We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Philadelphia

Rodeway Inn Center City

Save
1208 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5401
Lowest prices for your stay
RodewayInn
$99
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/20
Booking.com
$99
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/05/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$112
$98
View Deal
SAVE $14
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com$112
Agoda.com$99
Priceline$99
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (109)
Room & Suite (63)
Bathroom (17)

About

#49 of 92 hotels in Philadelphia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Car hire
Taxi service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located, Business
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
699Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 274
  • 227
  • 72
  • 40
  • 86
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I heard some mixed reviews about this hotel as I investigate these kinds of things before reserving. The area around the hotel is a little questionable during the night (overall, it was safe, but you must be mindful of your surroundings as is the case in most big cities), but the hotel itself is wonderful. The entire staff proved friendly, informative, and helpful. The rooms were well maintained overall (minus a few marks here and there). The view from my window wasn't spectacular I'll admit. (the walls of another building nearly devoid of catching sunlight). The location as far as traveling around the city via walking is very good. There are several excellent restaurants nearby and whether you want to go to Chinatown, see the historic sights, or even visit the Gayborhood, you can reach all of these places with ease. Perhaps having a complimentary breakfast or gym would really make this place stand out as truly exceptional, but I have no major complaints. I would gladly stay here again and recommend to others in need of a place to stay.
Read more
Response from Rodeway_Inn_Philly, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Andrew, Thanks for taking the time to post this review. The staff - front desk, housekeeping and management work hard to offer an experience that is satisfying and enjoyable. Every now and again we make a mistake and more times than not a previous employe like the two reviews before your post. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your staff and our quaint neighbourhood. As for the breakfast, we are going to consider that and we called the painter today to touch up the room you stayed in. Thanks Brian K. Rodeway Inn Center City
Read more
Please beware. I would get a written confirmation of their terms and conditions PRIOR to booking here! I made a reservation through booking.com & while a no cancellation policy WAS clearly stated, a required $500 security deposit was NOT....UNTIL the reservation (which per their policy could not be cancelled) was NOT. Given that this detail was nowhere any person might reasonably find it....I can only presume it is their intention to scam people.
Read more
Response from Rodeway_Inn_Philly, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you for the review. As you know I issued a credit today and apologized for your issue with booking.com. As I stated in my email I am not a fan of booking.com. They can say anything to get you to book many times leaving the hotel to deal with the fallout. Guests asked me all the time "why does the hotel deal with booking.com"? And my response is always the same. We don't want to but we can't control the internet. Regardless of the commercials on television booking direct is the cheapest and safest way to book. Should you decide to stay at the Rodeway in the future check the price on booking.com and call me direct for the best available rate. Brian K Manager
Read more
I stayed at this place for 3 nights to attend the event PAX Unplugged. Checked in December 5th and checked out December 8th. The first night I had no heat in my room. This is winter time so it was a big issue and it was also $280 US per night. I had asked the front desk to turn up the heat. They agreed and told me it will take up to 30 minutes to heat the room. I surrounded myself in the little bit of blankets they had in the room and it was still cold well after 30 minutes. I needed to sleep and eventually i felt warm enough to sleep. Woke up very early in the morning and the room was extremely cold. No heat came into my room at all. I went down in the morning to complain about the heat. They said they would look into it. I had asked for a discount for the issue and was told they would need to ask the owner. I went to my event and left earlier to check on my hotel around 5pm. I was told I had been moved rooms because the heat did not work and they would investigate. I went to the new room only to find it also had no heat. I asked again for heat to be turned on. They told me they had central air and that the heat is working. They told they just received in portable heaters so i asked them for 2 of them. No heat came through the vents and i had asked about the discount for the lack of heat. The girl repeatedly kept saying she was sorry but nothing can be done. She told me no one complains about the heat but the night i atrived me and 2 other friends sat in the lobby listenjng to someone else complain about the heat. I asked if they had spoken to the owner and she did not know. I went for a walk not too far away when i received a call on my phone. The girl from the front desk contacts me and tells me the owner told her that they can refund me for the Sunday stay if i check out right away. I was confused. Saturday night was paid for but they insisted I check out right away to only be refunded for the Sunday and they take my money for the Saturday which means I need to pay for two nights at another hotel. This seemed unreasonable and the lady at the desk told me i had to decide right away. I asked to speak to the owner myself but was dismissed by her and the owner who she called saying he was too busy to deal with me. I decided to stay with it still being cheaper than paying for two nights anywhere else. The final night was different. I came back very late around midnight and went into my room. To my surprise I had heat coming from the vents. I was happy about this but in my happiness had realized that the place I was staying was purposefully not turning on the heat. The next morning i woke up to no heat again but was focused on checking out and leaving. I checked out but was never offered any discount for the lack of heat and the offer i was given was just flat out insulting. I would not recommend this place and if I could give it a negative rating in stars I would definitely do so. Steer clear of this place they dont care about your comfort just taking your money and getting away with whatever they can.
Read more
Response from Rodeway_Inn_Philly, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City
Responded Dec 10, 2019
Thank you for the review. It is odd though because the notes in your account say "guest appeared happy Saturday morning. Only used space heaters to dress." Although I am sorry you had a problem the first night I am sorrier we didn't offer you a refund Saturday morning and ask you to leave, oh wait we did. As you note in your essay you chose a budget hotel because it was in your price range. Being a budget hotel is no excuse for bad service in any way but I would suggest making wiser reservation decisions in the future. It seems the entire staff did the best they could to accommodate your requests including offering to help you relocate. I am happy to say that everyone else using us for the convention seemed to enjoy their stay worry-free. Thanks again for the review. You were given the owners number Saturday morning to raise your concerns and ask for a refund. Feel free to still use it. I have forwarded your review the owner. As was explained to you Saturday morning he is reasonable and we forwarded your concerns then. Rodeway Inn
Read more
We were there for a medical procedure of several days—a short walk away—which could not have been more convenient. However, this little friendly hotel could not have been more ideally located, walking distance to both fast and fine dining (superb Japanese restaurant literally next door to the hotel), Wawa on the corner of Broad and Walnut, our favorite dried fruit and nuts shop (Nuts to You) on Walnut, and everything in the Historic Area (Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, Penn’s Landing, Italian and Reading Markets, art museums, Franklin Science Institute, head-to-head competition for the best Philly cheesesteak sandwich, and much, much more easily accessible by a short cab ride. A small, comfortable lobby allows guests to wait away from the weather for, say, a cab ride. The small hotel staff are the best: cheerful, upbeat, and helpful—Brian’s good management trickles down. Reasonably priced for a heart-of-the-city hotel. Could not have been more ideal, and should we return to Philadelphia, we will assuredly stay at rhe Rodeway Inn again!
Read more
Response from Rodeway_Inn_Philly, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City
Responded Dec 9, 2019
Thank you for the kind words about the Rodeway Inn Center City. Certainly glad to see that we seemed to have hit the right mark during your stay. Brian K. Rodeway Inn Center City
Read more
It was meant to be a short 1 night stay for a short business trip for twin sharing. Rooms at downtown Philly are generally not cheap. We had a TWO double bed room at Rodeway Inn which fits our budget. Rodeway Inn is a small boutique style hotel which is perfect for short stay. THE ROOM: We booked a TWO double-bed room. We were initially given a smaller room but the room was not ready so Brian at front desk gave us another room which was a little bigger & nicer. Love the 2nd room, it was nice & clean. THE SERVICE: We were checked-in by Brian. Brian was friendly and helpful. LOCATION: Walking distance (about 10min walk) to READING TERMINAL which is a big food court with wide array of food stalls. Didn’t have time to roam around the city, so can’t tell much otherwise. OVERALL Happy with the room, service and location for our short stay purpose.
Read more
Response from Rodeway_Inn_Philly, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City
Responded Nov 26, 2019
Dear, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for kind words. After 42 years behind a front desk I still like to know that I can hit the right mark with a guest. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brian K. Manager Rodeway Inn (215) 546-7000
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rodeway inn center city hotel philadelphia, rodeway inn philadelphia, philadelphia rodeway inn
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPhiladelphia
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rodeway Inn Center City
Which popular attractions are close to Rodeway Inn Center City?
Nearby attractions include Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.2 miles), Wanamaker Organ (0.2 miles), and City Hall Visitor Center (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rodeway Inn Center City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and facilities for disabled guests.
Which room amenities are available at Rodeway Inn Center City?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
Is parking available at Rodeway Inn Center City?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rodeway Inn Center City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vedge, Butcher and Singer, and Vetri Cucina.
Does Rodeway Inn Center City have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Rodeway Inn Center City offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Rodeway Inn Center City located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Philadelphia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rodeway Inn Center City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Rodeway Inn Center City?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Battleship New Jersey (1.7 miles), Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul (0.7 miles), and Independence National Historical Park (0.8 miles).
Is Rodeway Inn Center City accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.