apr 16, 2018
John L, Thank you for your review of Hotel Brexton. I appreciate your honesty and feedback regarding our historic urban castle. Minus the issues you experienced, I'm glad that overall, you enjoyed yourself and had a good trip to Charm City. Safe travels! John O. Hollis Asst. General Manager Hotel Brexton
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$144 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMarylandBaltimoreMount Vernon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Brexton
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Brexton?
Nearby attractions include Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall (0.2 miles), Frederick Douglass - Isaac Myers Maritime Park (0.2 miles), and Brewer's Art (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Brexton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Brexton?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Brexton?
Yes, secured parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Brexton?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Land of Kush, The Helmand, and Brewer's Art.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Brexton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Brexton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Brexton?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine (3.1 miles), B&O Railroad Museum (1.3 miles), and Federal Hill Park (1.6 miles).
Is Hotel Brexton accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.