We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10400 Minaret Rd, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/30/22
Travelocity
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/30/22
Trip.com
$122
View deal
Priceline$149
Booking.com$149
ZenHotels.com$168
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (877)
360
Panoramas (101)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 33 in Mammoth Lakes
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
4.1
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice
Situated at the base of the mountain just across from the ski area's Main Lodge, the historic Mammoth Mountain Inn offers stunning views, ski-in, ski-out convenience, and proximate access to Mammoth's best mountainside activities and attractions year-round. Just a short drive into town, Mammoth Mountain Inn is located next to the Adventure Center, Yodler Bar & Restaurant, Mammoth Mountain Bike Park, Panorama Scenic Gondola rides, and the Reds Meadow/Devils Postpile National Park shuttle. Our mountain resort is located above 8,000 feet and we historically experience mild summer temperatures. Because of our cool summers, our hotel and rooms are not equipped with air conditioning. Dogs are welcome in select rooms for an additional fee. Enjoy your stay in Mammoth Lakes!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Ski rentals
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Ski school
Skiing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
2022Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 824
  • 571
  • 326
  • 184
  • 117
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ycamp5 wrote a review May 22
California34 contributions9 helpful votes
Been in countless VRBOs and Mammoth Mountain resorts over the years but Mammoth Mountain Inn is our favorite hands down. You cant surpass best value with best customer service. We have stayed here at least 3 out of 4 weekends every month since November 2021 and the staff here has often times gone beyond for our little family of 4. From Garrett in the restaurent to Rick, Ian and especially our man, Tanner Warrick. Yes the resort can use a face lift but Tanner has helped make MMI, our home away in the mountains. We enjoyed our king loft with the view and if you want to enjoy some luxury, then book The Pinnacle at MMI. It’s worth it! Otherwise, with ski in and ski out, dog friendly staffs, preferred parking pass, family friendly rooms and excellent service (and Tanner!) you cant beat the rate anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don’t stress over garage parking If can, book the larger rooms Second floor Main building is...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Lynn H wrote a review May 16
2 contributions
We stayed at Mammoth Mountain Inn the first week of May and not only does this location provide you immediate access to the mountain, but they also accommodate dogs which is great for us! Every employee we interacted with was incredibly nice and helpful! Angel our bellman gave us great recommendations, Brian at the Front Desk was helpful and friendly, and Alex and Paula at the bar we personable and made our visit wonderful. I would recommend this location to anyone staying in Mammoth!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: During Winter request a view of the mountain
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MtnTrvlr wrote a review May 5
1 contribution
Wanted to give a shout out to Tanner at the front desk of MMI, who professionally and cheerfully helped me out by walking all the way out to the pool long after hours during a windstorm to check for something I had accidentally left out there, so that I didn't have to leave my evening events down in the town to go try to recover it. The staff at Mammoth Mountain Inn are always very helpful and friendly, and your wonderful customer service was very appreciated, Tanner! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mtntrvlr2022, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. Tanner is certainly a huge asset to our team here at MMI, and I will be sure to pass along your praise for him. The winds certainly were whipping up here, and I am glad to hear Tanner was able to locate your items left behind as to not interrupt your evening out. We hope to welcome you back to Mammoth the next time your travels bring you to the Eastern Sierra!
Read more
nqwtheavidskier wrote a review Apr 2022
South Lake Tahoe5 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in the Yodler Haus wing in a king room on the first floor. I choose this property because I needed the convenience to the ski resort. I loved that I could walk across the street to the resort. I want to highlight Ivan who works at the front desk. He was very professional, friendly, and gave us the information to find a parking spot during a snow storm. Every interaction with him from the moment of our arrival to our departure was friendly, welcoming, and hospitable. I believe staff truly makes a difference in at a resort and I want to thank him for a wonderful experience. The mattress was very nice, (I suffer from chronic pain), the mattress did not increase my pain and I had restful nights. I loved the pillows. There are DVD players in the rooms and they have a wonderful selection at the front desk. I was able to borrow two classics. The room was neat and clean. My husband would like me to mention that the walls are kind of thin and you can hear the people above you and next to you. I brought ear plugs and my pillow so it did not matter. I slept so well at the property it allowed me to ski three days in a row all day really hard. I look forward to my next stay at this property. Hopefully, I will return again next April. Thanks for a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear NQWtheAvidSkier99, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear Ivan was so hospitable to you and your husband during your stay with us. I will be sure to pass along that feedback to him so he can continue to provide great experiences for our guests. I am glad you were able to enjoy some April powder and look forward to welcome you back next April!
Read more
Amy K wrote a review Apr 2022
Maine28 contributions7 helpful votes
After reading the poor reviews, I almost didn't book but wanted to stay on the mountain in April and this was the best option with the canyon lodge closed. I was glad I did. We got a great deal for ski in ski out. We stayed in a king loft in the main building. I knew from the other reviews that the room would be a bit outdated but found it was clean, and the bathroom and bedding were updated. Above all, the location was super convenient and staff were pleasant. It was nice to have the loft so we had a little extra space for the kids. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear aek-7, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. Our location at 9,000 feet keeps us skiing as long as there's snow on the ground! I am happy to hear the loft gave you some extra space for the kids, and everyone was able to enjoy some skiing in April! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Read more
JohnMetz63 wrote a review Mar 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina2 contributions
Found the website pictures of the rooms to be very deceptive. I was disappointed to pay so much for a room that was in need of updating - certainly a "far cry" from the pictures displayed on their website. It's possible there may be more than 1 wing and we arrived very late and perhaps ended up in the "lesser" wing that still needs work (this is a "guess" on my part after reading other reviews with complaints that rooms are advertised as having A/C when others found that not to be the case - our room did not have any - but was not needed in ski season). Room was very cramped too - something to consider if you are planning on having more than 2 people in the room. Tiny bathroom. Had limited interaction with the staff as we decided to drive to town for dinner - but front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Mattress, pillows and linens were fine. Access to the lift was convenient. Just feel "cheated" by what was advertised in terms of the room - perhaps they should charge lower rates for rooms that are still on the list to be updated to be fair.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JohnMetz63, Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. Prior to the 2020 Pandemic halting our progress, we were on a roll updating our rooms. We replaced all the carpeting in the room, as well as the furniture and drapery. We have plans to utilize our slower shoulder seasons for more of the bigger upgrades, and are excited to have the momentum back for that part of the renovations. You are correct that some rooms do have A/C. About 4 years back, we updated our Yolder Building with A/C as that building tends to get hotter in the summer with it's position to the sun. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us, and I hope you will visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Mammoth to see this experience is less than typical for this hotel.
Read more
vanhoskier wrote a review Mar 2022
Kutztown, Pennsylvania38 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I stayed in the Mammoth Mountain Inn as part of a ski club trip. We were met at the hotel bu a somewhat surly bellhop, who walked us up a long driveway, through a dingy parking garage, through a door by the trash dumpsters to a dingy service elevator. Our room was located on a long hallway reminiscent of the Soviet era. The hallways and room smelled like mold. The room was small with a dirty, stained carpet. the bed was comfortable but the bath needed updating as did the electrical outlets….they did charge electronic devices properly. The desk phone didn’t work. I cut my trip short and left the next day. The lobby area is lovely and the rooms adjacent to it in the main building are nice, with a mountain view. But rooms in the other wings are substandard and far from everything. If you decide to stay here, make sure you request a room in the main lodge, NOT in any of the other wings.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book in the main lodge building ONLY. Avoid the other wings!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded Mar 25, 2022
Dear vanhoskier, Thank you for staying at the Mammoth Mountain Inn and providing feedback on your recent stay. I want to apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations for the hotel. Every room does go thru an inspection with both our housekeeping and maintencae departments prior to every guest arrival, however occasionally things are missed. I will be sure to follow up with my teams to ensure the issues you experienced are isolated occurrences. Once again, I am sorry your ski trip was cut short, and we hope to welcome you back to see this experience is less than typical for the Mammoth Mountain inn.
Read more
Carrie M wrote a review Mar 2022
Kansas City, United States2 contributions
This IS a classic lodge convenient ski in/ ski out location. The rooms are modest and clean. There is on site ski rental and ski check. There is a beautiful deck and bar that overlooks the frontside mountain and gondola. The Best part was the staff...always friendly and helpful ESPECIALLY the Mountainside Bar and Grill. Outstanding hospitality from Paula, Garrett, Kate and Julia. They are top notch and made our experience feel welcomed and safe! Can't wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded Mar 3, 2022
Dear bryanpaulm, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our premier ski in ski out location! Our ski valet coupled with our on site rental service certainly makes us a one stop shop for everything you need before heading out for a day on the mountain. In regards tot he staff, I am happy to hear you had nothing but positive things to say, and I will be sure to pass the praise along to them. We hope you will visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Mammoth!
Read more
j b wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Our stay was everything we expected and looked forward to. The location has a classic old school feel. Some may say it's "dated", but for those who are there to ski and be close to the mountain, it's unbeatable. We've stayed in the studio Condos for three years in a row and look forward to booking again. It's perfectly comfortable, and has everything you need to have immediate access to the mountain. Studio kitchen gives you the ability to bring your own provisions and avoid the high-priced concessions. Being so close to the gondola and lifts allows you to enjoy time to prepare meals without getting up at o-dark thirty, or breaking the bank in the lodge or other concessions. This year we noticed some deficiencies in the kitchen equipment (glass ware, silverware, utensils, etc.). Nothing that a call to housekeeping could not fix. The MMI Bar/Restaurant is a trip back to a humbler time in both architecture and feel. At the top of the A Frame that faces the mountain, it's all glass facade allows for sweeping views of the mountain. Food is expensive, but if you stick to the basic Burger, you're in good shape. Staff is helpful, polite, and friendly. Ski check is great, make sure to tip them for their hard work. We look forward to driving south on 395 from NLT to get away from the craziness of Tahoe each year, and it's a perfect birthday present to give your wife!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Studio Condos are in the East Wing, and windows face east. Great for an early morning sunrise view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded Mar 2, 2022
Dear jbV3643AB, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent birthday stay! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the charm of the Mammoth Mountain Inn, and were even able to enjoy the views from the Mountainside Bar and Grille. I want to apologize about missing some amenities in the rooms. Every room does go thru an inspection prior to guests arriving, however, occasionally some items are missed. I will be sure to speak with my housekeeping department to ensure all items that are supposed to be in the kitchen are there. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, and we hope you see you back before the next birthday!
Read more
Nima J wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We enjoyed our stay in the mammoth mountain inn. The location is amazing and staff are mostly very friendly. They have rentals and ski valet as well which made the whole experience much better. Food was good for the price of it. The only downside was that the building is a little bit older and walls are not soundproof
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Eby, Owner at Mammoth Mountain Inn
Responded Feb 12, 2022
Dear Nima J, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location right at the base of Mammoth Mountain! Having all the amenities needed for a fun-filled ski vacation right out the front door is certainly a plus. Our hotel was the first lodging property built in Mammoth in the late 1950's, and with that, comes some of the older building techniques that were used at that time. However, we have an excellent maintencae team here that helps ensure the building is in tip-top shape. We also utilize the slower shoulder seasons to perform the necessary comfort improvements guest expect. Once again, thank you for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Mammoth the next time your travels bring you to the Eastern Sierra!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mammoth mountain hotel mammoth lakes, mammoth mountain inn, hotel mammoth mountain, inn mammoth mountain
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMammoth Lakes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
216
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mammoth Mountain Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Nearby attractions include Rainbow Falls (4.2 miles), Lake Mary (4.2 miles), and Mammoth Mountain (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skadi, Mammoth Rock Brasserie, and Mogul Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Mammoth Mountain Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mammoth Mountain Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mammoth Mountain Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mammoth Mountain Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.