We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 764: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

mosquito in my room. Housekeeping had no insect spray. I had to go out at midnight and buy some. My face is covered in swollen red bite marks. Staff disinterested. This really shouldn't happen in an air B&B room let along a top end hotel

Helpful?
Thank deepvisual
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was in Philly on business and this hotel was convenient to my meetings. Staff was very casual and ill-trained. Coffee shop (Art-Bar) was dirty and unimpressive. Room was adequate and worn but clean. I travel frequently around the country and this was my first stay at a Sonesta property - I will not seek them out in the future.

Helpful?
Thank IndyMex
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. It's great to hear you gave us a try and found our location to be central and your guestroom to be clean, however, I wish you would have left feeling differently about us. We strive to provide excellent service and a memorable stay unique to Philadelphia and deeply... More 

Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were very pleased with this hotel - even better than we expected! The location was perfect: close to the trolley and train stations, and within walking distance of many of the city's attractions. Hearing of the expense to park, we did not rent a car, and had no problem at all getting anyplace we wanted to go. We put... More 

Helpful?
Thank mjmonch
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was wonderful to read the compliments you shared about our property, our central location and service from our team members. I will certainly share your wonderful compliments with them. We are so happy your stay was even better than expected and am looking forward to your next visit with us. Again, thank you for sharing how "fabulous"... More 

Ephrata, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a fabulous experience at this hotel. Everyone from the concierge, bellman, restaurant experience & our room -- everything was tremendous. Everyone was helpful and very courteous. The customer services beyond expectation!

Helpful?
Thank Janna210
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Janna, We are happy you had such a great time during your sisters weekend getaway! I am glad to see you enjoyed yourself during your stay and that our staff took extra special care to make your experience memorable. We think our team is tremendous too! We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Again, thank you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown is an excellent choice! The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. The beds and pillows after sightseeing all day are perfect. The bathrooms are sparkling clean and the mango scented toiletries are a treat. The service at the hotel is terrific. The staff is respectful, friendly, and always willing to help. Their restaurant recommendations are perfect. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alene S
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I are Journey fans and had seen them in concert in our area. When we noticed they would be 2 hours away in our favorite city we jumped! I did research for a great hotel with a rooftop pool instead of our usual hotel since it was going to be HOT. We booked the whole weekend since... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your sharing your feedback regarding your recent family weekend at the Sonesta Philadelphia.  It’s important to us that our guests have a relaxing and comfortable stay and we always want them to return. I wish you would have left feeling differently about us. We strive to provide excellent service and a memorable experience unique to Philadelphia... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel was very nice, in a good location in the center of Philly. When we checked in we were upgraded as part of our Expedia travel plan. the upgrade included club access which gave free breakfast and cocktails at night. Unfortunately the man at the desk did not tell us that this was closed on the weekend. He proceeded to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be nice and that you would stay again. I do apologize about the confusion upon check-in as the club lounge is closed on the weekends, however it's great to know you enjoyed some of... More 

Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel, nice location with friendly staff. The room was clean and spacious. Many great restaurants and bars as well as tourist attractions. 15 minute cab right to the stadium for concerts and sporting events. You will find out at the check it that parking costs $46 per night.

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank paulkD9528HB
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia! I am thrilled to hear you found our art hotel to be great with a nice location and friendly staff! We take great pride in our multi-million dollar upgrade and glad to know your room was clean and spacious. Regarding your parking comments, the rates for parking are... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

On our way to Rhode Island, we stopped in Philly for the day. We decided to stay and I found this place while we were eating dinner. The room was awesome, the halls seemed a bit run down. The desk attendant gave us the wrong room number so we had to go back to the lobby to start over. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kala J
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kala, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. I apologize about the confusion upon check-in, however I'm glad to hear it was quickly resolved and that you found your room to be "awesome"! We take great pride in our recent $30 million full property enhancement, including the hallways and I'm glad you found the bed to... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

What a great hotel. I was in town from Atlanta over the 4th of July weekend for a funeral. From the moment being met at the door by Paul who assisted my Mom with a wheelchair to Kyron Allen and the staff having a nice tray and sympathy card sign by the staff awaiting us in the room when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank D A
Jordan C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review

Dear DA, Thank you for your recent stay at the Sonesta Philadelphia. I am sorry about the circumstances of your trip, however I'm thrilled to hear that you received first class service from check in to check-out as that is out ultimate goal. I am pleased Paul and Kyron made such an impression and made your stay more enjoyable. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

546 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (286)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Club Junior King Suite (31)
Viewed
Club King City View Room (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Queen City View Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe King City View Room (23)
Viewed
Junior King Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,351 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#2 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the Best of Philly during your stay at our convenient and newly refreshed hotel. The only hotel located on Market Street west of City Hall we are surrounded by Philadelphia's most prominent businesses, hospitals, universities and government offices. The hotel is located just blocks from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, Amtrak's 30th Street Station and Philadelphia's historic sites and attractions. The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Liberty Bell, National Constitution Center, Independence Hall & Philadelphia Zoo are just a few of the Philadelphia attractions to experience during your getaway. Walk to Center City businesses, fine dining, upscale shopping, nightlife, museums, Rittenhouse Square, Avenue of the Arts-Theatre District & Antique Row. Experience professional sports with the Philadelphia Eagles and Phillies or visit top rated golf courses in the tri-state area. Sing-a-long to your favorite band at the nearby Wells Fargo Center and the Susquehanna Bank Center. Relax at our seasonal outdoor rooftop pool with views of the city. The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia features great hotel deals and packages for family travel and weekend escapes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Price Range: $180 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay