We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gardner Hotel

Save
Share
311 E Franklin Ave, El Paso, TX 79901-1211
Lowest prices for your stay
$51
View Deal
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Agoda.com$51
Booking.com$51
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (4)

About

#65 of 91 hotels in El Paso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The historic Gardner Hotel has been under new management since 2016 but has maintained its history and is still a family business, so you can enjoy the historic charm and receive a familiar welcome! The Gardner Hotel is the oldest continually operating hotel and hostel in the city of El Paso, Texas, located near Downtown and all the pubs, cafes and clubs that encircle the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Our hotel reception has plenty of historical memorabilia for you to enjoy, and the 50 rooms still have their original antique furniture, with the exception of a few necessary upgrades, to give you a small taste of the history we have to offer. Check out the famous people that have stayed in our hotel, including John Dillinger and his gang! Check in to Gardner Hotel for a slice of El Paso history and a Texas welcome. If you love being centrally located and enjoying a downtown location, then our historical hotel will suite your needs. We look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Billiards
Table tennis
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
66Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 12
  • 6
  • 7
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ross M wrote a review Jan 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I'm in my hotel room now. The club next door has a banging soundsystem and.....I mean....its not like I'm in the club exactly but I could have a bit of a dance for sure. It's not so loud that I couldn't have a conversation over it, but it's too loud to go to sleep. Roll on 2am when Google tells me the club closes. Everything else about the hotel is fine. I find the existence of the hotel in this location very confusing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Listing M, Public Relations Manager at Gardner Hotel
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Hello Ross, Thank you for leaving a review for us, and we are sorry you experienced neigborhood noise from the night club next door, it is because of our downtown location that we have ambient noise. We're glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel and hope you had a good time in El Paso! The Gardner Team
Read more
rionewmex wrote a review Jan 2020
Ruidoso Downs, United States8 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel was presented as a historic hotel in downtown El Paso. Historic must mean old rundown building with a few antiques scattered about. Booked this hotel based on the website photos. Photos can lie! The photo showing the king bed we had, does not show that is just two worn out twin beds pushed together with king bedding. Our historic shower provided us with less water pressure and flow than a WaterPik flosser. Finally let’s not forget the exercise equipment, multiple flights of steep steps to carry your luggage up and down, no working elevator. Pay attention to all reviews that mention the noise as the hotel is in a nightclub district, plus all the downtown city sounds. I felt just like I was in one of the nightclubs as we could clearly hear them as they counted down to Midnight New Year’s Eve 2019. As stated in many reviews there were only two parking spaces in front of the hotel building that were never empty during our stay. In one review the hotel states that there is street parking for $3 by the hotel, we never found it. All parking spaces are metered parking spaces that are active from 8:00am to 6:00pm M-S 4 hour limit, so set your alarm and avoid that ticket or take a walk to a not so nearby parking garage, but not $3 either. I did even considered find something better, but we stuck it out for the one night and treated it as a learning experience. What I learned “JUST DON’T DO IT!”
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Listing M, Front Office Manager at Gardner Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are the longest continually running hotel in El Paso and as such sometimes we have problems with our original 1920s elevator being out of service, sorry you had to take the stairs. We will look at your feedback on our facilities and thank you for bringing our attention to them. Regards to the noise from the neighbourhood bars, we are in a downtown location so we have ambient noise, however for New Year's Eve it is a particularly festive night and the bars are louder and more vibrant than usual. The whole city was celebrating at midnight so this is beyond our control. Our limited free parking is also due to our downtown on street location, and there is nothing we can do about the street parking restrictions in El Paso, apologies for that. We are able to direct guests to the best places to park on the street, but unable to offer more parking than the spots outside. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. The Gardner Hotel Team
Read more
tj1234567 wrote a review Nov 2019
bg10 contributions3 helpful votes
You can actually feel the rooms shaking with the noise from a recently opened nihhtclub. Continued ill the early hours. Carpets and fittings very old and worn. No air con. Good location and friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Listing M, Public Relations Manager at Gardner Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Thanks for your feedback on our friendly staff, and our downtown central location. Unfortunately, as you pointed out, the location means we experience ambient noise from neighbouring bars and clubs, which at the weekends and festival times, can be later than we would like. We are doing all we can to work with our neighbours to ensure our guests get a good night's sleep. We are also renovating our hotel constantly, while trying to maintain its historic feel, which means striking a balance between original fittings and modern facilities. We also use a cooling system that is more appropriate for the El Paso climate than air conditioning, we hope it worked well for your. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, The Gardner Team
Read more
DramaRatQueen wrote a review Nov 2019
Molalla, Oregon138 contributions32 helpful votes
Spent a weekend here while visiting my boyfriend before he deployed to Djibouti. The receptionist, Ruby, was very kind and attentive. It was nice to be so close to the art and history museums and the streetcar line. The room was a little on the small side, as was the en suite washroom, but it is an older building. The downsides are the lack of parking and the noise from a nearby nightclub at night, but those are pretty much a given when you are staying in any downtown area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Listing M, Public Relations Manager at Gardner Hotel
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Great to hear that you found our staff friendly and we're happy to say we are family run business and proud of welcoming our guests. We're happy you enjoyed the downtown location and proximity to cultural and historical monuments, and thanks for appreciating that this means we don't have as much space for parking as we would like and that it means it's a lively neighbourhood. Welcome to come and stay again, The Gardner Team
Read more
aclassen wrote a review Oct 2019
St. Malo, France172 contributions78 helpful votes
Perfect location in downtown, near the I-10, near the EP streetcar, near restaurants. Built in the 1920s, it has been updated, so there is wifi in the rooms, a modernized bathroom, a flat tv. The furniture is old but nice; even the bed was quite good. But, the air conditioning in the hallway is terribly noisy, and late at night we had to call the clerk and to ask that it be turned off. We stayed 3 nights; and once there was loud music. Parking is inadequate, there are only two spots for free just outside on the street. Otherwise, metered parking, and for 3 days, not good... No breakfast included, though there is a kitchen in the basement. Staff very nice and friendly. We needed an extra blanket and an extra lamp, and got it immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: room facing the street rather noisy, but the rooms to the back are facing the interstate.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Listing M, Public Relations Manager at Gardner Hotel
Responded Oct 25, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the hotel, we appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed the central downtown location and the historic elements of the hotel. For the parking spaces we are only able to offer the parking out front due to location but we are always looking for solutions for this. Thanks for you notes on the staff, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will take into account your comments. Kind Regards, Gardner Hotel staff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasEl Paso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gardner Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gardner Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Plaza Theatre (0.2 miles), El Paso Holocaust Museum and Study Center (0.2 miles), and El Paso Museum of Art (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gardner Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Gardner Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gardner Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Central, Coffee Box, and Anson Eleven.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gardner Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gardner Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Gardner Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Magoffin Home State Historic Site (0.6 miles), Chamizal National Memorial (2.0 miles), and San Jacinto Plaza (0.1 miles).