We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin New York Grand Central

Save
Share
212 East 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10017-5803
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$339
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Westin.com
$339
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$227
View deal
Expedia.com$339
Hotels.com$339
Priceline$339
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1168)
Room & Suite (744)
Dining (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/18/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin New York Grand Central
Updated 07/18/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#286 of 531 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Westin New York Grand Central is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Our hotel in NYC ideal for both leisure and business travelers as it is ideally located near Grand Central Terminal.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
378Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
48Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5138Reviews211Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,079
  • 1,885
  • 669
  • 274
  • 233
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sue G wrote a review Yesterday
Blackpool, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
Just down the street from Grand Central so lots going on but not too busy. Great staff & lovely breakfasts! Very comfy room with great views of the Empire State building!! Will return again soon hopefully. Mr.Mrs Paul Gillett
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Charles H wrote a review Jan 10
Washington DC, District of Columbia181 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
Where do begin? The best things about this hotel were the location, the view, and the staff. Every single person I came into contact with (front desk, housekeeping, bar/restaurant) was friendly and professional. A special shout-out to Doug, at the bar. However, this was the most disappointing stay I've ever had at a Westin. I like Westins and try to stay there whenever I can. I like that I can count on a certain level of style and staff. I also like how pet-friendly they are. I'm Platinum with Marriott and used a Suite Night reward (confirmed the day before arrival) to upgrade from a Standard King to a Deluxe View King. The first fail was the "keyless no-contact check in"). The keyless didn't work on the elevators so I found myself standing in line at the front desk. I asked about the "keyless" part and was told "oh, yes, it's keyless but you have to check in here first". Huh? The room was clean and had a great view but that's about the only good things about it. This was supposed to be be of the best rooms in a 4.5 star hotel in the largest city in America. The first things I noticed as all of the plastic cups (bathroom and living area) instead of glass. There was no mini-bar or bathrobes, although Marriott's web site specified that I could expect both. There WAS a rather large empty space where it appeared the fridge/mini-bar had been removed. The bathroom was serviceable and clean, but I noticed right away how low-quality the amenities were. I suspect Motel 6 offers better. There were other issues. The TV didn't work which required a call to the front desk and a visit from a building engineer. To their credit, he did arrive quickly and got it working. The ice machine on my floor was out of order and that required a visit to one of the other floors. All of these were annoyances but the ONE THING that is inexcusable and for which I will never forgive is this - there was only decaf coffee packs with the machine. What am I, an animal? There's a special place in hell for hotels that do this. I won't be staying at this property again but if the view and the location (and you get an upgrade) are your main priorities, then you might want to consider it. And then reject it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Corner room on a high floor is best.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tourist18935282662, mgmt_resp_affil8 at The Westin New York Grand Central
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate the feedback. Although we're glad that you enjoyed our prime location and awesome hotel views, we're disappointed that the rest of your time with us was less than ideal. We care deeply about the satisfaction of our guests so we regret that our features and amenities, such as our keyless check-in and our available coffee, didn't meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback. We'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
YeetBoi wrote a review Jan 6
Cairo, Egypt1 contribution
I was on this page, just like you are, and came across a few negative reviews, and honestly disregarded them since there were so many good ones. Oh my god was that a mistake. First off, TWO DAYS after we had left, they charged our card an extra $1000, despite the room being prepaid for a month earlier, and them telling us we’re only owing them $100 upon checking out. Also, they forced us to enter 3 different credit cards throughout our stay. Since the room was already paid for, I thought that was pretty off. When we asked them why they needed that ma, they just said the other ones weren’t working and when we proceeded to ask why they weren’t and whether she can fix it, she raised her voice and told us that that’s our problem and refused to even attempt solving it. We ended up giving them the same credit card twice, and guess what… It worked just as normal. As that probably gave you a sample of, most of the front desk staff were very rude; where they talked down to us, raised their voices, were talking in an aggressive tone and, above it all, denied any of it. As well as that, the room service was disorganized and a mess of a system. Every time we called anyone up, as we were yet to give them a tip, they refused to leave and proceeded to demand money. I obviously think giving tips is the least you could do for all the hard work these workers do, but demanding it just takes that sentiment away. Their amenities were very limited, the room didn’t even have a single fridge, the utensils and plates were very limited, and the coffee machine broke down exactly after it’s second use. The final point I wanted to make was that their laundry system and restaurant were overpriced, and noticeably so. If I were to give my honest opinion, I’d recommend you to check out other hotels that can genuinely provide much more, for so much less. But credit where credit is due, the location was decent, and one of the doormen we were greeted with was very delightful, but I don’t think a single doorman being nice to us makes up for the horrible experience we had here. The hotel didn’t live up to the New York standards the rest of the amazing city got by and your trip deserves way more than this dreadful hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tourist18935282662, mgmt_resp_affil8 at The Westin New York Grand Central
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry and concerned to hear about your experience. Please be assured that we only charge what is agreed to by the guest, and under no circumstances are we in the business of stealing. Our team only bills exclusively for services rendered and/or products sold.
Read more
Iman K wrote a review Jan 4
1 contribution
They used the visa card after we have checked out and went back to our country, they withdrew over 1000 USD, and after calling the bank they told me the hotel tried to withdraw 6 times but fortunately they are all declined, I can not believe a chain hotel steal their guests !!!! shame on you. Never ever enter this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tourist18935282662, mgmt_resp_affil8 at The Westin New York Grand Central
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed that your time with us was less than perfect. We regret the confusion with your billing. Please know we will address your concerns with our team moving forward. We only charge what was agreed to by the guest, and under no circumstances are we in the business of stealing, but rather billing exclusively for the services rendered and/or the products sold. Thank you again for your feedback.
Read more
PadresDiego wrote a review Jan 1
United States639 contributions232 helpful votes
The Westin is exactly what you would expect from a Westin, nothing more nothing less. That being said, its a great place for exploring the city and has everything you might need. If the price is fair, it's great, if there are cheaper options check them out. The room was fine, nice view. It was a Westin room, clean, a bit sterile and laid out well for business travel. It was fine for the $200 a night price point, anything more would be tough to justify. The remote room key doesn't work in the elevator, so that was frustrating to find out as I boarded with other folks. Up and down we went with 0 cotnrol of where we could navigate too. They really need to look into this as its super super annoying. The lobby is exceptional in its cleanliness and overall feel. Its a great place for a beer and to people watch. Overall, if you get a good rate its a nice place for a few days in the city and midtown in particular.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tourist18935282662, mgmt_resp_affil8 at The Westin New York Grand Central
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, PadresDiego. We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our location, views, and cleanliness. However, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that our elevators didn't meet your expectations. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$225 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the new york helmsley hotel new york city, the hotel new york city, new york helmsley hotel, hemsley new york, helmsley hotel new york, the new york city helmsley, helmsley new york
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityMidtown East / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
774
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin New York Grand Central
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin New York Grand Central?
Nearby attractions include Grand Central Terminal (0.2 miles), Chrysler Building (0.1 miles), and Grand Central Market (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, a fitness center, and a business center.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin New York Grand Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include John's Coffee Shop, Momosan Ramen & Sake, and The Capital Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin New York Grand Central?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin New York Grand Central offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Westin New York Grand Central?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Japanese.