We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
One Dock Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Marriott Hotels
$256
View deal
Booking.com
$269
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$269
Travelocity$269
Destinia.com$341
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (43)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Philadelphia Marriott Old City
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 95 in Philadelphia
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
4.3
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
At Marriott Hotels & Resorts®, it's our mission to make every business trip a pleasure and every vacation the trip of a lifetime. Enjoy amenity-filled guest rooms, superb dining, exemplary meeting facilities and our time-honored 'spirit to serve®'.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid public parking nearby
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
110Reviews5Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 34
  • 14
  • 12
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CaptMancuso wrote a review Jun 26
North Garden, Virginia253 contributions171 helpful votes
This hotel is just not up normal Marriott standards and is priced above the quality of the actual service. When I arrived the valet parking attendant DEMANDED my car keys before I could even inquire about the terms and rates. (You can self-park in a nearby garage for about half of what the hotel wants for that service) The room was on the east side of the building facing I-95. The traffic noise wasn’t horrible in general but the random idiot on a Harley with no muffler or the 17-year-old yahoo with loud music and open exhaust made sleeping difficult. The AC in the room made a lot of noise. There was an alarm sounding continuously in the lobby one night that no one seemed interested in addressing. The shower head was sort of attached to the wall but not solidly. The clock in the room was damaged but functional. The overall feeling was that the management has just given up. Except for the parking attendant, the staff was polite and helpful. Either the prices need to be adjusted to match the low quality or they need new management.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: West side is likely better than the east side
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Rachel K wrote a review Jun 12
19 contributions4 helpful votes
As a mariott bonvoy member im really disappointed. Stayed for the night and reserved a suite with lounge access. When reserving with lounge access you will only be allowed to eat in lounge for breakfast when the room amenities say complimentary breakfast. I have traveled many places and staying in lounges you would expect a little more "upscale" then the $17 Continental breakfast they charge in the restaurant. I did not eat in the restaurant so I don't know what they served but I hope it is better than what they serve in this lounge. The eggs were hard yet watery the sausage was disgusting. Ended up having a bagel in a bag (couldn't even splurge for fresh bagels?l) Also the Starbucks coffee is in an urn you do not get the fresh coffee that they are pouring fresh in the lobby The room was "ok". There were stains all over the living room sofa and there was water in the middle of the entry way which we have no idea where it was coming from The a/c unit ran all night sounding like toilet was constantly running. The lights above the bed it took us a bit to figure out where the little black button was to turn the lights off. (On the left side of the bed on the head board there is a little black button that blends so it is hard to see) My family use to stay here years ago when it was the Sheraton and I will say this was really disappointing for a Marriot. All in all not worth any of the upgrades. Just get a standard room and pay for the Continental breakfast. Seems like you're punished for upgrading
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin R, Guest Services / Front Office at Philadelphia Marriott Old City
Responded 2 weeks ago
rachelkH4226SK: Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott Old City during your recent visit to Philadelphia! We truly value you as our guest and appreciate your business. We sincerely apologize for the less than satisfactory stay you endured. We have shared your concerns regarding our food offerings and room condition with our management team so we can work to avoid a similar guest experience in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Read more
bob wrote a review Jun 8
Lexington, Kentucky6 contributions
Great visit. Hotel staff at front desk was terrific. Evans and Thelma were not only helpful in securing a great room but were great resources in navigating this historic town. I was here for a conference and rooms were great and meals and breaks were served professionally and were tasty. This hotel is in walking distance of many of the historic sites here in the city. Tons of great eateries within walking distance as well as 2 convenient stores right across the street. A must stay if you are in Philly!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Try to get an upgraded room. I was able to get a king suite. Clean and very spacious. 15-20...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
673Bernadette673 wrote a review Jun 5
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania2 contributions
Latricia Wright served us, breakfast for two wonderful days. This place is great! Atmosphere is chill and cool. Latricia, was very friendly. She knows her job well, and served us with excellence, making for a great experience. Food was good!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin R, Guest Services / Front Office at Philadelphia Marriott Old City
Responded 3 weeks ago
673Bernadett673: Thank you for staying with us at the Philadelphia Marriott Old City! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Latricia could provide you with such great service. We will be sure to share it with her! We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back into town.
Read more
tanagogo1 wrote a review Jun 3
Marlow, United Kingdom1024 contributions433 helpful votes
A good business hotel in an excellent location. Stayed here for 5 nights and had a very comfortable stay. Room was large and well equipped. Rooms were cleaned daily which makes a nice change. Most hotels are not cleaning rooms (because of covid) but are not reducing prices…. There’s a good bar in a central location which makes for great networking. Recommended
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Dean wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York14 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed here for two nights in May for a wedding. The wedding was not actually at the hotel but this was where the wedding block was. The hotel has clearly been recently renovated, and it looks very nice, but it felt like they were just putting lipstick on a pig as the bones of the hotel are rough. As others have noted, the air conditioning was unbelievably loud. And not just solid white noise, it constantly made a popping/dripping sound, and every time the compressor would come on it sounded like a door slamming. I am not a light sleeper and this woke me up several times during both nights of my stay. I truly thought my a/c was just broken, and considered asking to switch rooms, until everyone else in our group was complaining about the same issue. I also did not find the customer service to be particularly kind. When I checked in they forgot to give me my wedding welcome bag. Then, I had requested and received a late checkout of 1pm, but on my last morning housekeeping knocked on my door three times, once at 9, again at 11:30, and again at 12:30, despite me having the privacy sign on the door. 9 and 11:30 are both before regular checkout time of 12pm, so that’s particularly bad. Surely they can see in the system that I had a late check out? Finally, the bar in the lobby is nice, but it does not attract a great crowd. When we got back to the hotel after the wedding at around 10pm, we were waiting for the elevator and when it opened a man came out with his belt undone and zipping up his pants. Upon entering the elevator we could see that he had clearly just peed in it. Literally why. This is certainly not the hotel’s fault, but it does speak to the type of people who are hanging around here for some reason. Anyways, I can appreciate that they are trying to make this hotel nicer than it is, but I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
John Yancey wrote a review May 2022
Farmington, Utah11 contributions1 helpful vote
Good location and comfortable rooms but we experienced some problems. On our second morning, there was no hot water for a showers due to a boiler problem. Also, in one of the two rooms we had, there was no shampoo. No free breakfast here. No self parking and valet parking is $50 per day.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: About a 10-15 minute walk to the Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall, etc.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
NCFlyer wrote a review May 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
I found this to be a very good hotel. High points are as follows: -M Club lounge is open (seems like the downtown Marriott on Market St still has their lounge closed hence why I came over here). 24/7 access is nice. No evening food per say but soft drinks and coffee were available. I love going into the lounge at 5am to get a fresh cup of coffee from the fancy European style coffee machine. -Society Commons was very nice for an evening meal and beverage -Fitness center on the 4th floor is nice - it’s very open and the skylights make it feel big -Rooms are renovated throughout -Staff were very friendly - one morning we had no hot water but they were kind and gave us bonus points - isolated incident I’m sure and not all rooms were affected. My only issue is that the hotel is valet parking only - I was using ride share to get around so no issue for me but when I have a car, I avoid any hotels with valet only as I like keeping my keys on me.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
sitzmark60 wrote a review May 2022
Barnegat, New Jersey20 contributions8 helpful votes
Located in the heart of old town, this Marriott is within walking distance to great restaurants and the historic district of Old Philadelphia. We stayed for a weekend and it made a great central location for walking to everything we needed or wanted to see. The hotel has a great feeling to it and is clean and well staffed. Everyone was friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Chuck419 wrote a review May 2022
Maplewood, New Jersey91 contributions27 helpful votes
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, that was a huge part of why the rating wasn't somewhat lower for this stay. One night, we ordered pizza for our team but the lobby was full, so they let us use an empty banquet hall, which was definitely above and beyond. The location is also great, as it was just a short walk from most of the touristy things we wanted to do, and we could walk to the Convention Center in less than 30 minutes, which was fine. The lower score comes from the room itself. Noise was a significant problem, to the point that it was hard to sleep, and for an athlete that had to compete in an early morning competition, that is something to consider for future visits. Inside the room, the air conditioning was very noise, actually sounding like it had a popcorn popper inside it. Our room was on the highway side, and the noise of cars racing on the road at night was extremely loud. There was also a wedding on Saturday night, and even though it was three floors below, it sounded like we were in the room with them. Others from our group who stayed on the other side of the hotel said that the noise from the bar kept them up, so complaining about the placement of the room didn't appear to make a difference, which is why we didn't. We also had to prompt multiple times every day to get towels, which was a bit annoying. On the day of our check-out, I had to go down to the desk to ask again, which made a hectic morning a little crazier. I might consider staying again if it was for the tourist attractions, but for a tournament, I think the inability to get a good night's sleep would drive me to another location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristin R, Guest Services / Front Office at Philadelphia Marriott Old City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Chuck419: Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott Old City during your recent visit to Philadelphia! We truly value you as our guest and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory due to the noise levels in the hotel from other guests and the HVAC unit. We understand how important a quiet night's sleep is, especially when traveling, and again we are sorry this did not happen. Your feedback has been shared with our leadership team so we can work to avoid a similar guest experience in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$248 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton society hill hotel philadelphia, sheraton hotel philadelphia, sheraton philadelphia, philadelphia sheraton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPhiladelphiaCity Center East
NUMBER OF ROOMS
364
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Philadelphia Marriott Old City
Which popular attractions are close to Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Nearby attractions include Olde City Escape Games (0.2 miles), Kick Axe Throwing Philadelphia (0.3 miles), and Museum of the American Revolution (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zahav, The Franklin Fountain, and Amada.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Philadelphia Marriott Old City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Philadelphia Marriott Old City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.