We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
811 7th Avenue 53rd Street, New York City, NY 10019-6002
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Sheraton.com$271
Expedia.com$271
Travelocity$271
Hotels.com$271
Priceline$271
travelup.com$298
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2514)
Room & Suite (1009)
Dining (113)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 12/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Updated 12/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#332 of 515 hotels in New York City
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
GreenLeaders Silver level
Effortless travel awaits during your visit to New York City at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel. Located just steps from the Theater District, our hotel sits between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. THE PERFECT NYC MEETING SPACE FOR YOUR EVENT NEEDS Providing a dedicated event staff, redesigned ballroom space and flexible meeting rooms, our NYC meeting space can make your event a total success. 60,000 sq ft of premium meeting space, 43 rooms, customized food and beverage services and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Canoeing offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Korean
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
479Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
155Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
11554Reviews315Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,983
  • 4,001
  • 2,081
  • 837
  • 654
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Adam F wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I have never written a review before. Im am currently standing in line w waiting to check in at 11 pm. I hve been waiting for over an hour. There are 30 + people here. They keep allowing airplane crew ro cut the line. Only vapid hallow apologies. No effort at customer service. Will never stay here again. Plenty of hotels in Ny… you should choose another.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Varsha N wrote a review Sep 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
Lovvvve this hotel!!!! My Fav! Subway is 1 min walk away, times square 5 min away walk, our favorite indian restaurant thats open 24/7 "desi dhaba" or " Saar" is like max. 10 15mins walk away. Hotel reception desk isint very warm or welcoming. But housekeeping staff, Starbucks staff (yesss! Starbucks is in lobby frm.6am to 6pm) are soooo warm smiling and very friendly! Best hotel in terms of location, ease of commute and other options of restaurant, laundry etc. Definitely recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Derin Y. wrote a review Yesterday
Atlanta, Georgia3 contributions3 helpful votes
Stay away from this hotel! They do not clean the rooms, make the beds, and no clean towels are provided. How am I supposed to shower and dry off without clean towels? I talked with several people, at the front desk, on the phone, in the halls, none of them did ANYTHING AT ALL and they did not solve the problems!!! The service is absolutely ridiculous and the staff is very very rude. I tried talking with a man at the front desk and he told me I woud just "have to deal with it for today" and just walked away. The food is awful and completely overpriced, and I really regret staying here. One last thing I found ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS is that on top of the room fee you're paying per night, they also charge an extra $150 fee per room?!?!?Anywhere is better than here, don't say I didn't warn you! As long as they are making money off of you, this hotel doesn't care about anything else!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
farmgirlSouthDakota wrote a review Oct 4
Minneapolis, Minnesota79 contributions14 helpful votes
I recently returned from a 4 night stay with my daughter and granddaughter. We chose a high room and could see Central park along with the tallest residential building in the world! Amazingly quiet. Of course the room was small, but we made it work. Check-in went smoothly but I wish they would have explained the $30 room credit better. We would have made better use of it had we known. She did mention the tour tickets included with your stay. Be sure to take advantage of that perk. Hop on, Hop off rooftop bus tour for 2. Room was cleaned with fresh towels daily. Small but practical bathroom. I would recommend this hotel. Walking distance to Times Square, Broadway theaters, restaurants, Central Park and Carnegie Hall.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
luvmarriott wrote a review Oct 3
Woodbury, New York68 contributions36 helpful votes
The location of this hotel couldn’t have been better for the things that I needed to do while I was in Manhattan. However, the hotel is another story. Read ALL OF the comments here because extra erroneous CHARGES seem to be the norm, NOT the exception at this property. Firstly, as a titanium elite member, I have a certain level of expectation after staying at many Bonvoy properties. I don’t think that this hotel met my expectations at all. The problems began with the fact that no one is answering the phones at the front desk. I was put on perpetual hold several times. This is unacceptable! A hotel this large should know that the level of calls is going to be high and staff accordingly. None of the rooms at this hotel have a refrigerator. This is a basic thing that I expect in all Marriott properties. I recognize that this is an acquired hotel and a different brand, however this is something that I have been accustomed to having. It was a very hot day in NYC and when I came in later in the evening and asked for water at the bell desk. I was given it with no problem. However, I then asked if they had any cold bottles and the response I was given was, “You can go to the bar and buy a cold bottle for $8.00.” I thought this was quite rude and a simple, “I’m sorry, no, “would have sufficed. The bell desk had a direct line to the front desk and I had to call from there twice because I couldn’t get through from my room. This really made me feel that the guests were not appreciated…so much so, that they couldn’t even pick up the phone when calling from a room. Then there is the breakfast situation at this hotel. When I stayed at this hotel a few years ago, there was a concierge lounge. This is no longer the case. Thus, breakfast for two was provided. When we went downstairs, we had to wait 25 minutes to be seated. Then I discovered that the restaurant was virtually empty with a huge line. This remained the case while I dined and once again leads me to believe that they are not staffed property. As for the actual breakfast…well the cold buffet is $30, and the hot and cold buffet are $60. This price was astronomical (even for NYC standards) for what I would deem a mediocre breakfast with very limited choices. There was a paltry number of offerings and no smoked salmon or even cream cheese. This was fine for the complimentary breakfast; however, my two sisters were with me, and we needed an additional breakfast. My sister ate two pieces of pineapple, two pieces of watermelon, a bowl of oatmeal and 1 pastry. This was definitely excessively priced. (I even asked the hotel if they would give me a third complimentary breakfast since I was titanium and I was abruptly told no.) So be aware of this charge! Additionally, the hotel charges a $30 daily guest fee, which includes a $30 food credit. This can be used for breakfast, however if there are two of you, you will still have to pay for breakfast. I also had problems with the air conditioner in my room and I had to call about this twice, (which on a very hot summer day is two too many times.) Lastly, my stay came to an end, and I wanted to check out. I was unable to find a way to do this in the room, so once again, I called the front desk. Well, you can imagine my continued dismay while I was yet-again put on a perpetual hold. I finally just left and asked someone coming out of an office if he could please check me out. He agreed to do so with no problem. Unfortunately, it didn’t end there. When I received my emailed bill later it included an extra $78 for the bar. I never ate in the bar. I immediately called about this was told that it would have to be researched and then someone would get back to me. Two business days went by, and I still hadn’t heard from the hotel. I had to put way too much effort into receiving my $78 back, when it shouldn’t have been charged at all! This was truly a terrible experience for what was supposed to be a perfect weekend for my sister’s 50th birthday! In the end, Grace at the front desk called me back and told me that her notes said that I was going to eat in the bar because I didn’t want to wait for breakfast. This was NOT at all the case. When she went to try and research this charge, she had no luck but credited me for the amount anyway. This was crazy! I wanted to give the hotel a chance to respond to these things, before posting this in multiple places on the internet. I sent a message to Mr. Mooney, the general manager. And he promptly responded letting me know that he would investigate my concerns and get back to me. He never followed up despite my several email requests. I really had hoped he would have acknowledged my concerns, but he totally ghosted me in the most unprofessional way I have ever seen! This was just a terrible experience, and the follow-up was even worse. I wrote this when it was fresh in my mind, but I like to sit with my reviews for a bit before posting. I didn’t intend to sit with this one for so long, but after never hearing back from Mr. Mooney, I became extremely disheartened. I will certainly return to NYC, but I don’t think I would stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear luvmarriott, Thank you for your loyalty to our brand and for being our guest once again, this time while you were celebrating your sister's birthday. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations with our front desk service and for the wait time you experienced at our breakfast area. We also regret your disappointment with our breakfast charges and with the buffet we serve. Furthermore, we are sorry for the maintenance and financial issues you encountered and the inconvenience they caused. We strive to provide outstanding hospitality to all of our guests, and we are genuinely disappointed that this was not your experience. Your comments have been shared with our team so we can ensure this is not repeated. Kindly allow us some time to look into your concerns further, and we would be grateful for your patience during this time. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jogy G wrote a review Oct 3
Kuwait City, Kuwait1 contribution
The hotel has charged us with USD 50/- from my account on the day of check in my stay was form 14SEP2022 TO 16SEP2022 , until now they have not refunded the amount, more than 14days for the hotel to check any thing missing from our room (may be our room is missing for them :) ) and to release my blocked amount. UNBELIVABLE !!!!!!! travellers make sure you want this hotel before booking!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear jogyg2022, We appreciate you bringing this concern to our attention. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and also for your patience. Thank you for your time; you have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Jim Mooney General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
replay49 wrote a review Sep 2022
Walla Walla, Washington20 contributions16 helpful votes
First, the room we were in was very dated and worn. The sofa had a rubberized covering on the cushion and it was peeling off. If you sat on it, you would be covered by the little rubber like bits of gunk. There were other signs that the maintenance department hadn't been in the room for a while. When we checked in, we were (mistakenly) told we had a $150 credit for the bar and restaurant. We only found out this was not true at check out, after we had spent more than that for a mediocre sandwich and a round of drinks. Also, they put a hold on my Visa card for over $1,300 even though we had paid in full up front. When I asked about it the next day I was told it was a mistake and would be removed immediately. It took 4 days for it to be dropped. I know this hotel in in the heart of New York, but I really expected more for our $400 per night room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear replay49, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to know you had issues with the maintenance in your room. Our goal is to always provide a comfortable experience; therefore, we apologize for this concern during your visit. We also regret the miscommunication regarding the billing issue and the inconvenience this caused. We value your feedback as we always strive to improve our guest services. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope to see you again soon. Jim Mooney General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
loreml wrote a review Sep 2022
Groningen, The Netherlands4 contributions1 helpful vote
Don’t stay at this hotel. The location is perfect, however read all the comments here, you will see charges from the hotel for no reason 1 week after your check out. When we checked in we gave our credit card, at the check out our billing information was in cero, we received a 200 USD charge the next week. We have been trying and trying to speak to someone every single day but they just transfer you to a record to leave your message. It is amazing how a hotel can be able to do this. READ ALL THE COMMENTS HERE IN TRIPADVISOR, THIS IS NOT THE FIRST CASE.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear lorelein_m, We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention. We are grateful for your patience on this matter. Thank you for your time; you have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Jim Mooney General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob B wrote a review Sep 2022
347 contributions180 helpful votes
Loved the location. we could walk anywhere and did. staff was great at the desk and the door. elevators took some getting used to but were fast and efficient. the lobby gets very crowded and seemed to have a lot of large groups staying there
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rob B, Thank you for choosing Sheraton New York Times Square for your travels. We love that our guests can seamlessly access an array of landmark attractions and one-of-a-kind activities from our excellent location. Our associates are dedicated to providing exceptional hospitality, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are grateful for all your comments and look forward to seeing you soon. Jim Mooney General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan A wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
First, I read many reviews about the front desk service being poor; however, we had an excellent experience with Alex at the front desk. The bellmen were also great helping with luggage and providing us water upon arrival. I also agree with many reviews that the location is great. Close to Time Square, the Theater District, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and much more. The down side is that the hotel is a bit dated. A few recommendations would be bottled water provided in room, provide drawers to put your clothes in, add an honor bar to each room, and in room info on the hotel amenities. Some of these recommendations are quick easy fixes and warranted based on the hotel pricing. Overall our stay was good, but would look elsewhere for a more refreshed modern room in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a high floor facing North to get a view of Central Park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$311 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton new york hotel and towers, sheraton new york city, sheraton hotel new york, sheraton new york hotel & towers, sheraton new york towers, new york city sheraton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton New York Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTheater District / Midtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1780
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Top of the Rock (0.3 miles), The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (0.2 miles), and Times Square (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Grande Boucherie, Dos Caminos, and The Modern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (3.9 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (3.9 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.0 miles).