We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Roosevelt Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Roosevelt Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 6,052: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The location is great - right by Grand Central Station, and a short walk to Times Square. The room was okay - but the bathroom smelled like urine and the walls are paper thin. We could hear the people next to us who were just having a normal sound-level conversation. You can hear everything! I swear half the elevators didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany H
New York City, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I wasn't expected to be greeted by someone rude at the reception area. There was much activity going on when I arrived and it was very loud volume wise. I could not hear what the reservation clerk was saying not to mention she doesn't speak clear English and she was obviously annoyed I kept asking her what she said as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliamN8180AP
Kloof, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Sadly although the location is great and the atmosphere of the hotel good we did not have a very restful stay due to construction on 45th Street and a faulty air conditioner unit. Although we did advise the reception of the problem we had plans to go out to see the city when they advised us we would need to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debi19
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were really worried about staying here due to negative reviews however had an amazing time. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the hotel added to our christmas experience in New York. We had to move rooms due to roadworks outside but the hotel staff were really helpful with this and it was not a problem. We stayed in superior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon check-in the robotic receptionist informed me that I'd be charged an additional mandatory charge of $21, which includes Wi-fi. I have no great need for hotel wifi, as I already pay for an i-pad data plan. I'm upset that Trip Advisor quotes me a price after I take the time to do my research, only to have the Roosevelt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You get what you pay for in NYC, so just take this into consideration when booking. It is a decent hotel, with impressive lobby, and good rooms for the price. That staff was actually very responsive and helpful when I needed quick laundry during the holiday season. Elevators are extremely slow, and be prepared for a very busy front desk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clark G
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and offering your feedback. Our "very helpful" staff thank you for their accolaid and happy to hear from you. "Location & Value" never go out of style and we are so pleased you enjoyed both here with us. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location & lovely reception area, but extremely rude staff & so unbearably hot. Unfortunately unable to control heating in the rooms or open the windows. I guess the heating was turned up as it was so cold outside but it really was so uncomfortable & we found it hard to sleep. Also the lifts were soooo slow, when all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

It was wonderful to recueve your review, thank you. It is distressing to us that you were uncomfotrable in you room. By design each room controls its own heating and so sorry to hear yours was not working proberbly, we will adress this immediately. When you return please ask and we will sent a coffee maker which is available upon...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for four nights with family. We had two rooms, each with Two large comfortable beds. The rooms were clean and of a good size, the staff pleasant and polite. Showers hot with plenty of water, coffee maker requested and useful, coffee not replenished unless requested each day. Never waited more than a couple of minutes for a lift(...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luna-jasper
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you great feedback. It is do refreshing to hear from you and happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do out very best to to please each an every guest, so happy we succedded. Please come back and see us soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Family stayed in 2 double beds, friends stayed in second room. Very squashy rooms that struggle with heat in summer due to the heritage style of hotel and this lack of modern aircon. We spent all our money so when checking out, did not have money to tip the bell person. He threw our luggage around, breaking contents. Hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pauldsor
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending your responce, we do value your opinion. We apologize again for your experience and so happy we were able to sort everything out in the end. We are working on improvements and excited for you to come back and see how we are doing. We hope to see you soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. The staff were not overly helpful but got the job done. The elevators took a long time but worked fine. There is free wifi and it worked really wel in our room. There wasn't much room for bags etc in our room but the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and the shower while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samjel
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,444 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1957)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (594)
Viewed
Bathroom (142)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (377)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
5:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (744)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (49)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (40)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Signature Suite (93)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (47)
Viewed
Superior King Room (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 463 in New York City
14,160 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 463 in New York City
10,417 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#294 of 463 in New York City
6,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#370 of 463 in New York City
3,459 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#315 of 463 in New York City
7,810 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 463 in New York City
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighborhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Price Range: $133 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Roosevelt Hotel staff and other travelers.
172 questions
Ask a question
newtown

See all questions (172)

Questions? Get answers from The Roosevelt Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“upgrade to superior room”
 of 5 bubbles lisabJ6247UU, yesterday | Read review
“Call the hotel before you arrive to make sure the price Trip Advisor quotes is what you'll end up paying.”
 of 5 bubbles Z5056HBmatthewl, 2 days ago | Read review
“Confirm views, some are horrific.”
 of 5 bubbles clark603, 3 days ago | Read review
“Fantastic location, few mins away from Grand Central Statiom”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 days ago | Read review
“we were v. happy with corner facing Grand Central.... very quiet on weekend”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH820, 6 days ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay