We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 953: English reviews
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Sheraton is in quite good location if you are visiting Penn University ,or Penn Hospital .Nice size room ,may need some updating generally this hotel is nice overall . Breakfast is available at nearby Axis pizza shop .Coffee is served free in the morning in the hotel lobby .

Helpful?
1 Thank gsb706
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent a night here while in town dropping off our child for school. The only room left when I made the reservation was a King Suite. I was well treated by the staff. They made me feel welcome and important. The suite was spacious and the bathroom had lots of nice touches with toiletries and a scrub scrub in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregg H
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Clean rooms and very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. Parking should be included for guests or at least a cheaper rate. Other than that, everything was good. Hotel should get a shuttle as well so people can utilize the Phlash easier.

Helpful?
Thank Tricia Z
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tricia. Thank you for sharing your review. We are always glad to accommodate visitors to CHOP and we are so glad our staff took good care of you. Many thanks Joe Kelly General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Ron Wade really helped make my stay memorable. Great customer service: early checkin, directions to nearby eateries, change for laundry, late cleanup of the room -- he was there when I needed him and I appreciated his responsiveness!

Helpful?
1 Thank 217travelme
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your 5 POINT REVIEW and recognizing our superstar Ron at the front desk. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards Joe Kelly General Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel while travelling through to NYC. The rooms are large, comfortable king size bed and good size bathroom. The main reason I am giving this hotel and average rating is that the airconditioning unit in our room was very noisy so got very little sleep. A really good feature of this hotel is the Asian restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica K
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Erica, Thanks for your review. If you can contact us and tell us your room number we will follow up on the air conditioner issue. Thank you for staying with us. Joe Kelly General Manager More 

Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Electricity was down for several hours. No generator, no A/C, no lights, no computers so could not even check in at 3pm nor 11. We had to move to a different hotel at 11pm without any help or accomodation from hotel staff. Manager said I would get a refund but I had to ask several times before even getting an... More 

Helpful?
Thank invinceable3
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the power outage that disrupted our hotel two weeks ago. The issue was not on the hotel property but was a localized power outage that affected several buildings throughout University City. We did learn some things from the power outage that we will use to be better prepared in the future. Unfortunately, our emergency generator... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to Philadelphia late (flight was delayed) and the original hotel we reserved at was booked so we were transferred to Sheraton. Although annoyed at first, I was glad we came here instead!! Val at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating, and we want to especially thank Corey. His welcoming attitude and professionalism with us were truly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 16Musical
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Musical. We are glad we had an opportunity to make a bad situation better! Thank you for your recognition of out desk team. We are so glad they could help make your stay a pleasant one. See you next time Joe Kelly General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Sheraton on chestnut is an amazing place to stay. Close to everything and great hospitality. Close to the stadiums and plenty of high quality restaurants. Beautiful rooms with plenty of great features and great views of the cit. Highly recommend for all types of visits!

Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anthony It's always nice to see a review that starts with AMAZING HOTEL! Our location is great for sure and we are glad you got to enjoy our Philadelphia neighborhood and our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. All the best Joe Kelly General Manager More 

Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed this hotel. Everything done right from the comfort/sleep quality to the great location by all the universities, yet walking distance from downtown. Even enjoyed the Chinese restaurant/noodle house that is part of the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank MadeInFlorida
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Hello MadeinFlorida We love being loved! Thanks for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We hope you will visit us again soon. Many thanks! Joe Kelly General Manager More 

Islip, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a bad place to stay, it is definitely an older hotel starting to show its age but overall it's a decent place to stay for a night in the university city area. The service I thought was good, check in and check out was seamless. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We only stayed one night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ston3Soup
JKelly2015, General Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review. Our property will be undergoing an extensive continuation of our renovations this winter so we hope on a future visit we can welcome you back. Sincerely Joe Kelly General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

317 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (141)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Club King Room (26)
Viewed
Club Two Double Room (35)
Viewed
Junior King Suite with Sofa Bed (42)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#6 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#19 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Price Range: $150 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay