We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36 Central Park South 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Up to 30% Off + 3 FREE Rewards
Park Lane Hotel
$110
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/28/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$125
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/29/21
ZenHotels.com
$125
$95
View Deal
SAVE $30
Agoda.com$125
Hurb$125
Expedia.com$125
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2349)
Room & Suite (598)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#246 of 509 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions.
Read more
Room & Suite (598)598
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Up to 30% Off + 3 FREE Rewards

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
266Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
89Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
9,431Reviews182Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 4,051
  • 2,956
  • 1,325
  • 650
  • 449
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Georgina M wrote a review Nov 3
New York City, New York12 contributions
+1
Shocking how dirty this property is. Lack of caring from management when you mention it. No costumer satisfaction in their books. The bathroom is mold infected, stains all over shower. The carpet is dirty and stained. The mattress is painful, like sleeping on a water bed. No coffee machine, no mini bar. Old furniture, falling apart when you open a drawer. A horror house. Too bad for the good location If you mind the dirt and uncaring management.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkLaneHotelNYC, Manager at Park Lane Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback, Georgina. We're deeply disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests. Could you provide the details of your reservation (name and dates) along with an email address or phone number that would be convenient to reach you? We'd like to look into this as soon as possible. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Warm Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Honeybezy wrote a review Nov 2
New York City, New York25 contributions1 helpful vote
We were so excited to stay at the Park lane. We wanted a hotel right across from Central Park and Park lane seemed to fit the bill. My husband turned 50 so we stayed there for his birthday October 16th till October 19th. We arrived all excited and happy to check in and go for a run across at CP before dinner. We were greeted by frowny and nasty Soad. We figured she was overwhelmed and would cheer up by our kind and cheerful selves but to no avail. Quit if you hate your job Soad. Otherwise the hotel is dated but we loved it and would recommend and stay again in a heartbeat. We had city view on the 31st floor because we didnt need park view. Park lane is a great hotel regardless of 1 sour staff member. The gym was closed but we exercised everyday at Central park.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you love NYC and central park then park lane is perfect. city view rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkLaneHotelNYC, Manager at Park Lane Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback. We're deeply disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests. Could you provide the details of your reservation (name and dates) along with an email address or phone number that would be convenient to reach you? We'd like to look into this as soon as possible. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Warm Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Tony wrote a review Nov 1
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed! The whole hotel is old and you can see they haven’t maintained. Customer service is the worst they don’t care if you like the hotel or not they just want money! But the way they have a lot of secret fees that they charge you at the end. The floor and bathrooms are really nasty of the bedrooms. DONT STAY IN HERE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkLaneHotelNYC, Manager at Park Lane Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, TonyTravelaround. It's unfortunate your stay with us at Park Lane was anything less than perfect. We strive to offer top-notch comfort and convenience for our guests. We regret that our building's historic charm didn't meet your expectations. We'll address your feedback with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Warm Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Jennifer L wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel from 10/13/2020 through 10/17/2020 for business. I had to extend my stay and the only way to do that was for me to check out and check back in and they failed to give me a receipt the first check out and when I asked for the receipt on 10/17 I assumed they included all of the days I stayed. Unfortunately, now that I'm back in Arizona I'm having an extreme difficulty trying to get anyone to send me a receipt for the first two nights of stay. Just like our Concur travel agent said when she was trying to extend my stay, the front desk was not helpful at all. They were nice when I was there in person but they all hate answering the phone. I must have called the front desk at least 50 times. They will either let it ring, or just pick up and hang up, or gets really irritated with you the moment they pick up the phone saying there are a lot of people waiting in line for help and never follow up after promising to send the receipt via e-mail. I don't understand why they are all so rude over the phone and no one takes time to help you. I've called the billing department and left 3 voice mails and sent them numerous e-mail to Guestbilling@parklanenewyork.com from different e-mail addresses inquiring the receipt but no one responded and they never answer their calls. I left a voicemail with a manager on duty today after being transferred by another rude front desk personnel and let's see what happens now. I will never stay here ever again!!! The location is great but the room is old... too old and my room had a missing light bulb in the bathroom even. FYI!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Make sure you clarify everything so you will never have to call the front desk. No support once...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkLaneHotelNYC, Manager at Park Lane Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate your feedback, Jennifer. We're disheartened that you had such challenges with your billing and that our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate your needs. We care deeply about the satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to discuss your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Warm Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
PBPhilly wrote a review Oct 2020
Philadelphia33 contributions39 helpful votes
Booked four rooms for my family for one night. My son was getting married in Central Park, so the location was perfect. The conditions and cleanliness of the rooms and hotel were good, but the overall booking/check in, supply management and check out processes left much to be desired. I booked rooms by calling the reservation number. Rep was courteous, but seemed overwhelmed in booking 4 rooms with different rates. Took too long to complete. At the end, she emailed me confirmations which I never received. I eventually called the hotel front desk a few days later and she had a wrong email address, She never confirmed it when we spoke. Upon check in, the rates that were quoted to me were not the rates that I got. Front desk clerk couldn't make any changes, so he called reservations and gave me the phone to speak with the rep. After standing at the front desk speaking with the rep for more than ten minutes and not getting a clear explanation (at one point, I was told that they can change the rates they originally quoted me), out of frustration, I just agreed to the rates. The morning of the wedding I called the front desk to get wash clothes delivered to the room, because there were none in the room. They told me housekeeping wouldn't be in until 8:30 and they would send some up then. Housekeeping did come up, but didn't bring wash clothes. About 20 minutes later housekeeping called me and said they didn't have any wash clothes at that point, but would bring me hand towels. I told them never mind. When I checked out, I had one of the front desk clerks call valet parking to have my car ready. My son came down shortly afterwards and went to another clerk and asked her to call valet to have them pull up his car also. For some reason, this clerk had problems completing this very simple task and never did it. He eventually went to the front desk clerk I used and he called valet for him. When we went to get valet, my car was pulled out, but my son's wasn't. He gave them his ticket and a few minutes later they pulled out the WRONG car. He finally got his car. Overall, it seemed like the employees were not trained very well and many simple processes were broken. I would not recommend staying at this hotel until they address these issues.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ParkLaneHotelNYC, Manager at Park Lane Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that we didn't meet your expectations. Your happiness and satisfaction are important to us so we'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate the high-caliber service we're capable of sharing with our guests. Warm Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the helmsley park lane hotel new york city, helmsley park hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Helmsley Park Lane
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityMidtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
631
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Park Lane Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Park Lane Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (0.3 miles), Big Apple Jazz Tours (0.2 miles), and Carnegie Hall (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Park Lane Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
What food & drink options are available at Park Lane Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Park Lane Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Park Lane Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loi Estiatorio, The Modern, and Ora Di Pasta.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Lane Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Park Lane Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Park Lane Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Lane Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Park Lane Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (4.2 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (4.2 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.3 miles).
Does Park Lane Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.