We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Gardner Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gardner Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016

It was like stepping into a time machine. There was a beautiful marble stair case, stain glass windows, unique antiques on display and renovated rooms that still managed to capture the essence of the time period the hotel was built, but with all of the modern conveniences. It was so cool to stay in the same place the famous gangster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for your review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our unique history! You're welcome to come back and stay anytime. Many Thanks, The Gardner Team

Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a three day weekend with friends and had a great time. Prices were more than reasonable, location was unbeatable and staff was warm and welcoming. Strongly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to El Paso.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo R
Listing M, Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Marcelo, Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on our great prices, customer service and downtown location. You and your friends are welcome back next time you are in the area! Kind regards, Gardner Hotel Team

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed June 25, 2016

My overall experience was excellent, especially for the price. The room was clean and comfortable. The best part was the staff. They were extremely accommodating, sweet, and helpful. They reserved a parking spot for me and even gave me a sled for my next adventure at the White Sands National Monument. They went above and beyond.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank suddo730
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review suddo730, it's great to hear you had a good time staying with us. We take pride in running a family business and we're happy that you felt that the staff were there for you. Hope your adventure at the White Sands National Monument was good! Thanks again, and you're welcome back anytime. The team at The...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed June 14, 2016

We saw this hotel on Hotel Impossible and were intrigued by it. After speaking with Stephanie, the manager, on the phone, we locked in. Didn't regret a minute of it. The staff is very good and Stephanie made a point of welcoming us and showing us around. The hotel is part hostel as well and we got a tour of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lannyr
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we're glad you had a good time at The Hotel and got the special tour from Stephanie! We pride ourselves on our history and love it when guests feel the atmosphere and experience of the hotel's history. Glad you had a great time visiting, and thank you for taking the time to review...

Stafford, Texas
Reviewed May 20, 2016

This hotel is in nice part of town and is in an old building that looks like it was made in the early 20th century. My mom and I stayed on a Sunday night. We needed a place to sleep and recharge and seemed like a good pit stop for our road trip. We were not able to accomplish either...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank redtreesoflove
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Zamora, Thank you for your review here and on Google Business. We're sorry you had a negative experience at The Gardner Hostel. Regarding the issues you expressed here and to our management at the time - please see our response below. As discussed with the management during your stay, we will always try to fix any issues at...

Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

The elevator in this building is a centerpiece! It's character on the inside and outside is nothing but a beauty! I am not sure what year it was installed but it is an excellent historic elevator! I like how you can see the outside when you look in the shaft

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toronto E
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Toronto E. We pride ourselves on our historical character and that includes a lot of the original fittings - such as the elevator. The hotel was built in 1922 and because of fears of fire, almost everything was 'modern' and made of steel. So the elevator is pretty old but we're glad you enjoyed it...

Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed February 18, 2016

The hostel was awesome. Very nicely decorated. They had these things called transoms, which are a thing of the past - basically a small window above the door for have more air movement. You can tell it's a 1940's hotel, even if you weren't around in the 1940's. I'm really glad I stayed there. They had a kitchen in the...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Dave M
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Gardner Hotel - and we're really happy you had a great time! The hotel has lots of history, as you know, so it's great that you enjoyed the historical features and decor. We're also fortunate to be located in Downtown El Paso so there's plenty to do in the neighborhood. Thanks for taking...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed December 30, 2015

At first this had more of a Hostel vibe (stayed more hostels than I can remember from youth). No working elevator, had to scale 3 floors through darkened hallways, with camera gear and baggage to reach my room, no easy task. Room was dirty, smelly and frankly felt that leaving anything of value, i.e. my photo gear or laptop while...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt H
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and pride ourselves as a historical hotel but also being clean and safe. I'm sorry to hear the elevator didn't work on your visit and that you were unable to sleep. We do notify people on our website that we don't...

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

The Gardner Hotel & Hostel is the oldest continuously operating hotel in El Paso. It may be a bit threadbare, but it's very clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's still owned and operated by the same family that has held the property for most of its' existence. The place is obviously still loved by its' owners. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank srsjones825
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the historic experience at Gardner Hotel. We pride ourselves on our great location and history and we're pleased to hear that it was up to your expectations. Many Thanks The Gardner Hotel Team

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We found it impossible to sleep due to an extremely loud disco on the block. Management refused to move us to a room on the side of the hotel facing away from the music because they said there were no rooms there in the same price category. However, there clearly were other rooms available, and at midnight on a Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CAguiar
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear your experience at our hotel didn't live up to our expectations and regret that your stay was not up to our standards. Unfortunately we can't control noise levels in the neighborhood but we do our best to cater for guest needs. If we were not able to change your room then it would be down to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
0.3 mi away
Camino Real El Paso
Camino Real El Paso
#68 of 83 in El Paso
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn El Paso/University
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#65 of 83 in El Paso
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
** Under New Management ** The historic Gardner Hotel is under new management but has maintained its history and is still a family business. The Gardner Hotel is the oldest continually operating hotel and hostel in the city of El Paso, located near Downtown and all the pubs, cafes and clubs that encircle the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). The rooms still have their original antique furniture, with the exception of a few necessary upgrades, to give you a small taste of the history we have to offer. Check out the famous people that have stayed in our hotel and the the El Paso history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gardner Hotel

Address: 311 E Franklin Ave, El Paso, TX 79901
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Price Range: $35 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gardner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Gardner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Gardner Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Gardner Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in the newly renovated rooms and not the hostel and loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles michellepA2015JH, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the hostel section and actually got the whole four room hostel to myself. I lucked out.”
 of 5 bubbles davemL3053DQ, Feb 18, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a street view, away from the bar downstairs, quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles matthC5995TK, Dec 30, 2015 | Read review
“Stay away. Dirty and ownership will not reply to e mails”
 of 5 bubbles B326RXpaulm, Mar 29, 2015 | Read review
“If you value absolute quiet, ask for a vacancy facing off the street.”
 of 5 bubbles herberts96, Sep 29, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay