We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Evelyn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Evelyn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Evelyn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,382: English reviews
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed February 22, 2015

Visited this hotel from 15 till 20 february. Slept in a queensized room which was still very new. The shower in the bathroom was excellent! The location of this hotel is good, subway is a 2 minute walk. We had no breakfast here but we ate it at a deli named ''bread and butter'' on the corner of 5th avenue...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gruns001
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciate you taking the time out to letting it be known that our bathroom was excellent. We take the customer service provided to our valued guests very serious. So when you categorize our staff as being exceptional, it speaks volumes. We are still in the midst of the...

Reviewed February 22, 2015

Good: The evening staff was great, so nice and accommodating. The AC broke down and they got us a radiator whithin 5 minutes. The bed sheets, the towles, the shower were all luxurious 5 star like. Locationg is a few minutes walking from the empire state building and about 20 min from times square. Bad: The morning staff were grouchy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alon M
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for acknowledging our great staff. We are most appreciative that you found our amenities to be luxurious and felt it had five stars quality. Please rest assured that we are in the midst of our transformation and everything will be great and perfect. We are in the current phase of changing all of our windows. We...

liverpool
Reviewed February 21, 2015

This hotel was very clean and the staff exceptional.Situated 20 minute walk from Time Square and 5 minutes away from Empire State Building. Complimentary tea and coffee available at front desk throughout the day and continental breakfast of a morning. The only downside to this hotel was that the lift was sometimes very slow but when this happened front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suncatcherLiverpool
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, First and foremost, thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Evelyn. We are truly grateful; considering our staff to be exceptional is appreciated and acknowledged. We are confident that you will be impressed with the end results; Please rest assured that our elevators are part of our planed upgrades. We extend to you an infinite...

Menifee, California
Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stayed at The Evelyn for 5 nights with my older and younger sister. The hotel was extremely clean, very comfortable, and in a fantastic location. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Any problem was immediately addressed and solved. I really enjoyed my stay. If I ever return to New York, I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christiana D
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for acknowledging the fact that The Evelyn was extremely clean, very comfortable, and fantastically located. We are most appreciative that you also acknowledged our trademark which is our friendly staff. We will share your comments with our entire team. We are still in the process of transforming The Evelyn. We truly appreciate comments such as yours....

Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

I am on the second night on my stay. The staff is great but the hotel is awful. The windows are so drafty that despite having set the heat to 80, the temp won't break 65. This problem is compounded on by the fact that there was no hot water in the morning. With so many other options nearby, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris Z
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your comments; we appreciate the fact that you acknowledged the greatness of our staff. One of the components of our transformation is to change all of our windows. We are currently in the phase of doing that. When the transformation of the Evelyn is completed contingency plans will be in place that no matter what...

Dedham
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Overall, we had a very good stay at The Evelyn. The staff was very friendly and responsive; the room was cozy, creatively decorated and very clean; and the hotel is located in a great and convenient area. The only issues we had will be resolved when renovations are complete. The lobby was dark and uninviting; the elevator was extremely inefficient:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, First and foremost, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Evelyn. We are truly grateful; your loyalty is appreciated and acknowledged. Please rest assured that our elevators are part of our planed upgrades. The end result of the transformation of the Evelyn will include an exquisite restaurant. We extend to you an infinite invitation whenever...

Stockholm
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Nice stay, nice to be treated with coffee and mini-buns in the morning. Modern, newly renovated rooms, very nice beds, some noise from the street but it is New York after all... Only one elevator in use but it was probably due to renovating!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annica S
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for acknowledging the fact that you had a nice stay. We will share your comments with our entire team. We are still in the process of transforming The Evelyn; this includes Windows and Window treatments. This will attenuate the noise from the streets. We truly appreciate comments such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you...

Croton On Hudson
Reviewed February 18, 2015

"recently" renovated seems a bit generous as there were still some issues. Staff and were A+ but it was about 55-60 degrees in our room and colder when we woke up. thermostat in room so once they fix it would be a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for giving our staff the grade of an A+. Your comments are very important to us. We are in the midst of the transformation of The Evelyn and the end result will be great. We want to invite you to stay with us again. We are confident that you will have a memorable and enjoyable stay....

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed February 16, 2015

Very well placed, between upper and lower Manhattan. Comfortable (excellent bed), friendly (staff and provided items in the room), good taste, simple and having its own style. Good balance between cost and quality. The window was not yet renovated, so we would have had a good taste of the winter without a curtain that had therefore to remind closed !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D1688VKchristines
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your positive evaluation of The Evelyn. We deeply appreciate all your comments. We are most pleased whenever one of our valued guests uses the word excellent in any part of their evaluation of The Evelyn. Our windows are part of our transformation and we are currently in the process of changing all of our windows....

Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Small room, need to wait 10-20 min to have hot running water and after that the bathroom is overflowed..the bathroom floor cold ice. There is only one small elevator for 13 floors.. You can imagine the wait each time..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liliana B
TheEvelynManagement, Front Office Manager at The Evelyn, responded to this review

Good Day, Our ultimate goal is to be perfect, on our present journey to being perfect we may sometimes get a comment that calls for us to assess how things could have been handled better. We thank you for your comments because it warrants that attention. We are in the midst of the transformation of the Evelyn and the end...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

295 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (21)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron Hotel
#306 of 477 in New York City
734 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#185 of 477 in New York City
2,625 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 477 in New York City
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#231 of 477 in New York City
1,777 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#134 of 477 in New York City
3,043 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#63 of 477 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Evelyn formerly The Gershwin Hotel is now offering newly residential inspired rooms with references to an Art Nouveau Style. Our NoMad hotel is inspired by the musical and art heritage of the neighborhood, which was the epicenter of the popular music industry in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The music theme is reflected throughout the rooms, corridors and bathrooms. The NoMad District (now also known as "NoMad" - North of Madison Square Park) is now one of Manhattan's most popular neighborhoods, characterized by its beautiful and historic architecture, exceptional bars and restaurants tucked away on quiet side streets, and many other attractions. Centered around Madison Square Park, the NoMad District is within walking distance of Midtown, Union Square, Greenwich Village, and NYU. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Evelyn

Address: 7 E 27th St, New York City, NY 10016-8701 (Formerly The Gershwin Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Price Range: $149 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Evelyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Evelyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gershwin Hotel New York City
Gershwin Hotel Nyc
Hotel Style:
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Evelyn staff and other travelers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from The Evelyn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“In weekdays try to get a room away from 27th street as the windows are quite thin and the street can be a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles RDegnbol, 1 week ago | Read review
“Don't stay near the elevator as it can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Hotellds, 1 week ago | Read review
“Sorry I cant think of any other than choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles danL4129XZ, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for a room at the backside”
 of 5 bubbles viertler, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to order your car well in advance of actually needing it - at least 45 minutes.”
 of 5 bubbles C9168CGlindam, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay