We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
516 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2605
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/04/22
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (260)
Room & Suite (114)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Updated 10/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#10 of 27 hotels in Gettysburg
Travelers' Choice
5 story Colonial style Hotel with exterior entrances. 110 rooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, wi-fi internet service. Complimentary breakfast for registered Hotel guests. Within walking distance to most major attractions, restaurants and tours. Gettysburg National Military Park Visitors Center-1 mile. Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tour Center-next door. Ghost Walk Tours near by. Located in-town Historic Gettysburg.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1167Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 629
  • 336
  • 138
  • 39
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charles T wrote a review Oct 12
2 contributions
Let me start by saying I've been coming to this hotel annually for the past 20 years." All the positive notes mentioned are accurate. Last year my group had an exceptional time and we preferred being on the street side on the Hotel. I called about 2 months in advance to request the same rooms. I spoke to a nice person over the phone who stated she would put my request in notes and we'd be all set for our visit. Upon arrival we were met at the front desk by the clerk (Becky) and told our rooms would be on the opposite site of the Hotel. I explained to her my request and our wish to be on the street side. She acknowledged the note was in the computer; however, the manager Norma J. Herring changed the room assignment. My question was why? Becky basically told us because she can and I can speak to the manager, who was not working on the weekend we were there. Why would the manager change a requested room assignment without any reason or forewarning to her guests. I did not let this interfere with a good weekend, but do feel I was treated unprofessionally and was switched out of my requested room assignment for some unknown reason and could have been more appropriately accommodated.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Response from Norma Herring, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Responded 5 days ago
I never changed your room type. I assigned rooms according to what you had reserved. When you made your reservation in May you reserved a room with 2 double beds and made a request-which is just that-a request -for the front of the building. We did not have any rooms in the front available. I certainly do not just randomly change room types or move folks from the rooms they have requested. But, again, a request is just that. It is not a guarantee. Due to so many people getting upset about not getting the front of the building we have now made the rooms in the front a different room type so you know if you will have a room in the front when you reserve it. You state that you have been here for 20 years. Have you ever had an issue in the past? I have been here for 42 years. Do you really think that I would change your room type so you would not have a room in the front of the building? That is absurd! Why Becky told you that I changed your room type I have no idea. But it will be addressed with her. I only wish you would have reached out to me before you decided to accuse me in your review. I am on call 24/7. I would have been happy to explain the situation to you. You don't always get the room number or location that you request for several reasons. But I am guessing that over the last 20 years that you have been happy with your room placement. One incident in 20 years-as minor as it was- caused you to accuse me of changing your reservation. That did not happen. I did make sure that your rooms were side by side. I thought you might appreciate that and as busy as we were that was not easy. But I always try to accommodate our guests requests when possible as I have for over 40 years. Norma Herring GM
Read more
John T wrote a review Aug 2020
Rockaway, New Jersey66 contributions20 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Can't beat the 1863 Inn for location; right at the base of Cemetery Hill or "top of the fish hook".....Across he street; restaurants, and venders for blocks. Information on where to go? Just ask any of the professionals at the desk in one of the more comfortable lobbies anywhere. They can guide you to whatever event you're considering. The morning breakfasts are superior in quantity, quality and diversity at YOUR choosing. The rooms are super clean and comfortable. YOU control the temperature.......There's a fridg, flat screen TV, shower, ample room to store clothing; and all this is the standard at the 1863 INN, I've been attending the INN since the 90's and would never consider anywhere else in Gettysburg.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Room Tip: Rooms facing the street let you stand on the balcony and just let the world go by in he evenings.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Norma Herring, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it. We also appreciate your loyalty to this hotel. That means so much to us! We are glad that you enjoy your time with us. You are the best! We hope you will come visit us very soon! Stay safe! OOH RAH!!! :) Sincerely, Norma Herring and Sara Peterson!!!!
Read more
bradziker1 wrote a review Oct 3
Lake Mary, Florida1328 contributions122 helpful votes
Room was on the busy ‘road’ side and could hear some traffic, so get the back if you want more quiet. Lots of TV channels, but no HBO or premium movies. The location is perfect in the middle of the town and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Excellent fridge/freezer that worked well. Toiletries were a little pack of shampoo, body cream. Breakfast is 6:30-10:00 with lots of yogurt, cereals muffins, apples, bananas, and hot foods of eggs, potatoes. They are very friendly and have lots of information brochures in the entry if you are looking for things to do.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: if you want quiet, ask for a room in the back,
See more room tips
Response from Norma Herring, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed it and found everything to your liking. Please come back to see us again. It would be our pleasure. Sincerely, Norma Herring General Manager
Read more
Yvette E wrote a review Sep 2021
Prospect, Australia1 contribution
The customer service here is appallingly; non existent! Living in Australia and not able to travel they just completely ignored my emails. Out of all the places I’ve dealt with in the USA this is the worst I’ve ever encountered and in the world actually. So disappointing and I would definitely not recommend this place! This place is jus after your money!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from Norma Herring, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Responded 2 weeks ago
You did receive a reply to your many emails. You made your reservation through a third party site. We did not make your reservation. They did. You were told to contact them regarding your reservation. We do not have your credit card. They do. We do not have your money. They do. We cannot cancel your reservation. You made it through them as a nonrefundable reservation and it has to be cancelled by them. You were informed of this several times. And now it results in a negative review when you have never stayed here. That is a bit unfair. You decided to book through them. In the future you might want to book directly with the hotel you are staying at. Sad to blame this on the hotel when we had nothing to do with it. How can you say you received terrible customer service? You were told what to do and who to contact. Norma Herring General Manager
Read more
sanitationgirl2000 wrote a review Sep 2021
Baldwin, New York501 contributions167 helpful votes
this hotel is great. First off its in the center of everything so you can leave your car in the lot and just walk the town.The hotel has comfortable beds and is extremely clean with a great bathroom and hand held shower heads.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Norma Herring, General Manager at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please come back to see us again. Sincerely, Norma Herring General Manager
Read more
$78 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
1863 inn of gettysburg hotel gettysburg, holiday inn gettysburg, gettysburg holiday inn
Holiday Inn
United StatesPennsylvaniaGettysburg
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about 1863 Inn of Gettysburg
Which popular attractions are close to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Nearby attractions include Victorian Photography Studio (0.09 miles), 1863 Escape (0.1 miles), and Shriver House Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mr. G's Ice Cream, Sunset Ice Cream Parlor, and Hunt's Battlefield Fries & Cafe'.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is 1863 Inn of Gettysburg located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Gettysburg.
Are pets allowed at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does 1863 Inn of Gettysburg offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 1863 Inn of Gettysburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.