We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown

Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
38Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
184Reviews
71Photos
2Q+A
13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 29
  • 38
  • 33
  • 59
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have been staying in this Hotel for well over 10 years. The owner (J) is very care about your stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is always wonderful and caring. When I come to Jacksonville for business or pleasure, this is my home away from home.
Read more
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for staying at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown and sharing your excellent review. You are part of our family now, and we are pleased to know that our team members always make you feel at home. Kind comments like yours encourage them. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you, Management
Read more
Trip Advisor has this at 5 Star. Not safe. Office did not answer the phone for 36 hours. Security guard wears a bullet proof vest. A bug man lives on property to provide quick service. People hanging outside most of the night. Lot of drive ups and pick ups.
Read more
Response from 00gc, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Responded Mar 6, 2019
Brenda, thank you for sharing your review with us. We apologize you did not feel safe and regret the disappointment it caused. We will share your observations with our concerned teams to improve our future guest experiences. We hope you will give us an opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Thank you, Management
Read more
+1
This is the place that you better make sure you have everything you need before you go into your hotel room, you don't want to come out after Dark. There was much traffic in and out cars in and out this is a very bad part of town I believe lots of drug trafficking. The rooms are
Read more
Response from 00gc, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Responded Jan 16, 2019
Laura, thank you for being our guest. We are sorry you were not pleased with the surroundings of our hotel and for the difficulties you encountered in your room. Your feedback has been shared with the concerned teams, and they are looking into it immediately. Also, we have asked our housekeeping team to make sure proper procedures are being followed to remove the smell. We hope you will consider a return visit so we can restore your confidence. Thank you, Management
Read more
This place is “in the ghetto” as our cab driver stated. We arrived and checked into our no smoking room which reeked of cigarette smoke. We tried to turn on a light but not one of the 4 worked in the room. The light in the bathroom worked so we had to walk back down to the front
Read more
Response from 00gc, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Responded Sep 4, 2018
Dear Myesia, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. It was disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We can assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable by our standards, and we will be reviewing and altering our guidelines to provide a more wonderful experience for every guest entering our doors. Thank you again for your candid feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for future guests. We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope you will come back to stay with us again for a much-improved experience the next time your travels bring you this way. Thank you, Management
Read more
My name is Lois and I been staying at that hotel off and on since July and I look very this hotel the staff is very friendly and understand..the room are very clean the housekeeper take pride in cleaning the rooms...The area us great it's quite .. and very close to alit of
Read more
Response from 00gc, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Responded Aug 21, 2018
Lois, thank you for staying at the Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown. Nothing is more important than your satisfaction, so we are delighted to know how happy you were with the great service provided by my team and that our location was ideal for your needs. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable experience. Thank you, Management
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Photo provided by managementMagnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
MH JacksonvilleDowntown Jacksonville FL GuestRoom DoubleBedSmoke
Room
Bath
Light Fixture Above the Shower
A/C Unit with car air freshener
PreviousNext
123456
What corporation owns the Magnuson Hotel in DowntownJacksonville
Do rooms have flat screen tvs in them
Yes, our Super 8 has 40in flat screen TV. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Thanks.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Get room with refrigerator and microwave. "
"Worst hotel ever"
"front room"
"Don't trust the website photo."
"If you want a room with a fridge, be sure to request it. They don't all have them."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
super eight jacksonvillesuper 8 jacksonvillejacksonville super eightjacksonville super 8
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaJacksonville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing