We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Visit hotel website
2 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (70)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (10)


GreenLeaders Bronze level
The "Old City" meets edgy glam at the Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Our hotel was conceived in homage to historical details of old Philadelphia fused with a modern energy. Walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Franklin Square and the Philadelphia Convention Center. Revel in a rejuvenating retreat in our stylish rooms. We deliver comfort and convenience with complimentary Wi-Fi, plush bedding and 55-inch LCD TVs. Chez Ben, our on-site restaurant, is an all-day Bistro serving French classics with contemporary American twists. Sip, savor and enjoy the moment at M.Brown's Bar in the lobby. Keep up with your active lifestyle at our indoor pool and fitness center. Elevate your wedding reception or business meeting with our available catering services. Whether you're embarking on a leisurely getaway or productive corporate travels, the Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel is sure to please.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Paid public parking on-site
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Public wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
Park View
Great View
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals
122Reviews26Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 54
  • 34
  • 19
  • 5
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We enjoyed our long weekend visiting Philly for the first time. Two blocks from all the history: The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, The American Revolution Museum, Market Street for food. A few more blocks you’ve got The Mint, Betsy Ross’s House. This hotel has a nice boutique type of vibe. It’s smaller and intimate. The pool and hot tub in the basement is like a Roman bath and was clean and well maintained. Our king size bed room was larger than you would expect and newly updated with large shower, Aveda toiletries, and Keurig coffee. There’s a small restaurant off the lobby. Most rooms look out on Chestnut St and you can see The Second Bank with it’s gothic style marble columns and open grassy parks. No wonder there were two wedding receptions here! We would definitely return.
Read more
There was so much noise from a family with little kids and from wedding guests in our hallway on the 11th floor. Plus, the DING from the elevator All Night Long kept us up. We were in room 1101. And we mentioned the elevator DING to another couple in our hallway, and they said it kept them up, too. We cut our time short and checked into a different hotel for the remainder of our trip.
Read more
Response from Emmarenaissance, Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Good Morning! This is Emma Williams, Director of Rooms at the Renaissance Downtown Hotel. I wanted to reach out with regard to your review. Based on your comments it seems as though you experienced a number of issues while staying with us and for that I am truly sorry. It seems as though you experienced a busy night in the hotel. While our hotel has many benefits, those same benefits can work against us on any given night. Again I am very sorry if you were disturbed in anyway by the hustle and bustle of the hotel and or the area. As I have not had the pleasure of being a guest, I do appreciate you sharing what you experienced. I find it very helpful when guests let us know these types of things. I truly believe all feedback is good feedback as it helps us better understand our strengths and weaknesses. How we stand out from other hotels is by ever changing and evolving to meet our guests needs so thank you. I will certainly share your feedback with each department head so we can correct these issues. While I know this does not correct what you experienced with us, I hope it is a step in the right direction. It is our goal that each and every guest leaves happy so again I am very sorry we were unable to achieve that with you. While you did not enjoy your time here I hope you did enjoy Philadelphia.
Read more
Came into town for wedding- this was one of the recommended hotels -reception was there. The location is great- it was so much fun to explore the downtown area. The room was very large and staff was very nice and helpful. The water they have out daily w lemons/limes was very refreshing. The hotel is down the street from main attractions- Liberty Bell. Lots of restaurants in the area- which we tried- Jones, Luna, and a great old fashioned pizza parlor! Great place to stay.
Read more
Response from GCRenaissance, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi H H, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and let us know about your positive experience with us. I'm happy we were able to share such a special experience with you all and we hope to see you again soon. Take care!
Read more
Our family stayed at the Renaissance for three nights last week. We were in town as part of our summer vacation to see the sights in Philly. I have to agree with the other reviewers that the hotel location was excellent. We chose to self-park right around the corner and basically left the car for three days while we explored the City. We were very close to Independence Hall and the related buildings... and either walked to other locations of interest (Reading Terminal) or took an Uber (to the Eastern Penitentiary, etc.). We were also a short walk to the ferry dock, which goes to the Camden waterfront (for the aquarium and the Battleship New Jersey). The hotel staff was very friendly and responsive to our requests. Tim, the bartender, had great suggestions for local restaurants to try. Our dinner at FARMiCiA (which he recommended) was one of our best meals during our visit. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was a little on the weak (and salty) side, but there are plenty of other options around if it doesn’t suit your taste. Some rooms must come with breakfast included...ours did not. Overall, our room was large and updated and comfortable. It had all we needed for an enjoyable stay. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.
Read more
Response from GCRenaissance, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Sarah-Cat69, We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Philadelphia. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.We appreciate your staying with us and value your honest feedback. I'm so glad your stay was to your liking, and thank you for taking the time to mention our team! They work very hard to offer a great guest experience and I'm happy it shows. Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel and we hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Philadelphia.
Read more
We stayed here two nights and enjoyed the location! The walls are thin and all conversations in the hall sound like people are yelling, every door slams...every time. That was the worst part. Overall I’d recommend it with a white noise app on your phone.
Read more
Response from GCRenaissance, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi patties188, thank you for taking the time to write us your review. I'm sorry the noise bothered you during your stay. it's quite unusual. We did have quite a few wedding groups in house so perhaps with all the back and forth to events is what was the cause of it. Again please allow me to apologize it certainly is not the norm here and I hope you will give us another opportunity to wow you next time! Take care!
Read more
$187 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
omni hotel philadelphia, omni hotel independence park, omni philadelphia
United StatesPennsylvaniaPhiladelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing