The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast

The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast

Traveler (199)
Dining (8)
General Meade Suite
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 16 B&Bs in Gettysburg
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
The Swope Manor Bed and Breakfast is a notable historic home built in 1836 located in the heart of Gettysburg. We provide 13 luxurious private guest rooms, three common rooms, library, two dining rooms and a beautiful courtyard with outdoor seating. Our well-appointed guest rooms have comfortable beds, private baths, central air & heat, hardwood floors, flat screen cable TV with complimentary WIFI.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Patio
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Parking garage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Separate dining area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Oven
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

58 York St # 60, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2301
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Harrisburg Intl Airport
35.4 mi
See all flights
Wash. County Regional Airport
284Reviews3Q+A87Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 242
  • 22
  • 8
  • 8
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lua L wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed a long weekend in the Gettysburg Suite and we absolutely loved it! When we arrived there were cookies in our room, and the Gettysburg Suite has a vintage, hand-painted soaking tub that was the highlight of our weekend. Our hosts showed us around upon arrival and immediately made us feel welcome. Each morning they served us a different delicious breakfast. Chef Carl served us the best filet mignon I've ever had, in the library for a romantic, candle lit birthday dinner. We plan on coming back this summer!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Gettysburg Suite has an amazing vintage soaking tub!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Jumba, Owner at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Responded Feb 28, 2021
Thank you so much for the kind words! We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya W wrote a review Nov 2020
Perrysburg, Ohio15 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second stay at The Swope, but the first time with my boyfriend and teenage son. It is rare to find a B&B that can accommodate a third person, but The Swope offers at least two rooms that sleep more than two. We booked the Lincoln Suite on the third floor, which has a sitting room with a pull out couch and a bedroom with a king-size bed. My son loved having his own room and said that the pull out couch was very comfortable. Extra blankets are available in the armoire on the second floor landing, if needed. The rooms were well-appointed and even included a small desk, which was perfect since my son is on a hybrid school schedule and needed to complete lessons while traveling. The Swope is centrally located, only a block from the Square, where there are plenty of food and shopping options (some dining hours are abbreviated due to the pandemic - so call ahead). Breakfasts were fantastic and tables were spaced throughout the two dining rooms and many parlors to allow distance. If you have the chance to book a dinner with Chef Karl, we highly recommend it. It was phenomenal! Parking is available about a block away behind the Manor for a reasonable fee. One tip: the main bedroom of this suite does appear to come with a "roommate from another realm" so to speak, that liked to keep us up at night. This is such a wonderful home, though, so don't let that deter you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter1960 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Swope Manor is terrific! It has many different rooms to choose from, each with a different personality. Should you need a quiet day or experience rain/snow, it has several parlors/drawing rooms in which you can relax. A delicious breakfast is served each morning too. The site is well-located for easy walking to Gettysburg shops and restaurants, and a quick drive to the National Park. There is no on-site parking, but a city garage with easy in/out access is located a block away. The staff is quite helpful, with Meg, especially, being a wonderful hostess. I highly recommend Swope Manor to anyone considering a stay in Gettysburg.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on the back (e.g. Cabernet Suite or Jacob's Den) may be slightly quieter than those on...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Jumba, Owner at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 29, 2021
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JillianM0308 wrote a review Jul 2020
21 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for a funeral with immediate family only outdoors. We had no idea there would be 10,000 bikers gathering without masks from 50 different states. All other guests seemed to belong to this group and none wore masks. Upon check in we weren’t shown around or told anything other than the time for breakfast. The water cooler and keurig were shut down for covid. Which is fine and well except it was the only measure taken and I don’t see how someone pushing a button is more risky than a dozen people without masks drinking outside. No bottled water was offered as a replacement. It was basically drink from the faucet in your bathroom or go without. Not what I expect of a bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful. Absolutely stunning. The bathroom door knob was broken and fell off constantly so we had to reinstall it to exit the bathroom. The beautiful furniture was caked in dust so I don’t have faith in how well rooms are cleaned with the virus amongst us. The staff only seemed involved in your stay if you were drinking outside with them. I’m sorry we wanted a quiet safe time away over the funeral weekend. Checkout we had to walk around to find someone as we had no guidance as to procedure. I chose a bed and breakfast to have a nice experience but a hotel chain would have had better service. I hate leaving negative reviews but I’ve stayed in several B&Bs and this was not an experience that is typical. Maybe the focus should be not just on your new dinner dining experience but on the actual guests. That’s what the heart and soul of your place should be about.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan S wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Swope Manor is a lovely Bed and Breakfast and was very clean. My husband and I and another couple stayed for two nights. The staff was friendly, but not always on site. Breakfast was very good, and they accommodated my food allergies, which I totally appreciated. (Call in advance if you have allergies). If you go in warmer weather, they had a lovely backyard seating area. There was a fire pit table, but we did not use it so cannot say whether or not it worked. Parking was off-site in a parking garage, but just around the corner so an easy walk. It cost $12 for 24 hours, which we felt was reasonable. We stayed in the Miss Emily Rose Chamber. The room was clean, but there were no amenities such as shampoo, conditioner or soap in our room. Our friends stayed in another room, and they were provided with amenities, so we should have had them in our room. The nobs on the sink faucet had porcelain tops. The one on the cold-water side was not attached and kept falling off. That was a little annoying. It should be an easy fix for the Manor. There were some small dirt particles on the sheets and there was a light stain on the quilt. The temperature in the room could not be controlled and it was so hot, we could not sleep. Also, both our pillows were awful! They were uneven, hard as a rock and had plastic things attached to them like clothing stores put on clothes so you couldn't steal them. No one would want their pillows! The worst was the noise. There were very noisy trucks driving by all night long. This also kept us awake. It's probably safe to assume most people would be bothered by this noise, unless you live in a busy city and are used to a lot of night noise. They had a water cooler in the dining area with an empty bottle on it the first day. When we woke in the morning, we noticed a full new bottle so were hopeful we would have water that day. We went out to do our tours and when we returned, the full water bottle was sitting on the floor and the empty bottle was still on the cooler. My husband changed out the bottles. Unfortunately, if we are ever to go back to Gettysburg, we will choose a different place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NittanyLi0nFan wrote a review Mar 2021
State College, Pennsylvania101 contributions87 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The house is beautiful and is located downtown near the square. You need to enter through the rear door of the house and cannot access the street via the the front door. Be prepared to pay about $12 in addition to the room for overnight parking in the downtown garage.

we reserved through Hotels.com and the room we were assigned was not the room depicted in the initial pictures displayed for this room on the reservation site (Longfellow). We felt a bit cheated as the room we stayed in was much less spectacular. Irrespective of this the room was still beautiful and very clean.

As others have mentioned there is absolutely NO sound insulation to isolate guests from the hallway traffic, dinner guests, breakfast preparations, and deck partiers.
You can hear every conversation and they can hear you... so be prepared for less than peace and quiet.

I enjoyed breakfast, my spouse did not. I slept well and would return to stay again. My spouse couldn't stand the noise, didn't sleep well and refuses to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Look at all photos attached to your reserved room on the reservation website to ensure you are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Jumba, Owner at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Responded Mar 21, 2021
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you had a less than satisfying stay with us. We strive to make everyones stay a wonderful experience! We are currently looking into why that room did not match up with the description on Expedia, and I can assure you that it will be taken care of. Unfortunately the room that you were in is a little noisier than our other rooms, because it is on the 1st floor by the main entrance. However all guests do have access to both the front and rear doors of the house.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pastor Sean F wrote a review Oct 2021
Newark, Ohio2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an average B and B. The staff is friendly and efficient. The room is very nice albeit too warm. We cannot adjust it lower as it is locked.
The house is beautiful and each room is very well appointed.
Breakfast was very tasty although more of a continental breakfast and small.
We were told when we called the Manor a few days before checking that breakfast was included every morning. When we arrived we were given our times for breakfast for two days and told the owner would come and tell us if there was room for us the last two days to eat breakfast. No one ever came.
The water for the showers does not stay hot very long and turns lukewarm after a few minutes.
Parking is an extra 12 dollars per day as the Swope Manor does not have parking of its own.
All these things added up to a disappointing experience. We will look elsewhere for lodging when we are in Gettysburg.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Jumba, Owner at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 14, 2021
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. However our breakfast’s are certainly not continental! We serve a full hot breakfast every morning to all guests. Included in that breakfast is a fruit bowl, homemade muffins made daily, and a full hot breakfast entree. I find it odd that you were told the owner would give you times for breakfast because I the owner have nothing to do with the scheduling of a guests breakfast! The times that you were given for breakfast when you checked in are typically the same times every day of your stay unless we either tell you otherwise or if you request a change in time. iIf you were not given a time for breakfast did you ask anyone what time breakfast might be? Also if your room was warm we could have easily accommodated you had you notified us. This is an old building with centralized air. We would have been more than happy to turn the air down for you or give you a fan for your room.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail T wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I canceled the reservation I had for an end of August stay! I am well within the time frame of our 'contract." After several attempts to communicate with the owners for my refund I have yet to hear anything concerning my refund. Don't reserve unless you are POSITIVE you'll be able to make your trip. I thinking of small claims court.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Jumba, Owner at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Responded Jun 23, 2020
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, due to the Covid 19 pandemic our Inn has been hit hard financially as well as many others. We have just started taking reservations again and we will be refunding past cancellations as soon as we can. Thank you for your understanding!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maxpaste wrote a review Aug 2021
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania1,098 contribution352 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a brief visit to Gettysburg and really enjoyed it. Upon arrival we were given a short tour of the facilities and a glass of wine. Our room was very clean, had its own bathroom, and had a nice period style. Breakfast was very good as well, consisting of eggs, potatoes, fruit, and a muffin. (Long with teas, coffees, juices). The house is just fantastic and in a great location with parking garage right behind it and only a block from the square. Definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking garage is a very short walk behind the Swope and very reasonable at $12 for 24 hours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Jumba, Owner at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Responded Aug 29, 2021
Thank you for recommending The Swope Manor we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ricky K wrote a review Feb 2023
Danielsville, Pennsylvania85 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found this B&B to be very nice. The staff was very friendly and the place has plenty of places to relax. The only negatives were that you have to pay for parking at the nearby parking garage and you may want to bring ear plugs for the fire trucks since the station is nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: You have to pay for parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from JohnJumba
Thank you for your interest in our restaurant, unfortunately due to unforeseen personal family issues with our chef the restaurant is temporarily closed at this time. We are not sure if the restaurant will be reopened by then or not. However if the restaurant is open the dress is casual. Thank you!
Wolfiewife asked a question Dec 2016
Bear, Delaware35 contributions12 helpful votes
Do you allow pets?
Answer from Swopemgr
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
No, sorry we do not.
cerc56 asked a question Jul 2016
Pompton Plains, New Jersey2 contributions1 helpful vote
is parking available and is it free?
Answer from Swopemgr
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
The township parking garage is directly behind the Inn and costs $10.00 for 24 hours. Regards, The Swope Manor PS: I used to live in Wayne
GayeLynn D wrote a tip May 2023
Salt Lake City, Utah4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere."
Read full review
Ricky K wrote a tip Feb 2023
Danielsville, Pennsylvania85 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to pay for parking "
Read full review
Peter1960 wrote a tip Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the back (e.g. Cabernet Suite or Jacob's Den) may be slightly quieter than those on the front."
Read full review
maxpaste wrote a tip Aug 2021
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania1,098 contribution352 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking garage is a very short walk behind the Swope and very reasonable at $12 for 24 hours"
Read full review
Scott wrote a tip Jun 2021
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful Victorian; history surrounds you; comfort everywhere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gettysburg area.
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaGettysburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Gettysburg Museum of History (0.2 miles), David Wills House (0.08 miles), and Lincoln Statue at Wills House (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a dishwasher.
What food & drink options are available at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Food 101, Garryowen Irish Pub, and The Gettysburger Company.
Is The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.10 miles away from the center of Gettysburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Little Round Top (2.7 miles), Shriver House Museum (0.3 miles), and Eisenhower National Historic Site (3.1 miles).
Does The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Gettysburg HotelsGettysburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GettysburgHotels near The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars