We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Booking.com$125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
 Click to rate
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location is hidden and misleading. Initially, I was skeptical, however, I was pleasantly surprised. Great, clean hotel with best complimentary breakfast. Large rooms, friendly staff. Parking was easy and convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickFreese
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear RickFreese Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, FL. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about the room, staff and breakfast. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

Farmingville, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came into lobby to check in late around midnight but no one at the desk had to stand and wait at least 10-15 minutes for the desk clerk to get back. She was getting bed linens for several rooms for the pull out beds. There was also another person in the lobby with me who was looking to get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisala
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear Daisala Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we do apologize for the problem you encounter during your stay We here at the Holiday Inn Express we take all guest reviews very seriously and we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department so please rest assure they will be taking care of.

State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed March 16, 2017

I needed to be in Jacksonville at the last moment and made a reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East. Ihe web page indicated that it was currently being renovated, however, it was still open. Yes it is being renovated but, it was no problem. My accommodations were fine (Neat, Clean and comfortable). The staff was helpful and pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear Charles C Thank you for your kinds word and we will share them with our staff and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Jacksonville.

Newnan, Georgia
Reviewed February 26, 2017

My family and I stopped in to stay the night after a long day of driving to arrive in town for a cruise leaving from Jaxport the next day. This is an average hotel to stay in for a nights rest. Arriving around 6pm, there wasn't an attendant at the front desk so we waited for about 5 minutes for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atomic-Style
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear Atomic-Style let me start off by first apologizing for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay we take every guest comments and suggestions very serious and rest assure they are being addressed to the appropriate department.

Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Reviewed February 25, 2017

I would have avoided this hotel had I known the lobby and breakfast area were under renovation. In addition, the entire building had a seedy character. The hallways obviously needed vacuuming. I have not previously been in a Holiday Inn Express that felt substandard until this one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FiveTrips
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

First let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay we take every guest comments and suggestions very serious and rest assure they are being addressed to the appropriate department.

Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Staying here for the Mayo clinic. Very good value. They have a medical rate that really makes it worth your while. Shuttle to the Mayo clinic is free. Complimentary breakfast. Well maintained and clean. Love the room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear John F Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stephanie H General Manager

lansing mi
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

I wish I could record what I'm hearing after traveling all day and having to be up early to driven2.5 hours to meetings. Who the H--- books out rooms on the 2nd floor while renovating a lobby? HI Express apparently. AWFUL customer service to do this and sell out the hotel. I can't sleep with all the noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daphne r
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear Daphne r First let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay we take every guest comments and suggestions very serious and rest assure they are being addressed to the appropriate department. Stephanie H General Manager

New Jersey
Reviewed January 17, 2017

My husband and I stayed here on a 2-day get-away to Jacksonville. My first impression was that the lobby looked old, but then I noticed the signs that renovation was in progress. The woman who checked us in had a plastic smile and apparently was not having a good day. She tried to keep her time with us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMHNewJersey
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear LMHNewJersey Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review your stay with us we strive to make every guest stay a memorable one and we are sorry to hear we fell short of this goal doing your stay. We have relayed your concerns to the appropriate department and we hope on your next visit...

Crestwood, Kentucky
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here the night before the Taxslayer bowl. Had two rooms. Both rooms were nice and clean and really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast area was nice and the food good. The service was also friendly and professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
Stephanie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear Douglas H Thank you for your 5 star review regarding your stay and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will relay your kind words to my staff and we look forward to seeing you on you next visit to Jacksonville. Stephanie H General Manager

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

As Holiday Inn IHG members this was by far the worst Holiday Inn we have ever stayed at. Handicap bathroom had a small sink within a tiny vanity. Absolutely no place for me to put my make up, medications, electric hair rollers nor anywhere for my fiancé to put his shaver and handicap vanity items. If either of us chosen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francine700
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review

Dear Francine700, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. While we are pleased with the fair overall rating you have given, it is absolutely regrettable to learn that you may have not fully enjoyed your stay due to the handicap rooms' layout. Please allow me to apologize for any inconvenience this may have...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville East Regency Square
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Merril Road
Candlewood Suites East Merril Ro...
#70 of 132 in Jacksonville
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville I-295/East Beltway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - SE Med Center Area
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville East, just off Interstate 295 and Atlantic Boulevard. Whether visiting us for business or pleasure, we are the hotel for you! Centrally located between downtown Jacksonville and Jacksonville Beach, you are never far from work or play. Our guests can come and enjoy a home away from home in our spacious rooms or host a meeting in our 564 square foot meeting space. Each guest room includes our Holiday Inn Express plush bedding, a seating area, work space, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Certain rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and sleeper sofas. Guests may also enjoy complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel, access to our multi-computer on site business center and our signature Express Start hot breakfast. We also boast an outdoor pool, a 24 hour fitness center, as well as an agreement with LA Fitness where our Guests receive complimentary access to all its state of the art equipment. The Holiday Inn Express is just miles away from Jacksonville Beach, the St. Johns Town Center, Everbank Field and downtown Jacksonville. With continuous outdoor festivals, live music concerts, sporting events, theater productions and scenic views, Jacksonville is not only the largest city in the United States, it is always exciting! Jacksonville Beach offers beautiful views of our coastal city, movies under the moon light in the summers, and a wealth of night life and dinning. The St. Johns Town Center gives travelers the best shopping and restaurant options Jacksonville has to offer. Everbank Field is home to the Jacksonville Jaguars and is just a quick and easy 7 mile drive from the hotel, so drop in and catch a game! Getting into downtown Jacksonville is also very accessible to our location. You can have dinner on the beautiful St. Johns River at the Landing, enjoy the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) or stop by the Museum of Science and History (MOSH). Visit the historic districts of Riverside, San Marco and Avondale, rebuilt after the Great Fire of 1902. This eclectic area offers travelers the opportunity to see Jacksonville's local artists at work during the Riverside Arts Market every weekend. You can also enjoy the many local restaurants in the area to experience the unique atmosphere and flavors found here in Jacksonville, this Bold New City of the South! Our professional and friendly staff is always here to welcome you to the hotel and Jacksonville! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Address: 53 Jefferson Rd, Hwy 9A & Atlantic Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32225-6743 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Price Range: $125 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#47 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Hobe Sound, FL
3 months ago
Easley, South Carolina
8 months ago
Louisville
9 months ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a higher level floor while the renovations are going on so you aren't hearing construction noises.”
Atomic-Style, Feb 26, 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a sofa bed”
paulie1957, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“front rooms have a better, predictable view”
bubblypuppet, Jun 26, 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if your bathroom is due for repair if you are assigned a room on the 4th floor.”
DavinaS788, Jun 16, 2016 | Read review
“Book early : 2 queen beds(usually has a sofa too)”
paulie1957, May 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$125* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$125
HotelQuickly$166
HIExpress.com$125
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates