We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 395: English reviews
cattledog_dash
Reviewed June 7, 2009

If you've never visited Death Valley, just relax and let the experience move you. It is an other worldly place. Ghost towns and ghosts of times gone by. There's nothing to Death Valley Junction but the Amargosa Opera House and Hotel and that's the beauty of the place. They have a wonderful old hotel and very friendly staff. They've just...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cattledog_dash
kent
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We were a little unsure of the place as we had been offered this room through the national park service (who were very helpful in finding accomodation at a very busy time) and hadnt chosen the hotel ourselves. The hotel was quirky - our room was impressive - huge bed with dark red velvet bedspread, neat little shower room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elzini
Long Beach
Reviewed April 24, 2009

I went with a friend for the weekend. We stayed two nights and went to the show on Sat. night. The hotel staff where very friendly. Though the room were modest, they were clean, well stocked, and full of character. There is no cell phone service, TV's in the rooms, internet, etc. but really if that is what you are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank loresiav
Los Angeles
Reviewed April 8, 2009

I have visited three times, and have a 4th visit planned. The hotel, the theater, and now a tasty cafe are truly testament to a unique personal artistic vision - and represent the execution of the vision, in all its quirky delightfulness. That's right, no TV or phone in your room. Just a place to rest your head and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DCtoLA
London, England
Reviewed April 7, 2009

It would be hard to invent this place and the characters... nothing is quite so marvellous as real life, as no art is as breathtaking as the scenery provided by nature (DO take the slip road to Dante's View in Death Valley Park). Yes, there is an "odeur" which can pervade because of the way the place is built over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lotsaluggage
san francisco
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The place has a fascinating history, it's definitely "out-there", a unusual experience, with a certain je ne sais quois and lots of potential if someone threw some dollars at it. However, on vacation, I like to stay somewhere that lives up to it's web expectation at least. The room was sparse but clean, the walls paper-thin so we could hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank batgirlslade
Rochester, NY
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Smelly, old and decrepid. Did not even see or hear any ghosts. Your better off going to the town of Beatty for motel rooms, food and gas. Good story but very uncomfortable and kinda gross.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank med2823
lemmylem
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Had a great time. I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff where great,the hotel has a great vibe. I made it to Dante's view for sunrise and sunset photos. I stayed at 2 other places around the park, and this place wins hands down!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemmylem
Luck Wisconsin
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The Amargosa Opera house is so serene and beautiful! I visited the Opera house way back in 1998 and have visited it every year since then. I feel such an enchantment, a nostolgia when I am there. I love it there. The management has always been friendly to me and very helpful. This place will always be in my heart!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckcaptdon
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed February 14, 2009

This was absolutely the worst motel I have ever stayed in. The place is decrepit, the smell was overpoweringly bad, mold, old dead things, who knows. The was no hot water, so no shower or shave in the morning. The noise of the heater (it was February), was like an airplane landing in the room, though, of course, the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IowaCity09
AmargosaOperaHouse, Director of Operations and Restoration at Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am sorry your stay was not a enjoyable one. If you would have let us know you had some issues with the room we had plenty of others available. We could have offered you or given you a prompt refund and you could have gone to another hotel north of us. As our website and the reviews...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

355 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (355)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (160)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
7.7 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
465 reviews
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pahrump
24.8 mi away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
13 reviews
22.2 mi away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
25.0 mi away
Preferred RV Resort
Preferred RV Resort
#4 of 5 in Pahrump
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Death Valley Junction
Price Range: $76 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amargosa Opera House and Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Amargosa Opera House and Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go elsewhere. Not enough outlets to recharge all devices, no WiFi in room, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles U2551JRalant, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms that Marta decorated. We had room 15, with a "headboard" (complete with shadow) hand-painted on the wall.”
 of 5 bubbles Diane102_12, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Not for people who depend upon communication devises.”
 of 5 bubbles dressdr, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“See if you can get one with Marta's paintings!”
 of 5 bubbles juliannekirgis, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“I think the room with the door opened to the outside area are great, one can have a little barbecue on the table outside the room....”
 of 5 bubbles luworman, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question