We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Gardner Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gardner Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

My overall experience was excellent, especially for the price. The room was clean and comfortable. The best part was the staff. They were extremely accommodating, sweet, and helpful. They reserved a parking spot for me and even gave me a sled for my next adventure at the White Sands National Monument. They went above and beyond.

Helpful?
2 Thank suddo730
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review suddo730, it's great to hear you had a good time staying with us. We take pride in running a family business and we're happy that you felt that the staff were there for you. Hope your adventure at the White Sands National Monument was good! Thanks again, and you're welcome back anytime. The team at The... More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
522 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We saw this hotel on Hotel Impossible and were intrigued by it. After speaking with Stephanie, the manager, on the phone, we locked in. Didn't regret a minute of it. The staff is very good and Stephanie made a point of welcoming us and showing us around. The hotel is part hostel as well and we got a tour of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lannyr
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we're glad you had a good time at The Hotel and got the special tour from Stephanie! We pride ourselves on our history and love it when guests feel the atmosphere and experience of the hotel's history. Glad you had a great time visiting, and thank you for taking the time to review... More 

Stafford, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

This hotel is in nice part of town and is in an old building that looks like it was made in the early 20th century. My mom and I stayed on a Sunday night. We needed a place to sleep and recharge and seemed like a good pit stop for our road trip. We were not able to accomplish either... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank redtreesoflove
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Zamora, Thank you for your review here and on Google Business. We're sorry you had a negative experience at The Gardner Hostel. Regarding the issues you expressed here and to our management at the time - please see our response below. As discussed with the management during your stay, we will always try to fix any issues at... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile

The elevator in this building is a centerpiece! It's character on the inside and outside is nothing but a beauty! I am not sure what year it was installed but it is an excellent historic elevator! I like how you can see the outside when you look in the shaft

Helpful?
Thank Toronto E
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Toronto E. We pride ourselves on our historical character and that includes a lot of the original fittings - such as the elevator. The hotel was built in 1922 and because of fears of fire, almost everything was 'modern' and made of steel. So the elevator is pretty old but we're glad you enjoyed it... More 

Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

The hostel was awesome. Very nicely decorated. They had these things called transoms, which are a thing of the past - basically a small window above the door for have more air movement. You can tell it's a 1940's hotel, even if you weren't around in the 1940's. I'm really glad I stayed there. They had a kitchen in the... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Dave M
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Gardner Hotel - and we're really happy you had a great time! The hotel has lots of history, as you know, so it's great that you enjoyed the historical features and decor. We're also fortunate to be located in Downtown El Paso so there's plenty to do in the neighborhood. Thanks for taking... More 

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

At first this had more of a Hostel vibe (stayed more hostels than I can remember from youth). No working elevator, had to scale 3 floors through darkened hallways, with camera gear and baggage to reach my room, no easy task. Room was dirty, smelly and frankly felt that leaving anything of value, i.e. my photo gear or laptop while... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and pride ourselves as a historical hotel but also being clean and safe. I'm sorry to hear the elevator didn't work on your visit and that you were unable to sleep. We do notify people on our website that we don't... More 

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

The Gardner Hotel & Hostel is the oldest continuously operating hotel in El Paso. It may be a bit threadbare, but it's very clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It's still owned and operated by the same family that has held the property for most of its' existence. The place is obviously still loved by its' owners. It... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank srsjones825
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the historic experience at Gardner Hotel. We pride ourselves on our great location and history and we're pleased to hear that it was up to your expectations. Many Thanks The Gardner Hotel Team More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We found it impossible to sleep due to an extremely loud disco on the block. Management refused to move us to a room on the side of the hotel facing away from the music because they said there were no rooms there in the same price category. However, there clearly were other rooms available, and at midnight on a Sunday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CAguiar
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear your experience at our hotel didn't live up to our expectations and regret that your stay was not up to our standards. Unfortunately we can't control noise levels in the neighborhood but we do our best to cater for guest needs. If we were not able to change your room then it would be down to... More 

El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

This is the second time I've stayed here at Gardner and again, I really enjoyed my stay! I'd stay again and highly recommend this hotel. Very clean and service was wonderful! I've already recommended to many!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Ryan and we look forward to seeing you again! Gardner Hotel More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the hotel (not hostel) on a El Paso visit. The whole experience started with an online attempt to book a room. After giving my credit card and dates no confirmation was ever given. I phoned the hotel and a friendly staff person ( all the staff was friendly) told me that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
Listing M, Public Relations Manager at The Gardner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Apologies for the delay in response, The Gardner Hotel is now under new management and we are taking into account all feedback and reviews from our guests past and present. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we will be working hard to take on board your comments to make it a better stay for future... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Paso hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Paso - Central
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo El Paso Downtown
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel El Paso Downtown/City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Real El Paso
Camino Real El Paso
#69 of 82 in El Paso
3.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#66 of 82 in El Paso
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge EL Paso West
Travelodge EL Paso West
#61 of 82 in El Paso
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
** Under New Management ** The historic Gardner Hotel is under new management but has maintained its history and is still a family business. The Gardner Hotel is the oldest continually operating hotel and hostel in the city of El Paso, located near Downtown and all the pubs, cafes and clubs that encircle the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). The rooms still have their original antique furniture, with the exception of a few necessary upgrades, to give you a small taste of the history we have to offer. Check out the famous people that have stayed in our hotel and the the El Paso history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gardner Hotel

Address: 311 E Franklin Ave, El Paso, TX 79901-1211
Location: United States > Texas > El Paso
Amenities:
Price Range: $37 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gardner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Gardner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay