We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square

Save
Share
114 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018-2699
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Courtyard
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (297)
Room & Suite (130)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#289 of 507 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Find your slice of comfort in the City That Never Sleeps when you stay at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square. As one of the premier Times Square hotels, we invite you to experience the excitement of the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center, all within walking distance of our front doors. Following an adventure-filled day, retreat to unrivaled relaxation in our spacious rooms featuring free Wi-Fi, large work desks, flat-panel TVs, and luxurious bedding.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
529Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
150Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,638Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 666
  • 693
  • 181
  • 55
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Moty A wrote a review Mar 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel253 contributions64 helpful votes
Good: Great location, just few minutes walk to times square and main attractions around, comfortable room, big beds. Bad: Awful service, they lost a delivery we sent over. Worst ever breakfast! Will not come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear motya2015, We are happy knowing you enjoyed our great locations and comfortable bed and room. However, we regret you did not leave completely happy. We appreciate you sharing your concerns as this helps us see where improvements are needed. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Jessenia Rodriguez Senior Operations Manager
Read more
Andrea C wrote a review Feb 2020
12 contributions4 helpful votes
Dirty. Old. Run down. Cheap. Oh and there’s the added bonus of rude staff. Book elsewhere. I’m supposed to stay for three nights but am leaving first thing in the am. There are tons of way better hotels in the area for the same or less than this place charges!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear C3561VLandreac, Thank you for providing us with this detailed evaluation. We apologize for anything other than a completely satisfying stay, and if our associates failed to deliver the exceptional hospitality that we are known for. Your concerns will certainly be addressed with our team, and we will use this to ensure our efforts remain consistent in the future. We are also very sorry to learn that you were not impressed with the condition of our property. Therefore, we will gladly share your feedback with the appropriate individuals as we plan for the future. Thank you for helping us improve, and we hope you will revisit the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Jessenia Rodriguez Senior Operations Manager
Read more
1bklyn wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York33 contributions18 helpful votes
The Good: Courteous staff. Centralized Location. The Bad: Rooms on second floor are freezing in winter. Thick curtains cover 1 tiny vent that provides very little heat on cold nights. Huge drafty windows facing highrise wind tunnels. No complimentary water. Musty carpets. Housekeeping ready to enter room at all times unless you can find the "Do Not Disturb" door tag & hope it doesn't fly off each time you open/shut the door! Interior rooms have views that look like you're staying inside a dumpster. Creepy stairwells that lead directly to the streets instead of lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Responded Feb 12, 2020
Dear 1bklyn, Thank you for taking the time to share your evaluation. Although it is encouraging that our team extended such courteous hospitality during your stay, we are truly sorry to learn about the temperature issues you encountered while you were here. Everything we do is directed at providing seamless and elevated experiences for our visitors, so we regret the inconvenience this caused you. We are also very sorry for any disruptions our housekeeping department caused you as this is never our intention. You have our assurance that we take your concerns seriously and will use them to determine where corrective action can be taken to bolster our services on all levels. We value your patience and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for the fulfilling experience you deserve. Sincerely, Jessenia Rodriguez Senior Operations Manager
Read more
Kate wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed at this location around Christmas time. I was willing to pay the cost of a slightly more expensive hotel both for the easy, centralized location and for the ease of not having to deal with an AirBnB host or possibly dirty hotel. I very much regret staying at this location. The first room that we were in was not clean. There was hair in the shower that was not ours, some trash left in the bathroom, and no wash clothes in the room. I reported this to the front desk and they kindly offered to have us move rooms for the second night. The second room none of the outlets near the bed on either side worked, and unbelievably found another hair that wasn't ours (I have medium length blond hair and this was long and dark) in the washcloth. I reported this to the front desk when I left and while they offered me bonus points were otherwise unhelpful as I wanted a refund. We had to leave to catch a train so I followed up by survey, then by email, then with Marriott customer service. They've now closed my case (which they didn't tell me, I had to call to find out) and offered me basically nothing, despite all of the times I followed up, except a discount to stay at this location again. Given how dirty it was, and my overall experience, I NEVER want to stay at this location again and honestly will try to avoid Marriott locations in general where possible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Kerrstyles, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. We would like to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced in the guest rooms you were provided and certainly regret that you felt we did not completely address this to your total satisfaction. We have procedures in place to keep such mistakes from happening, and assure you these procedures will be reviewed with our housekeeping team to make sure they are being followed each and every time a room is cleaned. We can absolutely do better, so we hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to provide the service and hospitality that you expect and deserve from our brand. Sincerely, Jessenia Rodriguez Senior Operations Manager
Read more
desertmidwife wrote a review Jan 2020
Phoenix, Arizona310 contributions117 helpful votes
Based on reviews that are all over the place I wasn't sure. I was in town for a meeting so not a family holiday - so this review is for a single adult person staying two nights (also, I didn't pay for it so that might also factor in to how I felt about it). I thought the room was very cozy! It has everything one might need and I loved all of it. My view was the building next door but whatever - it wasn't terrible. I had great showers, lovely sleep and no environmental issues with the heat or other. It was even fairly quiet. I do think facing that building would be quieter as I noticed a lot of actiity on 40th street during the day and into the later night that might cause noise issues. I had zero interest in going to their little bar or store as there is all of that on the same block so why stay at the hotel - BUT for someone who might want a drink or small snack it would be convenient and I might have used it if I hated to leave the hotel. It is in a fine walking location and as a winter visitor I didn't find it to be a hardship to see Times Square and find great restaurants while walking. The subway entrance is right there also which was very handy. I only interacted with staff two times - once at checkin and the woman was sweet and once I asked one of the staff about the subway and he was super helpful. So, no staff issues. All in all, it was great. Also felt very safe as a single woman. I'd stay again :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Go26189368570, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Thank you so much for the great rating, desertmidwife. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful you appreciated our clean and comfortable accommodations as well as our prime location. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff. However, we're disappointed our sound insulation did not satisfy your needs. We will address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We can't wait to host you again soon for another amazing experience. Have an outstanding day. Jorel Veras Senior Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott new york manhattan / times square south hotel, courtyard times square south, courtyard new york city, new york city marriott, new york city courtyard
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTenderloin / Midtown West / Garment District / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Nearby attractions include New York Public Library (0.2 miles), Bryant Park (0.1 miles), and Mission Escape Games (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Tacos No. 1, Best Bagel and Coffee, and Izakaya MEW.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Chinese, Arabic, and Turkish.