We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 503: English reviews
TOC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Trully the ongoing construction was not advertised, even after calling the hotel directly, no mention of the ongoing construction. No mention of the amenities that were under construction, i.e.., swimming pool, bar, and exercise room. However, it will be really nice once it is completed. I was disappointed that we were checked in by a trainee, but the service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank rempson1
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am starting to see a trend with Crowne Plaza. This is the 3rd one in 3 different cities I have stayed at in the past year or 2 and they have all been run down. They were probably nice in their hayday, but they have really not maintained or upgraded them. That said, the service was good. It's right... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
dallas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rudest people on the face of this earth. They never warned us about the construction that was going on nothing was open, restaurants, pools. They only thing that was open was their pockets, the extortion rate for one night of listening to jack-hammers, and a full blown makeover was 264.62 PER NIGHT.

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear Joe C, Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We're very sorry the ongoing construction prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We'd like to obtain additional information and have sent you a private message. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Regards, Tracy V.C Case Manager IHGService More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The entire lobby of this hotel was under construction. I mean all of it. So disappointing. Also asked for a late check out and the manager just flat out said "no". There was no discussion or anything. She couldn't have cared less. I travel a lot and have never had such disrespect especially given the state of this place.

Helpful?
Thank bjfitz
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear bjfitz, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had due to the ongoing construction. I would also like to apologize for any service deficiencies, and assure you that our team does not think the impact of the renovation upon our guests Should be taken lightly. We work hard to mitigate... More 

Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has tired decor, the carpet needed hoovering . Has hairdryer, iron + board, free wifi in the room,no safe in the room 2 3/4 beds. Your in the middle of nowhere with no close restaurants. We ate in the hotel and had a nice meal,but they put an 18% tip onto the bill automatically .

Helpful?
Thank David H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear David H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding our hotel decor, room amenities and... More 

Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Why you would try to keep a hotel open while the entire main level is gutted is beyond me. And they are short-staffed, to boot. We stayed there because of an event - i.e., we didn't really feel we had a choice - and truly regretted it. The room floors that have been renovated are nice except for some finishing... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJ K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear PJ K, Thank you for your stay and for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us to improve wherever possible. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and we are truly sorry for the disturbance caused by the renovations that... More 

Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in June 2016 while the hotel was being renovated. They tried hard not to cause any hardship on the guest. I know the hotel will be beautiful once it's completed. Thanks to the night engineer and management trainee for Always being there for us.

Helpful?
Thank CCDK
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear CCDK, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced due to the ongoing renovations. Rest assured that it is in our continued efforts to maintain and improve our amenities and services in order to be consistent in giving our valued guests the best hotel experience... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Inspite of the long construction,service at the hotel is great. Fast check in,clean comfortable rooms and bed.For me the Doorman is the feather in the hotel's cap.He remembers repeat guest and goes out of his way to make sure guest needs are met without pressure or expectation of tip which in my opinion anyone with tact or class would neglect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I spent 9 days at the Crown Plaza at 4010 City Ave in Philadelphia and DO NOT recommend to anyone...At present the whole bottom floor is under construction, the elevators were not working so I walked 8 flights of stairs, no access to ice machines or vending, breakfast was $15.00, no hot tub, pool or a tub in my room...... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsmkb1962
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear mrsmkb1962, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns during your recent business travel. I would like to apologize that the basement construction, elevators not to be working and lack of a tub in your bathroom was not up to the standards you did expect. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional... More 

Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not realize this hotel was under complete renovation construction from the IHG reservation site-until we got there. The back door was the entry area-and was dark and eerie when we arrived at 10pm on Friday night. Got into our room which appeared nice and turned the AC down and took our showers which the bathroom is very nice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank turkeyMiami
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review

Dear turkeyMiami, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with the room accommodations you received and the service from our staff. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
#51 of 84 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Address: 4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range: $170 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay