We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

Save
Share
50 Hillside Drive, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$313
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Westin.com
$313
View deal
Trip.com
$285
View deal
Priceline$313
eDreams$313
Prestigia.com$327
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (583)
360
Panoramas (89)
Room & Suite (415)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Updated 07/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 34 hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth in Mammoth Lakes, California is a hotel that enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
55Somewhat walkable
Grade: 55 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1520Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 801
  • 436
  • 146
  • 83
  • 54
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sea2seea wrote a review Sep 15
Newport Beach, California50 contributions49 helpful votes
Westin Mammoth is getting better. I stayed there early July with my family, the suite was big and the location is excellect. I stayed there again early September, in a newly remodeled suite, it was so much cleaner and nicer. The hotel staff members are all super helpful and the breakfast is very good (however, more menu selection is needed). Being a elite member, you will get a voucher for 2 free breakfast each morning. The national parks and lakes in the area are all closed due to Tahoe fire until 9/17/2021, so all the scenic hiking trails are closed. That was super disappointing to us. I would wait until 9/17 before returnning. Love the mexican restuarant Gomez across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shep Killion, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Responded 3 days ago
Dear sea2seea, Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Shep
Read more
cstcyr77 wrote a review Sep 15
Redondo Beach, California61 contributions27 helpful votes
Upon arrival the hotel looked promising. The main lobby was sparkling clean and the employees at the desk very personable. Our room was room 323. Stepping off the elevator there was a noticeable difference. The carpet was filthy. Vacuuming would have easily remedied the issue. Upon entering the room I was certainly underwhelmed. Old furnishings with obvious wear. The carpet was worn, stained and literally had a patched hole in it. The tile and grout in the bathroom was stained with grime. The tub was also well worn with many chips in the enamel. The bed was one of the least comfortable I’ve experienced in a while. The sheets super scratchy and the heaviest, most rough blankets! I should have asked for a room change but we arrived at 10:30 pm with a child and just needed to sleep. In the morning I tried to use the mini fridge to store drinks. Foul smelling water came rushing out. This was reported to the front desk who addressed the malfunctioning fridge but in the process spilled the foul water on the already gross carpet. We could barely stand the stench but we’re checking out the next morning so chose to stick it out. Perhaps we simply Recieved an older room and had poor luck but my husband is a high level bonvoy member. One would think more attention would be paid to these things. Positives- ski lift is located right at the hotel. Dogs are welcome Easy parking Pleasant staff
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid room 323
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shep Killion, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Responded 5 days ago
Dear cstcyr77, Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the poor guest experience you encountered during your stay. We have been scheduled to undergo a renovation since the Spring of 2020. Due to Covid it was delayed until September of this year so that unfortunately is part of the reason for the hotel being a bit run down. That said, it is no excuse for the issues you encountered and the impact it had on your stay. I hope you will allow us another opportunity after the remodel is completed in December. I guarantee you will have a much more pleasant experience with us the next time around. Sincerely, Shep Killion Front Office Shift Manager
Read more
mammothrox wrote a review Aug 2021
Newport Beach, California, United States29 contributions31 helpful votes
We and our friends rented 8 rooms for 3 and 4 days at the beginning of August. Beautiful views, quiet, professional, bell and valet services, concierge, restaurant, bar, gym pool, jacuzzi, and room service. The front desk welcomes and greets each guest providing a first class service starting from the valet to the front desk and management!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Most rooms have various views of the mountains, some have pool views and others have gondola views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shep Killion, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mammothrox, Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you again this winter once we have completed our renovation! Best, Shep
Read more
Ohtobeinsandiego wrote a review Aug 2021
California323 contributions155 helpful votes
I have to assume some of our experience can be attributed to challenges brought on by Covid, but, the shabiness of the hall-way carpeting, the stained carpet in the room and the debris in the hallway that remained there during our stay could not be explained by Covid. Check-in went okay. During check-in, I noticed some guests were offered glasses of sparkling wine and thanked for being an elite member of Bonvoy. We were not offered the sparkling wine or recognized for our loyalty to Bonvoy. (Yeah, a dumb name....) I assumed the sparkling was being offered to members of a wedding party or other special event. Arrived at our room and immediately noticed that the door was propped open and unsecured. I returned to the front desk and asked for another room. Front desk staff indicated they were sold out and would come up to the room and ensure it was empty and clean. While standing there, I saw another staffer asked a random person walking through the lobby if they wanted some sparkling wine. Now my curiousity was peaked. If random peopler were being offered a drink, it must not be for a special event. Staffer arrived at our room, checked the room and said everything was fine. I asked what the deal was with the sparkling wine and he replied that it was offered at check in. I replied that it was not offered to us and he said I could go down to the desk and get one....First, the sparkling wine was probably not that great, but it was the idea that some guests were being offered it just walking through the lobby, and we, as elite members of their loyalty program were not. And, to suggest we could go down to the lobby and get a glass seemed to lack proper customer service. After the staffer left, we realized the carpet was stained and obviously needed to be replaced, as did the torn and stretched carpeting in the hall. Plus the room was kind of beat up, with gouges and signs of wear noticeable. One positive note, I called management to complain about the lack of acknowledgement and wine situation and they sent up a bottle of red, so that was a good recovery. After a long day on the road, we ordered room service since dining options in the hotel were limited. The menu was limited, too, but service was timely and the food was good and went well with our comped bottle of wine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Somers, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Dear Ohtobeinsandiego, Thank you for taking the time to write concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the poor guest experience you encountered during your stay. Our hotel was slated for renovation in Spring of 2020, but because of Covid it was delayed until this September so that unfortunately is part of the reason for the hotel being a bit run down. That being said it is no excuse for not being recognized for your elite status and poor customer service. Again thank you for your comments including the positive feedback. I hope you will allow us another opportunity after the remodel is completed in December to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.
Read more
Family T wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Sandra provided real stand-out service on a recent stay to Mammoth. She went out of her way to make sure everything was comfortable and that everyone was taken care of and had a great time. Wanted to say thank you for making visitors feel so at home and welcome!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Leisha Baldwin, General Manager at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Dear 513family, Thank you for taking the time to relay your experience at our hotel! We truly appreciate our guests' feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that Sandra made you all feel at home. Our staff strives to offer our guests a warm welcome and outstanding Mammoth experiences. We hope to see you again at the Westin Monache! Warm regards, Leisha
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin monache resort mammoth hotel mammoth lakes, westin monache hotel mammoth, westin mammoth lakes, mammoth lakes westin
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMammoth Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Nearby attractions include Clocktower Cellar (0.2 miles) and Community Skis (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skadi, Burgers Restaurant, and Petras Wine Bar and Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Mammoth Lakes.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.