We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
164 Old Mammoth Road, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel$247
Lol.travel
Etrip$247
eDreams
travelup.com
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (425)
360
Panoramas (90)
Room & Suite (376)

About

#6 of 32 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. Currently during COVID, we are adhering to all County Health Regulations and will not be offering stayover service, if you do need anything we ask that you call between business hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Ski rentals
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Skiing
Fishing
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1123Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 609
  • 248
  • 127
  • 59
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John Hatzis wrote a review Mar 2022
Rancho Palos Verdes, California286 contributions56 helpful votes
I visited Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa in March 2022 for a ski trip with a friend. I was not impressed. For having paid as much as we did (>$300 per night, excluding "resort fee") I would have expected a clean room with modern furnishings. Instead, we found a dirty room that was very dated. The carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in quite some time. The most disgusting thing was that I found someone's hair on my pillow. Furthermore, they claim they do not offer room service due to covid. That is a weak excuse, because the county did not even have a mask mandate. It is a mere cost cutting measure, nothing else. So, for a high price, we get dated, dirty rooms, and all the pleasure of making our own beds. When I return to Mammoth, I'll look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexa A, Other at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 14, 2022
Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that you had a less then desirable experience during your stay. I assure you, not offering room services has nothing to do with cutting costs however, has been implemented by the Mono County Health Department for the safety of our guests and staff members. I am sorry if this caused any inconvenience and hope you understand. Our hotel will be undergoing renovations this year and I hope you will stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mel C wrote a review Jan 2022
Signal Hill, California1 contribution
It feels like they’ve given up. There’s no cleaning because, you know, COVID, but it seems like there’s a safe way to clean an occupied room just like a vacated room but I could forgive that if they provided clean towels, TP, or trash bags or the price reflects what they’re saving in cleaning costs, but it doesn’t and they don’t . The staff reacts to every question as if they’re hearing the words for the very first time, not sure what’s going on there. The carpets are a biological disaster and a lot more effort should should made to clean them on a regular basis. The mattresses are too hard, the pillow flat and formless so there’s no comfortable way to sleep and you’ll wake up sore and tire if you manage to get any sleep at all. The WiFi is a joke, even during the day when most all the guests are gone if you can connect to it the speed is very slow. I guess the long and the short of it is they should update/renovate the things I’ve mentioned and train their staff. Even cleaning during COVID can be done safely but to not do anything at all is really disgusting for their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kristin M wrote a review Jun 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
From the moment we arrived for our stay we were greeted by professional and friendly staff. Jess was so helpful and made our stay awesome from the time she checked us into our room. I highly recommend the double connecting rooms for families and it was clean, nice and newly remodeled it seemed and perfect for us and our 3 young children. I have to say we made an instant friend in Paul as well. Superior service and as my kids now say he is their new friend! Thank you for your amazing hospitality and all that you and your team did to go out of your way and make a trip one we won’t forget! Highly recommend to anyone staying in the Mammoth area to check out this place. Friendly hospitality and great people are what make up the charm of a hotel in my opinion and this place did not disappoint.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Tons of parking, check out the mini golf course with the kids, the Gondola ride in the summer...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jess Karell, Sales at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Responded Oct 15, 2021
Hi Kristin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay in our conjoining Fireplace suit and Deluxe double queen room. We hope you will come stay with us again in the near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
diver-traveller1 wrote a review Jun 2021
Ventura, California82 contributions33 helpful votes
Great customer service makes a life long client. Wish all hotels had a manager like Paul. He made my day and holiday!! I only make recommendations when a place really deserves it. Rarely is it just about a person but thrilled to be shouting kudos out to Paul. And thanks for the dinner recommendations as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: For after hours problems, there is a phone number to on premise manager. Super helpful!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Bcm1976 wrote a review May 2021
Chicago, Illinois7 contributions2 helpful votes
This was a two story motel that they slapped some paint on it and called it a four star hotel. This place smells of mildew in the rooms with the remnants of yesteryear smoke smell. The AC roared all night long, but was simply to hot to turn it off in the room. You come to the Sierras and pay price for a “4-Star” hotel but you will look out the window to car bumpers, power lines and another dilapidated motel across the parking lot. AC filters were of extreme filth (See pictures). Do yourself a favor and don’t ruin your vacation; get another place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rich wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were extremely disappointed in this hotel. Firstly they charge a 'resort fee' but do not provide year-round amenities that reflect a resort i.e hot tub, pool, mini-golf. We did stay here in February during Covid so didn't expect these facilities to be operational. when we enquired whether we'd still be shared for them we were informed that the resort-fee in the winter was for wi-fi and 'on-site' parking!??? On check-in we enquired whether there was a fridge and microwave in our room - kind of essential in Covid. The receptionist was unable to tell us, as she didn't know whether maintenance had returned them to the rooms - we landed a microwave but no fridge or kettle/coffee maker. Room was clean but poorly maintained as were the corridors - the door frame in our black had been exposed and there were holes in the sheet rock. All this for $255 a night! I wrote to the hotel following our visit to inform them of our disappointment and have yet to receive a response. No suprises there. AVOID this Hotel, they fail to understand the word hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
TravelwithSam86 wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoy the Sierra Nevada Resort! We have stayed here a handful of times. The most recent we got a king suite with an adjoining room. We are a family of 4 and the size was perfect for us to not feel like we were on top of one another. One of the best things is the location. Easily walk to restaurants, shopping, and the walking path. The staff was extremely kind and helpful throughout our weekend with all of the questions we had. They gave great recommendations for what to do around town with the restrictions that the county was under.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rebecca S wrote a review Oct 2020
Belmont Ca usa9 contributions3 helpful votes
I saw this motel selling itself as a step above. Wrong! I paid a high price for a low experience. Restaurants were closed, as well as the spa, pool, and jacuzzi. The room was extremely modest, if it had been half the price, I wouldnt complain, but after two nights, I left feeling ripped off . They’ll probably claim COVID regulations are behind their shortcomings. The day before checking in, they were still advertising their spa. Don’t waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Brian wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in one of the fireplace suites and got the adjoining room for our kids. The room was spacious, well stocked, very clean and super comfortable. The staff was kind and accommodating and the property was beautiful. We couldn't have had a better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MariaVG wrote a review Sep 2020
Houston92 contributions52 helpful votes
Probably one of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed - and the prices they charged with all the “add-one” were outrageous!! We arrived after traveling all day, just dying for a glass of water. Walked into our dingy room to find they had locked up all the kitchen cabinets. A call to the front desk was a joke. My husband finally managed to get the cabinets open so we could have a glass of water. We couldn’t get any water out of the shower. Another call to the front desk. When we did get water it took literally ten minutes to get hot water. The bed was old and lumpy. The furniture was old, stained and nasty. The whole place had a nasty, musty smell. There was hardly any light in the room, the floor creaked, the heater sounded like a jet engine. We were there during the fires and we would rather be outside with the smoke than be in the room. Don’t let the photos fool you - I don’t know where they got those photos but our room was nothing like them!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$241 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sierra nevada hotel mammoth lakes
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sierra Nevada Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMammoth Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Footloose Sports (0.2 miles), Wave Rave Snowboard Shop (0.3 miles), and Mono Arts Council (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mogul Restaurant, Good Life Cafe, and Roberto's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Mammoth Lakes.
Are pets allowed at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.